University of Chicago Medicine Employee Reviews

Found 533 reviews matching the search See all 536 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay. I would have like to stay and move forward into another position.
Psychiatry Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILSeptember 21, 2018
I enjoyed working at U of C, it was extremely difficult moving to new positions. The area was off site and had free parking. The atmosphere was amicable. I would have liked to move on campus to another position or the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working at the university
Assistant Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 11, 2018
The enjoyable part of my day was working with the staff, patients and all of the other visitors. The workplace culture was very busy and sometimes hectic,which made the day go by quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for learning or support.
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 6, 2018
Worked in cardiothoracic department. Not a department conducive to teaching. If you go there be ready to be over worked and to be nonsupported. Inappropriate behaviors witnessed. Did not feel comfortable there. I would not recommend this department.
Pros
Fair salary.
Cons
A teaching hospital that does not teach.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical rotation
Clinical Rotations (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 30, 2018
This was a great learning experience for me as a new tech. I got to see how a fast past inner city hospital worked. I am thankful for the opportunity to have rotated though.
Pros
work environment
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging work environment
Administrative Assistant, Ambulatory Services (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2018
The University of Chicago Medicine has some of the most supportive and collaborative employees. Room for growth, positive change, and educational experiences are encouraged here. An organization that welcomes diversity and employee engagement.
Pros
Vast variety of educational experiences
Cons
Fast-paced, but manageable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Manager Prep Recovery for Interventional Radiology (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 23, 2018
great place with great reputation, CEO is a great person, nurse who remembers what it was to be a nurse. Great leader and someone who will move the UofC forward
Pros
Excellent place
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Clinical Student (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 23, 2018
Learned a lot here. Staff was knowledgeable, very adamant about being on time as they should be, busy work flow all day, never a boring moment, Some great coworkers
Pros
understanding to personal problems such as death in the family
Cons
none come to mind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company found a back door to give away my job even though i was on FMLA for work related surgeries.
Certified Licensed Pharmacy/Purchasing Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2018
Not a secure place to work. Can lose your job at any moment without warning. After needing another surgery I recieved s letter saying my reason for being out of work was not the same. And I was fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent research opportunities
Senior Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2018
I gained excellent experience in data analysis of complex data involving microbial communities collected from clinical samples. The resources available at UChicago are ample and robust.
Pros
resources
Cons
lack of opportunity for career growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, No advancement at all
Patient Transportation (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2018
Poor management, management is not team players neglectful incompetence. Absolutely no room for advancement. No room for leaderdhip qualities nor management skills.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Benefit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2018
Good place to work. the benefits are good. I would recommend them. Sorry don't and time to keep on typing all this junk. Yes yes no go to look\ for another.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers from agencies
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 28, 2018
The Hospital uses agencies workers but there not really nice to them . The person is A ma but you have to still train them on how you want it done .

There are many different departments in this facility but however I like learning about new things .
Pros
The ppl you click with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all what I was expecting
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 27, 2018
Heavily siloed within the department. VP plays favorites and creates an environment lacking diversity and transparency.

Lack of oversight and accountability. Too much focus on old school marketing initiatives (mailers, brochures, etc)
Cons
work/life balance, culture, safety of location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and a good place to work at.
Patient Accounting/ Payment Poster (Former Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILJuly 27, 2018
I love working with University of Chicago medicine, unfortunately it was a contract position, I love the team, and my supervisor, everyone worked well together, if I had a chance to go back I will.
Pros
I love challenges and my dept love to celebrate special occasions.
Cons
Didnt have no cons besides me being a temporary employer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its was a good work area
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2018
my day was nice and very fast paced
I learned many things with dealing with people
the management was great
the culture was amazing.
the hardest part to was when we was short but they called people in for our shift.
I enjoyed learning need things each day.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
nice breaks people spoke
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large teaching hospital
Senior Exercise Physiologist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2018
Great learning environment. Offsite clinics offer opportunity to have a more diverse work experience. Leadership struggles with understanding the reality of day-to-day operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really enjoyed working for this company by far the best hands down fhast friedly pased enviroment once again i really enjoyed working for the compa
Registration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2018
i really enjoyed working for this company by far the best hands down fast friendly paced enviroment once again i really enjoyed working for the company.......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just started, but so far so good.
Critical Care Outreach Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2018
I just started working at this get medical center. The orientation was great. I learned a lot. They have a lot of resources for their nurses. I personally love my new position. It was a great fit for me. I am excited to continue my journey there for many years to come.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working at the university of chicago
Radiology Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 14, 2018
I love working at the university of Chicago. Great environment . I love the staff that I WORK WITH AS WELL. I appreciate the diversity and competitive atmosphere . .I love that I'm able to interact with the patients in a more personable way .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to learn
Clinical "Student Internship" (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 13, 2018
Great place to do your clinical's at. Everyone who works there is very knowledgeable and helps you learn the proper way. Everyone looks out for each other there.
Pros
Friendly/ knowledgeable
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Chicago Medicine. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 536 reviews
5205
4187
397
225
122

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

University of Chicago Medicine Reviews by Location