University of Connecticut Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 549 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5303
4155
365
217
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 546 reviews matching the search See all 549 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical State organization
Secretary II (Former Employee) –  Storrs Mansfield, CTJuly 13, 2018
Agency does make an effort for work life balance and has improved with some flexibility for employees.
Agency does not address employee concerns is a common theme in discussion
Agency promotes unfairly
Overlooks some employee concerns, suggestions
Pros
generally good place to work
Cons
staff shortages, unqualified management, insufficient employee training, multiple rapid changes in everyday business processes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Storrs, CTJuly 11, 2018
this job is okay. Basically get paid to sit and do nothing for a few hours a day. I usually get my homework done and rarely have any daily tasks. I'd recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Molecular Cell Biology Dept., University (Former Employee) –  Storrs, CTJuly 9, 2018
Great University with professors that invest everything into the education of the students. Hard working employees that foster a healthy and progressive culture for students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Storrs, CTJuly 5, 2018
I started working as a student worker in May or 2016. I stayed until May of 2018. I enjoyed my time as a student worker. my manager ans supervisor were great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Storrs Mansfield, CTJune 29, 2018
This was an undergraduate position, so no pay. I was paid in credits, the environment was relaxed but everyone was held responsible. The graduate students were awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Staff and Teachers
Student Teacher (Former Employee) –  Storrs, CTJune 28, 2018
As a student worker in the Child Labs, I cannot express enough of how well managed the school is. The teachers and all other staff are hands on and truly care about their jobs. They are always there for support and suggestions. The most enjoyable part of the job is being in a beautifully set up classroom with wonderful children.
Pros
Teacher support
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metor in bridepot public school
Mentor/Volunteer (Former Employee) –  North Haven, CTJune 23, 2018
Working for UConn was a great experience. If I could I would still be apart of this company.
I worked with Children in the Bridgeport Public School system. We taught them Character building ndassisted them with their daily needs as it pertained to school and life.
Pros
Grea work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good students, good co-workers
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Storrs, CTJune 14, 2018
I worked with UCONN when I went to college there. I've since had two part-time jobs there. UCONN is a very nice place to work. I'd work there again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEAG clinical supervisor
Clinical Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Storrs, CTJune 13, 2018
A great program for retired teachers to use their expertise and experience to help develop and support future teachers. The compensation is low compared to other Universities who pay their supervisors 50% more.
Pros
relaxed atmospher and easy to schedule
Cons
pay is low compared to other University programs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Scheduling Officer (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJune 8, 2018
The atmosphere and the camaraderie are very nice at the Waterbury campus. The only negative is that raises only seem to go to the people at the top and it is hard to advance your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and flexible workplace
Writing Tutor (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJune 6, 2018
Overall, the University of Connecticut is a good place to work.
-friendly co-workers
-communicative supervisors
-flexible hours
-relaxed, stress-free environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited mobility and slowed by resistance to change
Employee (Current Employee) –  Storrs Mansfield, CTJune 6, 2018
I have worked in several areas of the University, and the prevailing attitude is 'we have always done it this way, and are not changing.' As someone interested in gaining knowledge and moving a career and company forward, this is a very difficult place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent experience
Graduate Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Storrs, CTJune 5, 2018
It was great. I was just a graduate assistant. I was working on a Master's degree. I didn't complete it, but it taught me a lot. Thank You for your time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJune 4, 2018
I was a student at UConn Stamford and I worked three separate jobs for 3 years and now I am working at UConn again temporarily. I love working at UConn because it worked with my class schedule and they are very flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Storrs, CTJune 3, 2018
Depending on your assistantship, a day would vary. For example, if you're a TA, you go to classes to teach, grade assignments, takes discussions. If you're a RA, you would be doing research with a Professor/ Unit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Information and Helpful
Certified Family Development Credential Instructor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2018
Very information and it was good to learn the information that I did so I could teach Family Resource Officers how to better work with parents and help educate their children.
Pros
Fun, knowledgable
Cons
Taxing mentally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Storrs Mansfield, CTMay 31, 2018
Good University
limited course opportunities
good funding options
nice city or place, storrs is a nice place to live and work
finding help with your job is challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you can get a lot out of this job but it's stressful
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Storrs Mansfield, CTMay 30, 2018
its a lot to juggle. there's so many requirements to fill as an RA at uconn but at the same time we have to find time for school work and friends and family which is hard but the fellow RAs that I had were so lovely and we became like a family
Pros
free room and board, get paid 500 a month
Cons
lots of requirements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team inspired skill technician
Desktop Technician II (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTMay 22, 2018
putting out fires and high traffic lan/wan environment with windows and mac pc's . that's all for now. nothing else to say at this time and proceeding to allow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Work Here
Technician (Former Employee) –  Storrs, CTMay 22, 2018
The UCONN Bookstore was one of the most corrupt and toxic organizations I have ever encountered. They treat their staff members very poorly and pay worse. Do not work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Connecticut. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight