University of Delaware Employee Reviews

Found 303 reviews matching the search See all 305 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment and benefits
Arborist - Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 30, 2018
I enjoyed my thirty years at University of Delaware. The environment was pleasant and the people were good to work with. I had the opportunity to grow in my skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping the students
Drug and Alcohol Counselor (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 25, 2018
A typical day was setting up for meetings with students to help them cope with college life. The work place culture was fine as everyone in the office got along and was helpful to one another. There was nothing hard about the job, I enjoyed helping the students reach their full potential.
Pros
Keeping the students positive
Cons
The drive to the facility and traffic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Extension Integrated Pest Management Technician (Current Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 19, 2018
I learned a lot about IPM in the agricultural field.

This job has helped prepare me for a similar position in the future.

Made some awesome professional connections.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student researcher
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 14, 2018
Was involved in a graduate lab. Very interesting and learned a ton. Wrote a senior thesis and worked closely with professors and graduate students on numerous projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 4, 2018
Typically you are required to work 20 hours a week on lab related responsibilities (teaching, grading, general preparations). As a teaching assistant this opportunity allows for improvement and optimization of your teaching methods.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees stay for years
Academic Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEAugust 21, 2018
If you have 10 years at the University, that's practically like a rookie compared to others. While longevity is a hallmark of the University, as are good benefits and competitive salaries, many positions don't have as much chances for growth as there could be -- namely because those superiors have 20+ years at that level...
Pros
benefits, vacation time, holiday week off without using vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate School
ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEAugust 15, 2018
UD was a great place to meet people. I worked there for 5 years as a graduate student, earning my Ph.D. I would say it is an excellent university. However, graduate school experiences are very different and heavily based on your field of study/adviser.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great program for graduate students
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lewes, DEJuly 19, 2018
The University of Delaware's Lewes campus is a small but close-knit community of graduate students. It is a prestigious program, and the faculty are very invested in the well-being of their students.
Pros
A small campus allows faculty to be more invested in their students.
Cons
Some people prefer to live in a city compared to a small beach town.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Records Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 16, 2018
The University is a wonderful campus and great place to work. I enjoyed going to college there and working part time. They employ many student part time there.
Pros
you can work there while getting your degree
Cons
pay is not great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom for creativity
Delaware Community Engagement Initiative (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 16, 2018
Environment that inspires a collaborative mindset and creates opportunities for individual creativity - that is, there is much freedom within workplace
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No healthcare/benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face-to-face interraction with students
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Newark, Delaware, USAJuly 14, 2018
Perfect workplace to apply communication skills working directly with students, guide them through financial aspects, help to adapt to the new University enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, collaborative, and friendly environment
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 13, 2018
The professors and TAs I have had the pleasure of working with at Delaware are extremely kind and easy to work with. I never feel afraid to ask questions and work together with them. Great environment, and I would recommend applying as a TA to anyone.
Pros
Great resume booster
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, but rewarding for the knowledge you learn
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 10, 2018
worked long hours, on average at least 10 hours a day. but in synthetic chemistry thats not unheard of. was nice learning new techniques and reactions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab experience
Research Chemist (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 8, 2018
This university offers prestigious use of instruments in the laboratory while being monitored. Also training is effective, and depending on the topic of research you are studying, it is possible to attain certifications for specific instruments.
Pros
Food accessibility
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job was making a difference in the department
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 3, 2018
It was great to try something different. The most enjoyable part of the job was making a difference in the department. Each department is run a bit differently.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nurturing work environment that fosters individual growth
Library Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Newark, DE 19716July 2, 2018
With many learning opportunities and with the recent focus on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, The University of Delaware is both an interesting and comfortable work environment that focuses on the potential of each individual and their professional growth as well as their interpersonal growth.
Pros
Learning opportunites, great benefits. comfortable environment
Cons
Low wages, raises only cover increases in parking and healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work environment
Box Office Salesperson (Current Employee) –  Hockessin, DEJune 29, 2018
This job was an extremely relaxed and friendly place to work. The management was very welcoming and were able to provide me with the skills and qualities demanded in this work force. Overall, this job helped me to develop skills in customer service along with advanced organization and dedication to the task at hand.
Pros
Friendly management, meals provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJune 25, 2018
I learned a lot while working here during graduate school. I probably got more opportunities to do research as a masters student than I would have someplace else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School with a lot of money
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJune 12, 2018
Find the right person and this school will give you a ton of money to be a graduate student. Huge funding opportunities for anyone who asks. Hard to say much because it's a huge school and I only dealt with a tiny fraction of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I volunteered
Server (Former Employee) –  DelawareJune 12, 2018
It was nice to see all the college kids enjoying the games going on. I helped make meals and serve. I went to multiple games and did concessions for UD.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Delaware. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 305 reviews
5163
4101
329
27
15

See reviews about

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

4.5Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

University of Delaware Reviews by Location