University of Florida Employee Reviews

Found 845 reviews matching the search See all 850 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Big Joke
Clinical Research Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 18, 2018
Would you stay at a job if:
- you were paid peanuts
- management did not care about the well-being of employees
- employees have to pay upwards of $500/yr to park on-campus
- there were no personal or professional development opportunities (programs are in place, but it is up to your immediate supervisor to allow you to participate)
- there were no opportunities for career advancement
- the hiring system was flawed
- the organization was bureaucratic
- your work was not valued
????
Pros
$190/mo for family health care
Cons
See review narrative
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job is very inforrmative
Data Analyst Intern (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 17, 2018
I am currently a graduate student at the University of Florida, Gainesville, working on my masters of
science degree in Information Systems and Operation Management. Some Strength of mine includes
being a self-motivated hard worker. As a business student, I am often required to work independently on
my own business projects, requiring me to be accurate and consistent as I work. In addition, I am able to
successfully maintain a good grade point average while working part-time as a data analyst intern to earn
real-time
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 13, 2018
I have loved working for The University of Florida. However, our contract has ended and I am forced to find other employment. Obtaining a job at UF is very competitive, especially without a degree.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Archer Road
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leo
Light housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 13, 2018
I loved this Job. The pay was great and the unlimited overtime was beautiful. It was not my desire to leave this agency. If I could return I would. I enjoyed it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Florida
Laboratory Administrator (Current Employee) –  BiologySeptember 7, 2018
Higher Education employer with opportunity for growth. Excellent salaries and benefits with opportunity for continued education in multiple areas. Recommended for those that wish to work in higher education at all levels.
Pros
benefits, salary
Cons
lack of job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace to work
Patient Care Tech/Monitor Tech (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 6, 2018
good provision workplace management very helpul safe place to work. a good day a work everyboby gets along. culture is diverse. the hardest jobs is short of staff
Pros
Good job
Cons
Everything good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity for Advancement
Assistant Director, HOUSING OPERATIONS (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 4, 2018
Working at the University of Florida provided amazing opportunities to learn, become involved, make a difference, and advance based on your skills, abilities, and knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department was extremely competitive
Medicinal Chemistry OPS Employee (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 3, 2018
The department I worked in was extremely competitive with other laboratories. The atmosphere was always about "one-upping" everyone else, in other words professors and students would try their hardest to make others look bad or stupid. There were few collaborations between professors as well as graduate students. If that is how you work best, awesome, I am the kind of person that likes to have collaborations and conversations without having to worry about the other person's motives.
Pros
great insurance, biweekly paychecks
Cons
poor departmental comradery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Cold Caller (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 26, 2018
Good place to make calls in an office environment with other hard-working cold callers. Easy to use auto dialer and paid training. You can get raises based on completing calls.
Pros
Nice schedule
Cons
Poor location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 25, 2018
The University of Florida is a dynamic workplace with excellent benefits, both paid and as part of employment. There is always something new to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 23, 2018
Many excellent opportunities - I volunteered in several areas of the school in addition to my typical duties. I made great contacts and received solid support for my career plans (and for advancement). I enjoyed my time at UF very much.
Pros
collaborative, friendly, comfortable environment. Flexible scheduling
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract can end anytime!
Administrative Support Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 23, 2018
No room for growth as you have to change jobs to move up. Everyone that works here are mainly for the benefits and they are fantastic. However, the only people paid their worth are the top level positions and if you do not have a degree you can forget ever getting anywhere past a certain point.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
your contract can end any time without notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Externship (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 21, 2018
fast paced
relaxed atmosphere
great people to work with
awesome bed side manners on all employees
neat and clean work areas
learned a lot about phlebotomy working with everyday patients
Pros
great over all atmospher
Cons
lots of paperwork to be mailed out weekly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decentralized, large university with enormous communications teams
Assistant Vice President Public Affairs (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 19, 2018
Generally supportive and encouraging of employees; great benefits; employer works with employee schedules; lots of training programs; young atmosphere because of 54,000 students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Procurement position
Procurement Agent II, Research and Science (Former Employee) –  Alachua County, FLAugust 15, 2018
I really enjoyed working as a Procurement Agent at the University of Florida. Although the customer service aspect is a little difficult to deal with, the managers of the procurement office are great and really take an interest in your growth.
Pros
Training is excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 14, 2018
People I met so far very nice and helpful to everyone. I'm please where I'm at and I love working at the University of The University of Florida it's a good place to retired from
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UF is great University
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 11, 2018
UF is a great public university worldwide.
I like the university-owned Lake Wauburg. We hang out and do boating at the weekend.
The house for graduate students is nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive work environment
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Wimauma, FLAugust 8, 2018
The research center where I was based was closely aligned with the local industry and its objectives. Excellent resources - both human and euipment/facilities. Really enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job with Lots of Extra Work
Communications Specialist (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 6, 2018
Expected to do duties outside my job description at least 30% of time without title or compensation to reflect. Received reviews to reflect hard work ethic and exceeds job expectations
Trusted with duties, added supervisory with some pay increase.
Nice faculty, staff drama, some hard workers
Pros
benefits, independence, tools and supplies provided, IT support is good
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you were good at sales
General Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 5, 2018
I was only a part time employee so i didnt get any benefits or vacation time. It was a good job if you were good in sales had to really really manipulate people into doing the surveys.
Pros
Dress code and location
Cons
No benefits, management, pay, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Florida. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 850 reviews
5475
4247
387
223
118

See reviews about

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight