University of Houston Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 1,132 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5554
4400
3129
235
114
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,129 reviews matching the search See all 1,132 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing but drama
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 16, 2018
Everybody want to be the boss the school is beyond nasty.supervisors always calling in and selling drugs off campus horrible horrible horrible.just apply else where
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment
Research Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 15, 2018
Micromanagement is not a good option for researchers, research is creative work. In general, scientist is very creative in flexible work condition. so, you should check it out,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Work Study (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 14, 2018
You learn a lot of skills using Excel and word. Law students are respectful and they appreciate everything and anything you do for them that is needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The English Department is very supportive
Adjunct Professor/ Reading/ English Composition (Former Employee) –  One Main Street, Houston,TexasAugust 13, 2018
The English Department at University of Houston, Downtown is very collaborative with their instructors. They very much are engaged in the development of your Syllabi, and the state and University system requirements. The University requires and exit exam for all 1301 writing students in order to go on to 1302.
Pros
Good Location
Cons
Often very competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and study
Mathematics Instructor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 10, 2018
It was a fun place to work where I was able to learn and grow as an instructor. Very flexible schedule and not many things were difficult on this job. You have to have a passion for teaching to do it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 8, 2018
It's a fun place to work. You get the chance to meet a lot of new people from different parts of the world. You will also get the chance to meet professionals in their fields.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Student Lead Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 7, 2018
Working with children. Employees are helpful. Management is okay, need some training on communication. Culture is very diverse as well as the families
Pros
room for growth
Cons
no benefits for students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Job
Upward Bound Instructor/Tutor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 6, 2018
I really loved this job! I had a very involved supervisor. I could freely teach the students. It was only for the summer. If I could work here again I would.
Pros
Free teaching
Cons
only summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student and part time lab Assistant
Computing Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 31, 2018
Responsible to provide student support and customer service.
Responsible to troubleshoot and resolve simple hardware, software and network connectivity issues on lab computers.
A good place to study and work in parallel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectual stimulation and motivation to research
Adjunct Professor Engineering Communications (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 31, 2018
I have been employed as an Adjunct Professor with University of Houston for 20 years and I can honestly say that it is a stimulating intellectual environment for those of us who like to learn as well as teach others. Our President has turned the former "Cougar High" into a Tier One Research Institution that is breaking new ground in almost every field of endeavor and intellectual pursuit that one could dream.
I endorse and recommend this university to all who have a thirst for knowledge and creativity.
Pros
Excellent environment for learning and teaching
Cons
No benefits for adjunct professors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 29, 2018
Good co-workers, working environment. Stable employment. Little or no opportunity for advancement. Lack of recognition of higher education at current job. Flexible work hours and ability to work extra over the weekends. Good job, but inability to advance to middle or upper management position(s).
Pros
Stability, benefits, compensation, co-workers
Cons
Working conditions (90% outside), lack of opportunity for advancement, uniforms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work but not much opportunity for advancement
LAN Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 27, 2018
Great place to work but not much room for advancement. They will not pay for professional development. If you work in IT you need an employer that is willing to help keep your skills up to date by allowing you to attend conferences or classes..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 25, 2018
M-F, 8-5. Great Benefits. Great pay. Great flexibility. Horrible parking. The red tape and forms required to do anything can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. Most supervisors have a need for control and must micromanage everything. If you can get past the bureaucracy, it's a very good job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Academic Advisor I (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 23, 2018
University of Houston-Downtown can be a great place to work but, the people make the work environment very stressful and negative. Many people don't know how to separate their personal lives from their work. Also, if people would pay more attention to doing their job instead of focusing on the demise of other people, it would make the work environment a better place.

My goal however, is to make sure that I service the students in the best way possible. I love what I do!
Pros
Happy students, most co-workers are great to work with.
Cons
Mess and people not focusing on their job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 22, 2018
There are too many sides to UH, you have to fund yours and create your own narrative in this book. The morale is medium, and the people range from awesome to dead, angry and complacent fish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 20, 2018
Very productive, continous advice and mentoring
continous education
paid tuition
fascilities always available
working hardly for continous improvement
Cons
parking limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
ATHLETIC TRAINING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Houston, TxJuly 18, 2018
The management was also extremely nice and very willing to work with my class schedule, and always made sure that I put my academics first before work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Undergraduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 18, 2018
I was able to communicate with my superior whenever needed. The professor I TA'd for was excellent and was an effective educator. I enjoyed working with her.
Pros
Flexible office hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Career Services Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 13, 2018
My supervisor was the best. She always made sure the office was in order and stocked sufficiently so that we could perform our tasks. I enjoyed the work environment because we operated as a team unit.
Pros
Off on Weekends and Lunch was provided on Monday's & Friday's
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2018
A Position that required you to be able to work all the different trades such as electrical, plumbing and mechanical. Relaxed slow paced environment that is not stressful.
Pros
Assistance with tuition fees
Cons
Pay a bit low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Houston. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight