University of Illinois at Chicago

Reviewer Recommended

Reviewer Recommended Workplaces have 4+ star ratings on their company page from Indeed users, and have met a minimum number of reviews based on their company size.

University of Illinois at Chicago Employee Reviews

Showing all 519 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bitter Sweet
Research Specialist/Study Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 5, 2018
I enjoyed my time immensely at University of Illinois at Chicago. I cannot say anything bad about this organization.I worked with a wonderful PI in the Department of Medicine, and she was the best at UIC!
Pros
Vacation days, gift days and the work environment
Cons
salary could have been better, parking rates are too high, not everyone can afford it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 30, 2018
I worked alone and didn't interact with other student workers. We rotated shifts so at least someone was reviewing and transcribing sensitive audio recordings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff Culture
Assistant Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 22, 2018
Workplace is a great culture. There is a lot of freedom to work at your own pace and everyone is friendly. We usually get lunch together and everyone has everyones best interest for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 21, 2018
Nice university close to the heart of Chicago. If you work in the right department with the right people you are definitely going to learn and growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and stimulating work environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cook County, ILOctober 19, 2018
other than learning inertial microfluidic physics, I got used to critical thinking and I learned how to start and develop a project from zero
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 8, 2018
I enjoyed working here, the people, and the location were fantastic. The learning experience I had in my department was very good. They were also willing to cross-train between different labs, which is important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Nurse Practitioner Student (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 4, 2018
As a clinical instructor, I really enjoyed my job and everyone I worked with. The whole staff is very supportive. They put a huge emphasis on research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Food service sanitation laborer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 3, 2018
it was a great work experience. love being able to help others in time of need. teaches you how to prep food correctly. some managers are very helpful and understanding. some days can be very fast paced and some days can be average.
Pros
free meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ta
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 12, 2018
I am a TA at University of Illinois-Chicago. Not sure if this would count as an official job though. It is a friendly and open work place. People are friendly around and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 6, 2018
I am really happy that worked with UIC. I have worked on the field of machine learning and computer vision. In addition, I have experienced working on the field of image processing and wireless networking. I published 10 papers in top journal and conference papers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 4, 2018
I think this is an experience in itself. I loved every second of working here, and would love to work there again. An amazing staff and students! I would recommend here to a friend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work at
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 2, 2018
Easy going, great students, great faculty, would recommend,
Teaching students is always a pleasure, with lab assignments and practical work the class was really fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good research experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2018
As an undergraduate researcher, I gained experience in mass spectrometry and liquid chromatography. I learned how to do PCR and other lab techniques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good department, incompetent administration
Research Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2018
The faculty in my department were very helpful and great mentors, but when it came to the administration, they were complete screw-ups. I was a postdoc, so I taught and did research. I can't speak as to what it would be like to work in other departments or roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 13, 2018
I have been working for UIC for quite some time and I have never had an issue. The hours are great and everyone works together to make sure students get what they need
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rather a poor place to work at
Attending Physician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 9, 2018
The most enjoyable part of work was providing care to the needy patient population and the teaching aspects of my job, medical students, residents and fellows alike
Pros
Cannot think of anything
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow in some departments and lots of drama between departments
Student Office Aide (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2018
I went to school here and worked here as well and I didn't like the experience for either. Working there was like being the grown up at a child's party. Most of the management has been there for 15-20+ years and don't want to change and don't understand the new systems. They rely on the students and younger workers for a lot of the work. There is a lot of undercover drama between coworkers and other departments that makes it uncomfortable to be around. The pay for your job title is not very good, especially for everything you deal with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Illinois at Chicago
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2018
I drove straight truck most days. I would do a pre-inspection of vehicle and review work orders. Management was very poor,no communication between management and labor. UIC was a very cutthroat enviroment,few people wanted to actually work. the hardest part was outdated equipment and working with unmotivated people. The best part was dealing with customers.
Pros
Good Pay, Benefits
Cons
Poor Management.Outdated Equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be if you are in a good lab
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 28, 2018
Although it largely dependant on which department/lab you work in,
It can be very relaxed if you don't have any career goal.
Location is great, living expense is low, traffic is convenient.
Pros
Good work/life balance and benefits
Cons
poor weather in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great university to learn and research.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2018
There are many departments and majors to choose in this university. Also, a lot of facilities are helpful for research, such as NCF, RRC. The campus is beautiful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Illinois at Chicago. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 519 reviews
5239
4185
371
219
15

See reviews about

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

University of Illinois at Chicago Reviews by Location