University of Illinois at Chicago Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 490 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5230
4173
365
217
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 490 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2018
checking IDs and studying contact with students. Time to study hardest was staying awake on midnights and working in the cold Chicago weather. It was a University culture we were all students making money for expenses.
Pros
easy job
Cons
midnights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 3, 2018
Was a university hence, there were huge benefits. Got to help a lot of people. The easiest part of the job was the management and the work culture. People were very friendly.
Pros
Good management
Cons
Very Cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy-going environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 21, 2018
Love volunteering at the UIC Hospital. Very easy-going, sweet and understanding staff and management. Met a lot of people from different ethnicity and got to know their story. Feels amazing to help people in need and make new friends that I will cherish.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Shipping Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 20, 2018
This is a great place with great people, and there is a chance at advancement. I met many nice people here at the university life long friends. I would recommend anyone with a family to apply here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
Administrative Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 5, 2018
Pros:
Work/life balance
Job security
Benefits


Cons:
Lack of internal career advancement
Culture - silos and mediocre
Unproductive leadership
Poor management
Pros
Work Life balance
Cons
Mediocre and unproductive leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low payment but interactive
Spanish Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 3, 2018
Interactive and multicultural workplace. Interesting coworkers and quick paced envirornment. Competent although salaries are not always the best......
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment, Staff Overworked
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 27, 2018
It seems that, in general, staff are expected to take on many roles outside of their initial job description and are not compensated accordingly. It can be difficult to move projects forward due to red tape.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 25, 2018
Good environment, very fast-paced, I learned a lot about academia, management and workplace culture. Also, the city its a great motivation. I'd recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Research Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 24, 2018
In general good experience. the most enjoyable part of the job was working with the patients and or studies participants. The hardest part of the job working with the clinical manager.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Over management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University and environment for junior academics
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 22, 2018
Good place for an academic career. The University has a top-tier Pharmacy School and is a good place to build an academic career. Benefits and salary are reasonable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Dental Clinic Clerk I (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 21, 2018
Fast paced high patient volume. Managers are nice the training is pretty simple. If you do your job and come to work on time its a great place that have heath insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of medicinal chemistry and pharmacognosy is great
Reasearch Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 16, 2018
I worked in department of medicinal chemistry and pharmacognosy for around 5 years, I worked roughly from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm every week, and I have learned organic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, drug metabolism, mass spectrometry and other skills during my study.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company was very enjoyable to work and grow
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 15, 2018
A typical work day working in the Deans office varied daily. Things were assigned according to the Deans needs. I learned how to work with Physicians throughout the college and their assistants. The workplace culture varied. Employee and students from a parts of the world attended UIC. The hardest part of this job was I did not have a PHD as all of the other assistants for the Dean. He promoted me to his assistant after his last Assistant quit and I was ever so grateful. The most enjoyable part of the job was I was able to accomplish each task that was assigned even if it meant putting in longer hours.
Pros
Learning how to prioritize my job responsiblity
Cons
loved this job even if it meant to miss breaks and lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 15, 2018
A typical work day begins by listening to lectures, I learned how to work collaboratively in a team, Management is good, the workplace culture is good,
Pros
Free lunches on accasional basis
Cons
Short breaks time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 13, 2018
Great environment to work in like working with students and staff. The pay is not bad and there are opportunities to advance and work in other areas of the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Student Job
Computer Specialist Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2018
You have the possibility to learn a lot if you truly want and try to.
Software installation, wifi help, and computer lab maintenance. Helped staff, faculty, and students with any software issues among other computer issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school to study
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 5, 2018
I was a PhD student there and I learned a lot from the faculties. It was a good experience for me. The culture is good and warm. The engineering school is now expanding and would provide better opportunities for its students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Graduate Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 30, 2018
Nice administration staff. Everybody is helpful. Good place to work. PIs are very knowledgable and helpful to students. There is always opportunities for everyone.
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and fun environment
Mechanical Engineering Research/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 27, 2018
Great people to work with, colleagues were very relaxed. Students were a pleasure to teach and course syllabus was very engaging and interesting. Overall great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was interesting
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 25, 2018
My job at UIC was to analyze data using statistical packages and to write up the results. I learned how about statistics, the computer and how to write up the results.
Pros
had my own office
Cons
pay was just okay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Illinois at Chicago. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

University of Illinois at Chicago Reviews by Location