University of Illinois at Chicago Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
Administrative Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 5, 2018
Pros:
Work/life balance
Job security
Benefits


Cons:
Lack of internal career advancement
Culture - silos and mediocre
Unproductive leadership
Poor management
Pros
Work Life balance
Cons
Mediocre and unproductive leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment, Staff Overworked
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 27, 2018
It seems that, in general, staff are expected to take on many roles outside of their initial job description and are not compensated accordingly. It can be difficult to move projects forward due to red tape.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 25, 2018
Good environment, very fast-paced, I learned a lot about academia, management and workplace culture. Also, the city its a great motivation. I'd recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Research Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 24, 2018
In general good experience. the most enjoyable part of the job was working with the patients and or studies participants. The hardest part of the job working with the clinical manager.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Over management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University and environment for junior academics
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 22, 2018
Good place for an academic career. The University has a top-tier Pharmacy School and is a good place to build an academic career. Benefits and salary are reasonable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Dental Clinic Clerk I (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 21, 2018
Fast paced high patient volume. Managers are nice the training is pretty simple. If you do your job and come to work on time its a great place that have heath insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of medicinal chemistry and pharmacognosy is great
Reasearch Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 16, 2018
I worked in department of medicinal chemistry and pharmacognosy for around 5 years, I worked roughly from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm every week, and I have learned organic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, drug metabolism, mass spectrometry and other skills during my study.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company was very enjoyable to work and grow
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 15, 2018
A typical work day working in the Deans office varied daily. Things were assigned according to the Deans needs. I learned how to work with Physicians throughout the college and their assistants. The workplace culture varied. Employee and students from a parts of the world attended UIC. The hardest part of this job was I did not have a PHD as all of the other assistants for the Dean. He promoted me to his assistant after his last Assistant quit and I was ever so grateful. The most enjoyable part of the job was I was able to accomplish each task that was assigned even if it meant putting in longer hours.
Pros
Learning how to prioritize my job responsiblity
Cons
loved this job even if it meant to miss breaks and lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 15, 2018
A typical work day begins by listening to lectures, I learned how to work collaboratively in a team, Management is good, the workplace culture is good,
Pros
Free lunches on accasional basis
Cons
Short breaks time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 13, 2018
Great environment to work in like working with students and staff. The pay is not bad and there are opportunities to advance and work in other areas of the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Student Job
Computer Specialist Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2018
You have the possibility to learn a lot if you truly want and try to.
Software installation, wifi help, and computer lab maintenance. Helped staff, faculty, and students with any software issues among other computer issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school to study
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 5, 2018
I was a PhD student there and I learned a lot from the faculties. It was a good experience for me. The culture is good and warm. The engineering school is now expanding and would provide better opportunities for its students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Graduate Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 30, 2018
Nice administration staff. Everybody is helpful. Good place to work. PIs are very knowledgable and helpful to students. There is always opportunities for everyone.
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and fun environment
Mechanical Engineering Research/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 27, 2018
Great people to work with, colleagues were very relaxed. Students were a pleasure to teach and course syllabus was very engaging and interesting. Overall great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was interesting
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 25, 2018
My job at UIC was to analyze data using statistical packages and to write up the results. I learned how about statistics, the computer and how to write up the results.
Pros
had my own office
Cons
pay was just okay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative
Lead ESL Instructor for Adult Education (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 20, 2018
UIC is a great employer but it all depends on what department you are in. Overall, the university offers great benefits and if eligible employers can take advantage of taking courses for their further educational development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Intellectual environment
Research Assistant-Astrophysics (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 18, 2018
UIC is a phenomenal choice in Universities. Not only is the location great, but everyone is very helpful. The professors and career counselors are genuinely invested in helping students attain their goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid
Assistant Director of Medical Education (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2018
It is challenging because it has the culture of a public sector. Knowledge transfer from higher ups can improve as well as motivation to direct reports.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U of I at Chicago
Professor of a graduate level (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2018
We have some of the best and brightest students in our program! The program is innovative, the faculty is involved in the content creation and course design to meet the needs of the industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Retail Operations Aide I (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 9, 2018
I work as a part time employee. Its fun to work. All my managers so far have been good. I would recommend my friends to work here. The work place is made fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Illinois at Chicago. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 486 reviews
5227
4172
365
217
15

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

2.7Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

University of Illinois at Chicago Reviews by Location