University of Illinois at Chicago Employee Reviews

Showing all 504 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 6, 2018
I am really happy that worked with UIC. I have worked on the field of machine learning and computer vision. In addition, I have experienced working on the field of image processing and wireless networking. I published 10 papers in top journal and conference papers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 4, 2018
I think this is an experience in itself. I loved every second of working here, and would love to work there again. An amazing staff and students! I would recommend here to a friend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work at
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 2, 2018
Easy going, great students, great faculty, would recommend,
Teaching students is always a pleasure, with lab assignments and practical work the class was really fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good research experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2018
As an undergraduate researcher, I gained experience in mass spectrometry and liquid chromatography. I learned how to do PCR and other lab techniques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good department, incompetent administration
Research Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2018
The faculty in my department were very helpful and great mentors, but when it came to the administration, they were complete screw-ups. I was a postdoc, so I taught and did research. I can't speak as to what it would be like to work in other departments or roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 13, 2018
I have been working for UIC for quite some time and I have never had an issue. The hours are great and everyone works together to make sure students get what they need
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rather a poor place to work at
Attending Physician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 9, 2018
The most enjoyable part of work was providing care to the needy patient population and the teaching aspects of my job, medical students, residents and fellows alike
Pros
Cannot think of anything
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow in some departments and lots of drama between departments
Student Office Aide (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2018
I went to school here and worked here as well and I didn't like the experience for either. Working there was like being the grown up at a child's party. Most of the management has been there for 15-20+ years and don't want to change and don't understand the new systems. They rely on the students and younger workers for a lot of the work. There is a lot of undercover drama between coworkers and other departments that makes it uncomfortable to be around. The pay for your job title is not very good, especially for everything you deal with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Illinois at Chicago
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2018
I drove straight truck most days. I would do a pre-inspection of vehicle and review work orders. Management was very poor,no communication between management and labor. UIC was a very cutthroat enviroment,few people wanted to actually work. the hardest part was outdated equipment and working with unmotivated people. The best part was dealing with customers.
Pros
Good Pay, Benefits
Cons
Poor Management.Outdated Equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be if you are in a good lab
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 28, 2018
Although it largely dependant on which department/lab you work in,
It can be very relaxed if you don't have any career goal.
Location is great, living expense is low, traffic is convenient.
Pros
Good work/life balance and benefits
Cons
poor weather in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great university to learn and research.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2018
There are many departments and majors to choose in this university. Also, a lot of facilities are helpful for research, such as NCF, RRC. The campus is beautiful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 23, 2018
I love working here as a teaching assistant, students are very friendly, I just love teaching, and the school is good too. The workload includes teaching, grading.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Supportive Environment
Admissions Counselor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 19, 2018
UIC is fantastic place to work at, with supervisors determined to support your every endeavor. They are constantly pushing for things like professional development, with an inclusive culture founded on diversity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Tutor at African American Academic Network (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 16, 2018
I enjoyed working at AAAN because it was laid back and I was able to help my students the way that I saw fit and it gave me a lot of freedom to be able to work with them one on one.
Pros
freedom
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2018
checking IDs and studying contact with students. Time to study hardest was staying awake on midnights and working in the cold Chicago weather. It was a University culture we were all students making money for expenses.
Pros
easy job
Cons
midnights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 3, 2018
Was a university hence, there were huge benefits. Got to help a lot of people. The easiest part of the job was the management and the work culture. People were very friendly.
Pros
Good management
Cons
Very Cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy-going environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 21, 2018
Love volunteering at the UIC Hospital. Very easy-going, sweet and understanding staff and management. Met a lot of people from different ethnicity and got to know their story. Feels amazing to help people in need and make new friends that I will cherish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Shipping Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 20, 2018
This is a great place with great people, and there is a chance at advancement. I met many nice people here at the university life long friends. I would recommend anyone with a family to apply here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
Administrative Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 5, 2018
Pros:
Work/life balance
Job security
Benefits


Cons:
Lack of internal career advancement
Culture - silos and mediocre
Unproductive leadership
Poor management
Pros
Work Life balance
Cons
Mediocre and unproductive leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low payment but interactive
Spanish Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 3, 2018
Interactive and multicultural workplace. Interesting coworkers and quick paced envirornment. Competent although salaries are not always the best......
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Illinois at Chicago. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 504 reviews
5236
4178
366
219
15

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

University of Illinois at Chicago Reviews by Location