University of Louisville Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back
Community Hall Assistant (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 9, 2018
Super easy jobs for students. Essentially a work study that has you sit at a desk and help students with information and lock out. The supervisors are nice too
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership Experience
Peer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 9, 2018
Great for position for students who are seeking a foot in the door to leadership positions. The whole office is very nice and is willing to help you learn have you can do your job better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Parking Service Officer/ Safety Escort (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 9, 2018
Good position for students who are seeking part time work to go along with their classes. Everyone there is very nice and laid back. good gig, would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives free housing and experience in dealing with people
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 7, 2018
Being a resident assistant at the University of Louisville was a rewarding experience. Not only were we given free room and board, but we also were given experience in managing people, time, and a staff relationship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, full of positivity
Technology Specialist Senior (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 20, 2018
The University of Louisville is very forward thinking with a positive mindset, which gives futuristic people the option of finding a place of employment that thinks ahead.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a temporary job
Administrative Assistant, Temporary (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 19, 2018
I worked as as temporary and found I was generally well treated. the pay is not as competitive as with public companies but I gained a great deal of additional skills and knowledge that have made me more valuable in the open market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UofL has good benefits.
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 13, 2018
University of Louisville is an exciting place to be around. There is always some kind of event going on. Management could be organized better and that would make the whole place better.
Pros
Paid Christmas break.
Cons
Early work hours for custodians.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical PhD program
Fellow (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 11, 2018
Very typical PhD program where the experiments and research are the main focus of your life. I loved it but there were other factors in my life that did not allow for me to continue,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Camp Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 3, 2018
Very fun place to work. Everyone their seems to get along and they seem to be working collaboratively towards the same goal of making the university an awesome place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a job
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 31, 2018
this was a good opportunity for any college student that is on campus and looking to do more than just work at the student center. Its a great way to sneak in a internship before actually getting one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 29, 2018
A chance to learn while you were working. Received the opportunity to work and study. Always had a place to put your extra items in the refrigerator that you brought from home.
Pros
Participated in the Departments functions
Cons
Short breaks and not enough work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
HSPPO-IRB Analyst (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 21, 2018
We tried to create a friendly, family atmosphere with improvement on customer service. We were attempting this process but there was a lot of favoritism among management. I enjoyed my work and the actual interaction with my contacts. I never had a problem with that. It was all internal.
Pros
Free lunches with the IRB meetings
Cons
Budget cuts and no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back and managers are great
Cage Wash Technician (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 19, 2018
I learned how to take care of different animals, and work with amazing doctors who do great research. Also, the jobs are very easy and informational..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 16, 2018
It is a graduate program for microbiology. Unfortunately, the political environment has gotten out of hand. If you don't fit with the typical "college" ideology, you will feel left out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract work
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 15, 2018
As a contract worker, I worked with friendly people and expectations were reasonable. The compensation was fair and I was paid in a timely manor. I would recommend it.
Pros
Flexible, good staff, fair pay
Cons
no benefits as a contractor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to learn and grow in your chosen field.
CST, OBT (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 14, 2018
It takes a self-motivated person to work at a Level 1 Trauma Hospital in any area of the hospital. U of L is a fast paced hospital with many opportunities to grow and learn. I truly enjoyed my time, my co-workers and the experience working at U of L, specifically The Centers for Women's and Infants.
Pros
You will see things here medically that you will not see at other hospitals.
Cons
Selling of hospital to larger non-profit and forprofit organizations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Unit Business Manager, Intermediate (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 12, 2018
Must be a self motivator and high work ethics.
University of Louisville has great benefits and is an educational place to work. Must be able to communicate with all different nationalities.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Many nationalities, many personalities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 11, 2018
University and the city are overall amazing. Good place to stay and pursue a career. But it really depends on which working group you are in. Life in medical center was competitive and stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at UofL
Student Assistant/Caller (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 10, 2018
A typical day at work included calling alumni and trying to get the alumni to donate to the school. I would call about 100-200 alumni per day and would do whatever I could to receive pledges from them. Some of the alumni were harsh because of what is going on with the athletic program but other than that most of them were respectful.
Pros
Get to interact most of the day
Cons
Sitting most of the day at desk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Recruiting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 4, 2018
Its not how hard you work but rather who you know.
You have to have a lot of transferrable skills. Need to be able to assist in areas outside of your job description.
Pros
Free Meals
Cons
Highly stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Louisville. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 305 reviews
5138
4102
346
211
18

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

4.5Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

University of Louisville Reviews by Location