University of Maine Employee Reviews for Research Assistant

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 176 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible scheduling, supportive managers
Research Assistant level 3 (Former Employee) –  Orono, MENovember 27, 2018
being a work study student was fun at Umaine I worked with some amazing people. the work itself was quite easy and manageable. I never had an issue taking time off or switching hours if something came up for my classes.
Pros
very flexible scheduling
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orono, MEMarch 24, 2018
The culture of the Center is very welcoming. Undergraduate students are encouraged to work out of their comfort zones by learning and applying various technical and analytical skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was where I discovered a love for research and development.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laboratory for Surface Science and TechnologyJanuary 29, 2018
I worked as a student research assistant at Laboratory for Surface Science and Technology for more than five years, while I was a half time student at the University of Maine at Orono. After sufficient training in high vacuum systems, wet chemistry and photolithography, I was given responsibility over two very high vacuum deposition systems and their supporting equipment, all in a cleanroom environment. I did thin film depositions and research there for years, along with system modifications, system maintenance, process development, and experimental work. The culture was both supportive and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Acadia National Park, MEDecember 18, 2017
Working for the University of Maine was a challenging fulfilling experience. I appreciated all of the skills and experiences I gained through the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assitant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orono, MENovember 6, 2017
Good place to work as a student. Flexible hour, interesting research opportunities for the economic department. Highly recommend that all STEM under grads apply for a research assistant position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere working around all of the students
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Orono, MESeptember 24, 2017
Love doing research and this was a great experience.

The people I worked with doing the research were great and I absolutely learned so much!

The hardest part of the job was not really knowing what else my boss wanted.

The most enjoyable part of the job was doing the research and dealing with the many people in the various departments.
Pros
Research is fascinating!
Cons
information not always getting to you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice atmosphere
Research assistant (Current Employee) –  Orono, MEMay 13, 2017
Working at University of Maine is a good experience. All staff enjoyed a fun time inside here. I do like the atmophere here. Because of graduation, I have to leave it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orono, MEJanuary 6, 2015
PhD student at Umaine and got good research experiences here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Math Teacher's Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEOctober 29, 2014
Decent way to get your Master's Degree...and enough money to survive if you live frugal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Project
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEAugust 8, 2013
I did research for my senior project. There was nothing wrong and it was a good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment for learning
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEJanuary 4, 2013
I am very thankful for my research experience at Umaine. I worked with the Graduate Students in the Developmental Psychology Department. I was taught all the skills I need to know to begin my own research study.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great public school located in northeastern Maine
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEMarch 27, 2012
Professional atmosphere with good teacher to student ratios.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more University of Maine reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Maine. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 176 reviews
594
446
331
23
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

University of Maine Reviews by Location