University of Maine Employee Reviews

Found 174 reviews matching the search See all 176 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Acadia National Park, MEDecember 18, 2017
Working for the University of Maine was a challenging fulfilling experience. I appreciated all of the skills and experiences I gained through the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swim Coach
Volunteer Varsity Swim Coach (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEDecember 13, 2017
I was briefly a volunteer swim coach at the University of Maine. I enjoyed this experience as it trained me further in my degree. I felt that staff had my best interests in mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meet people
Media Coordinator / Videographer (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEDecember 5, 2017
i really dont want to write a review. the girls team never even paid me for all of the work i did. They kept saying they were, but never did. For a college kid that sucked. But the mens team paid
Pros
like basketball
Cons
like getting paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, just long comute
IT Specialist CL3 (Current Employee) –  Gorham, MEDecember 4, 2017
I honestly love working here, the one problem is rent/ housing prices in the area prevent relocation. Putting 100 miles on my vehicle per workday also prevents growth in other areas needed to relocate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Associate Editor (Current Employee) –  Orono, MEDecember 1, 2017
I read 2 to 3 journal papers a week and research their social work or social psychology citations and appropriateness. I also edit information and send it to the editor for his approval.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
reading tons papers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Student Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Orono, MENovember 12, 2017
Student laborer / carpenter for the performing arts at the University of Maine. Good hours and flexible as well. Would recommend to entry level carpenters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great benefits system, a terrible work environment
Administrative Specialist CL2 (Current Employee) –  Orono, MENovember 8, 2017
The benefits are the best part of working at UMaine, with tuition reimbursement and excellent medical coverage. But be prepared for professional discourtesy from all quarters and a distinct schism between classified and professional employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assitant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orono, MENovember 6, 2017
Good place to work as a student. Flexible hour, interesting research opportunities for the economic department. Highly recommend that all STEM under grads apply for a research assistant position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Designer (Current Employee) –  Orono, MEOctober 25, 2017
The University of Maine does not always provide the highest salaries, but the benefits package makes up for it. I work with supportive people in a very friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Orono, MEOctober 14, 2017
Working as a summer field tech for the University of Maine was a good opportunity. However, the pay was minimum wage with no possibility of a higher salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working at this job
Community Education Assistant CL2 (Former Employee) –  Falmouth, MEOctober 13, 2017
I worked this job for few months as a substitute for my friend who left on a family emergency. I left this job because my friend come back and took his job back but I have enjoyed working with new talents of teenage teacher who worked hard to educate young children in the community through out the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere working around all of the students
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Orono, MESeptember 24, 2017
Love doing research and this was a great experience.

The people I worked with doing the research were great and I absolutely learned so much!

The hardest part of the job was not really knowing what else my boss wanted.

The most enjoyable part of the job was doing the research and dealing with the many people in the various departments.
Pros
Research is fascinating!
Cons
information not always getting to you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work to gain experience
Director of Research Compliance (Former Employee) –  Portland, MESeptember 16, 2017
USM was a great place to work, many good benefits and very smart people. It is a great place to gain experience with a broad spectrum of people from different cultures and backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible environment
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orono, MESeptember 9, 2017
Worked with a floor of kids with drug problems, only 4 out of 47 returned for another year. People pushed heads through walls and left bags of pills in their rooms at the end of the year.
Pros
discount on tuition
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained good experience
Adjunct Professor, History Department (Former Employee) –  Orono, MESeptember 5, 2017
I acquire a lot of professional experience while completing my PhD in a supportive environment. It was a worth while experience. It help me to acquire teaching experience while in school.
Pros
Great Location
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
System Engineer (Former Employee) –  Orono, MESeptember 4, 2017
Worked there as an undergraduate on research projects.
A lot of exciting stuff.
Imaging lab that's pushing the boundary of optics and imaging well past the diffraction limit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, but doesn't exist anymore.
Student Web Master (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEAugust 29, 2017
Learned most of my job skills here at the University of Maine. Great place to work for. Great mix of customer service, technical analysis, and programming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-study student.
Assistant Herdsman (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEAugust 23, 2017
I was just a student that had a job at the university dairy. I thoroughly enjoyed it but I am not the right person to be making reviews on Indeed.com.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
General Event Staff (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEAugust 9, 2017
Let me put it this way. These jobs arent supposed to be great. The biggest positive of this job is that, if you like sports, you get to be at most of the games for free. But you usually dont get to watch the games.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back but professional work environment
Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Orono, MEAugust 7, 2017
I only worked at the rec center so it was a laid back job but the professional staff stayed o us about what their expectations of the workers were. Sometimes communication was difficult but mostly the experience was good. I learned a lot being there. I trained people behind the front desk and was a part of the hiring committee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Maine. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 176 reviews
594
446
331
23
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight