University of Maryland Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 740 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement and tuition reimbursement
IV/ Phlebotomy Technician (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 22, 2019
Busy hospital
Great advancement
Tuition reimbursement
Good management who have worked in the field as well
Get bonuses
different shift options
good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The some of the best years of my life
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 14, 2019
These years were my best in nursing .I grew with my skills, leadership, autonomy, personal growth, interpersonal skills, learned a world of knowlwdge while I was there. I learned enormous understanding about the art of nursing while on the renal transplant floor for 12 years. Leaving there with very strong medical surgical skills I will always be greatful. I met hundreds of wonderful people and healped in healing, caring and returning patients to better health.
Pros
Growing in knowledge and wisdom necessary for a good nurse to use
Cons
Management went for very good to very bad in a short time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unit Support Aide
Unit Support Aide (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 14, 2019
Assisted nurses and staff to provide patient care and unit support as needed.
Transported patients, turned rooms, changed linens, managed medication and supply
needs.
Created, implemented, and managed a supply cart tracking system to ensure all carts were stocked to meet nursing and staff needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
Clinical Nurse (Current Employee) –  MidtownMay 7, 2019
Working short staffed most of the time is draining on the front line staff. Nurses get tired of working short and dont stay after orientation. High turnover rates. Pay is good, but its not worth it.
Pros
Liked my team and colleagues
Cons
Staffing issues, callouts and low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Inventory Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 24, 2019
Management is not the best. I have been temping for several and have not been offered a permanent position. I come in on my schedule time and even do overtime, sometimes.
Pros
Co Workers are like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bmt
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 23, 2019
This unit is where I started my hospital setting nursing career. I respected the fact that the nursing and the care team welcomed my options with patient care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Acute Care Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 23, 2019
The unit I worked was team focus, everyone always came to gather to help each other even if it was not a crisis. The team work is what keeps me working at UMMC
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDApril 21, 2019
Coworkers are awesome but management can be hit or miss. Some floors don't have self schedulinf which is extremely tough, especially working night shift.
Pros
great staff/coworkers
Cons
some floors don't have self scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Staff Nurse, RN (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD 21201April 19, 2019
From the genius medical practitioners on down, the staff is friendly, caring and respectful. Great place to work, learn and grow. Great benefits, comparable pay,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to work.
RDMS/RVT (Current Employee) –  MarylandApril 17, 2019
Great place to work. Hours are flexible. Staff and management are just the best. I have been there for years because of the work environment. Nice easy going environment, We are considered Diagnosticians in our field. We assist the Radiologist in getting the cause of each patients complaint. We pride ourselves in finding out what the problem is, so that our patients feel we have done all that we could to get the answers they need to move forward in their care and quick recovery.
Pros
Always good recognition
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
nursing (Current Employee) –  MarriedApril 11, 2019
Very dysfunctional. The benefits are horrible. The deductible is higher than I have ever seen from an employer. A big employer, disgraceful benefits, shame on them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Maryland Medical System
Medical Secretary (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 11, 2019
Transcribed medical notes.
Purchased supplies and equipment.
Maintains contracts. Renewing in timely manner.
Processed timesheets for faculty and staff.
Processed payroll.
Generated correspondence independently.
Pros
Diversity
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Great was my the beggining of my Epic Carrier
Epic Ambulatory Analyst (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 10, 2019
Lot of studying for my epic AMB and OTX Certifications. Definitely was different then Allscripts and my previous IT experience. I learned EPIC :) Workplace culture was different, but I was new to this technology so Im sure it would be better now.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Maryland Medical System
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Human GeneticsApril 10, 2019
Transcribed medical notes.
Provided customer service to faculty, students, co-workers and patients.
Supervised office staff.
Research articles to assist for academic usage.
Purchased supplies.
Assisted graduate students in staying on track for their dissertation process.
Assisted in generating system wide database to meet functional needs.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment very fast paced
Sterile Technican (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 10, 2019
Wonderful place to work at throughout my years and experience I gained a lot of knowledge about surgical instruments and I happy to share the knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best hospital to work for
Observation Technician (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 8, 2019
I loved working here and would love to work here again I had some personal issue and had to relocate to Atlanta but I love working with the physician, nurses,pct, and patients I learn so much here this hospitals is good at giving you education so you are update on providing care.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently a stressfull place to work
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 8, 2019
The environment at the moment is very stressful due to recent JHCHO visits and new procedures and impromptu policies put in place. Lots of micromanaging, disorganization, and threats of disciplinary action for every little thing makes the environment uncomfortable.
Cons
stressful and unfair wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDApril 7, 2019
This place is not worth your time because they will work you to death you will be lucky if a pharmacist helps you out and some pharmacist are helpful but other then that your wasting your time.
Pros
One hour break
Cons
Staff sucks, pharmacists hard to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 1, 2019
I’ve learned that working in the hospital it isn’t easy but you meet the most wonderful people in there they are able to give you knowledge an show new experiences
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shifting culture in the right direction
RN (Current Employee) –  MarylandMarch 31, 2019
Always enjoyed the organization. Not as many benefits as other University Center branches. Tuition reimbursement is low and will not pay for all programs even when directly related to your current position.
Moral is better than it once was. CNO and CSuite are great; easy to talk to and work with unlike other organizations.
Pros
great team and program support
Cons
lack of interdisciplinary approach/communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Maryland Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 740 reviews
5252
4288
3140
232
128

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture