University of Maryland University College Employee Reviews

Found 778 reviews matching the search See all 820 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok nice
Loading specimen on to VIP processor (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 14, 2019
worked at university of school of medicen not the college. but was nice company and managers were very nice group and quite lab
people were reliable to help when needed, Worked at lab as a histology tech years ago.
Pros
quite
Cons
low volume
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of work experience
Assistant Registrar Student Records- Office (Current Employee) –  College Park, MDFebruary 14, 2019
A workday starts before 8am, checking emails and checking on work done by the staff for the previous day. You must then run reports, review errors and assist with customer issues. The culture was based on productivity. The hardest part was keeping up with demand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good structure and opportunities
Computer Lab Monitor (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDFebruary 12, 2019
There is access to a multitude of resources available through the university. This can come in the form of monetary and physical resources as well as the experienced staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
LEAD GROUNDSKEEPER (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDFebruary 12, 2019
The university of Maryland is a cool place to work. Great benefits all. Management Sucks and the pay is even worse. The best part is the free education
Pros
Great people and learning experience
Cons
Poor management and bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Respiratory Student (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 8, 2019
I was a student when I was part of my clinical rotation to the University of Maryland. The staff were nice for the most part. The workload was doable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy and value this job
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Adelphi Park, MDJanuary 25, 2019
Most of my students are on active deployment in the Navy, Air Force or in the Army. They are very responsible and organized. I am proud to help them to improve their education and create opportunity for professional job after serving in military.
Pros
very responsible and organized students
Cons
I wish I have more assigned classes per year
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Writing Instructor
Online Adjunct Writing Instructor (Current Employee) –  MarylandJanuary 18, 2019
The UMUC is a good place to work if you want the convenience of working from home. However, don't expect to make any real money. This position is only intended to supplement one's already existing full-time job.
Pros
Convenience
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDJanuary 17, 2019
The experience heavily depends on your supervisor. For me, it was pretty reasonable and i have enough autonomy to plan out my weekly schedule. Weekends and nights are respected.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Adjunct Faculty Member, Cyber Security (Current Employee) –  Adelphi, MDJanuary 17, 2019
I am a faculty assistant who helps with administration of online classwork. Typically, I am facilitating discussions between students and validating their comments are structured and appropriate.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Never meet the faculty with whom I work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Mentor/Tutor (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDJanuary 9, 2019
The environment is what you make it at the University of Maryland. You can choose to work on your own or network with fellow employees that can help make things smoother.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong cross-training
Budget Analyst/Accountant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 8, 2019
Cross-training was one of the best features that could have been added. It allow everyone to not only grow in their current skills but to become proficient in other areas of the department
Pros
Efficient work environment
Cons
Micro management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship for Grad School
Student Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDJanuary 4, 2019
It was a graduate program assistant and did not get paid for my experience. I went to get my Master's Degree and that pretty much sums up my experience there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Adjunct Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  IcelandDecember 28, 2018
I was a part-time Adjunct Assistant Professor... teaching for Univ of Maryland Univ College - Europe. It was a great experience... with good leadership. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Diversity
Chef - Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDDecember 27, 2018
Enjoy working with different people learn new things everyday I’m realiable person I come to work everyday and on time I make sure my station is ready every a day clean & utensils are available
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  MarylandDecember 26, 2018
I was able to be exposed to new technologies which expanded my ability. All employees that I interacted with made themselves available to provide guidance for my career. I enjoyed my time here over the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot by working at the University of Maryland
Food Service Aide I (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDDecember 26, 2018
I can't really comment except the work is fast and productive. Shift and hours were always the same. Would have preferred to shift to other days. Supervisors were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Adelphi, MDDecember 24, 2018
A good place to be. I would love to be working here, as I learned a lot from both students and staff.
I have always wish to gain a full time employment while at UMUC. However, even with the Adjunct status I was in, i still cannot say it was in vain.
Pros
Nearness to home
Cons
Short paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture need improvement
Librarian (Former Employee) –  Adelphi, MDDecember 22, 2018
Theere is little communication fro top to bottom and very often decrees were shout up form administration with out any idea how to implement it our ask the from lines for ideas.. TURNOVER WAS HUGE
Pros
summer-bar-b-que and winter party
Cons
work overtime constantly, even from home at night and on all holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in University setting
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 21, 2018
A very good and unique experience. Working with both students and faculty provides an interesting perspective on things. There is a lot of opportunity to move into other positions withing the system.
Pros
Educational Credits
Cons
Have to pay for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part-Time work
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDDecember 20, 2018
Perfect for anyone who needs a part-time job. Meet new people and learn as you go. Great atmosphere. Lots of paperwork and grading, takes longer than expected so make sure you have the time!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Maryland University College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 821 reviews
5388
4247
3132
229
125

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.7Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss