University of Mississippi Medical Center Employee Reviews for Nursing Assistant

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 580 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 15, 2018
This was fast paced working environment. Even though I just work part time for the most part I really enjoyed working there.The hardest part of job is getting on fulltime
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
Prn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed feelings
Nursing Assistant, Full time (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 29, 2018
I worked on the Stroke Unit on the 7 pm to 7 pm shift. During the 2 week training period my 'mentor' was helpful. However, I there is a lot of nurses there who are very inconsideration to their coworkers and the patients, and nursing assistants were definitely under appreciated. On a typical day you get report from the CNA before you, you introduce yourself to your patient, ask if they need anything and if they wanted a bath. The stroke unit things can be spontaneous so you have to stay on your toes. Postmortem care is a must. My favorite thing is they had cake and people gave gift on birthday that showed that the management cared about us.
Pros
Can charge lunch to account, diverse staff
Cons
Break is 30 minutes, out of 12 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSFebruary 10, 2018
I enjoyed working with my co-workers. It is basically what you make of it. It was a lot of teamwork involved, talking with patients, assisting nurses with patients needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with the right management
CNA (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJanuary 8, 2018
You will gain experience but it will be hard and salary will be low. If you work on a good floor and the people work together the work place will be productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with good benefits
Nursing Assistant - Mother/Baby Unit (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 21, 2017
I loved working for UMMC as a Nursing Assistant. The nurses and staff were always so nice and helpful. I worked the night shift so for the most part it was pretty laid back. I worked with a great team of nurses on the Mother Baby Unit.
Pros
Laid back, lots of room for growth, good benefits
Cons
Sometimes the work load can be hectic
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, but rewarding
NURSE'S ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Grenada, MSMay 30, 2017
Some days work loads were a little hard, but the patients were the rewards of all the hard work. The experience was a learning process, with many ups and downs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMay 30, 2017
Patient inbound and outbound. Positive and productive daily. Great atmosphere. Daily out put and clients work load. Neat, clean, supplied with a full working team
Pros
long shifts at work
Cons
only 2 days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ummc
Nurse Assistant (Current Employee) –  WiserMay 13, 2017
Depending on your job and what floor you are on. It's just like any other hospital. It has its ups and downs. Every place a favorite and someone always picks a side.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pitiful!!
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 19, 2017
They will over work you and don't pay enough. Some will act as if you are beneath them because of your position. There are also favoritism shown in some areas. If you are trying to be a na beware of where your trying to work.
Pros
Benefits and meeting new people
Cons
Long shifts, Low pay, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJanuary 3, 2017
Working with the patients was interesting and talking with the families was fun. Being able to help the elders who couldn't help themselves. Even though the pay was not excellent it was about helping the someone who couldn't themselves
Pros
food, patients
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fun place to work but was a very unsafe place as well
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York StateJuly 14, 2016
to preform all temps,bp,pulse;to help with all request form nurses,change dresseing,bathroom,showers,pt,.To record all results in computer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSFebruary 10, 2016
I loved working at the "u"!! I met a lot of great people ,patients and colleagues. I was a very fast pace place. very exciting and unpredictable I worked in the float pool every day was a different.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSSeptember 15, 2015
Its was very good learning place, hand zone, they are great teachers! The co workers are awesome.... We all work together as a team...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good food and bad service
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 2, 2015
its a nice place to put mama and daddy and they serve really good food. The employees are ok and they have good activies that they have for the residents are wonderful. This is an exciting place to work.
Pros
good food
Cons
service slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I beg you not to get involved with this place!!!!
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, msJune 19, 2014
Umc is an organization that cares about money and money only!!! They only acknowledge the doctors, nurses and etc.... the other employees are treated like a door mat and no matter how good of a Job they do, they'll never get recognized. It's a horrible place and the vine is awful. So u must say if you're still interested. ...APPLY AT YOUR OWN RISK.
Pros
....
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 146No 43Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great people to be around.
Nurses' Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 14, 2014
I learned to to roll with the punches and how to not let one bad day get to me. The hardest part of my job was letting my babies go in peace. The most enjoyable part was putting a small on their faces.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Institute
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 13, 2014
Working in the hospital was very challenging at times and fast paced. I learned a lot of medical information and the difference between the nursing home and hospital atmosphere. The environments were totally different. I worked under the supervision of Registered Nurses. My coworkers were dedicated and always willing to pitch in and help meet the needs of the patients. The hardest part of my job was working 12 hour shifts. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting people from all walks of life.
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Long shift hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at the university Medical center and I learn alot.
Certified Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 25, 2014
Certified Nurse Assistant
 Assist with patient’s assessment and care planning
 Assist patients in meeting nutrition and elimination needs.
 Assist patients with mobility
 Assist patients with personal hygiene and grooming
 Assist in promoting patient safety and environmental cleanliness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy hospital
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 19, 2013
Worked 7p-7a for seven straight days. Had fun working with the children patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJanuary 29, 2013
UMC was a great place to work for i honestly learned so much about people and what they aregoing through. It was such a great pleasure for me to be able to help sick children!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Mississippi Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 580 reviews
5233
4160
3129
231
127

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP35%
In the Top 35% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at University of Mississippi Medical Center.

Powered by Comparably

University of Mississippi Medical Center Reviews by Location