University of Missouri-Kansas City Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 137 reviews
Ratings breakdown
571
441
316
26
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 137 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
UMKC Student Success (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 3, 2018
Great place to work! Loved to work there. It was a great place with great people and a great environment. Also there was a lot of diversity in the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day
Riteway Maintenance & Supply Company Janitor (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 23, 2018
prep cooked for all customers and clients cleaned up made sure things was done for the following day and if anyone needed help we was there to help when needed
Pros
working with other people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite and productive
IT Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 18, 2018
the University of Missouri -Kansas city like any other business can be tough at time but it is a center hub of kanas city and can be very beneficial to a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KS 66215June 17, 2018
It was a temp job to earn money only. I took care of lab animals and observed their behavior. Keep the lab sterile. Job was on the go always something to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
mason tuckpointer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 9, 2018
great place to work lots of sick time and vacation time holidays benefits work loads are great work at your own pace friendly people good location great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 9, 2018
Wonderful learning and patient care center of excellence. My professors were all skilled clinicians and very approachable and helpful during my Masters
Pros
Education, upward mobility, Research, student and patient centered
Cons
Downtown location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Undergraduate Research (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSApril 25, 2018
This is a great institution. I would highly recommend that as many people as possible attend this institution. If you get a job here that is even better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Senior Enrollment Advisor (Full time) (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 19, 2018
We are the largest comprehensive, fully accredited university in the Kansas City area. Our faculty are leaders in their fields – and they're within re
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually stimulating and fun-loving environment
Contingent Staff (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 4, 2018
My time at UMKC was different from day to day. I was able to connect and network with many senior leadership positions throughout campus. I was challenged while still encouraged to maintain a positive and upbeat morale.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faculdade onde fiz estágio
Estagiaria (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, Missouri, USApril 2, 2018
E que me ofereceu enormes oportunidades de crescimento
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and the people are very good. I strongly suggest other people to work at UMKC
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMarch 21, 2018
Friendly people and nice environment.
Reasonable paid and cheap City.
Univeristy is in the middle of city, so you will enjoy the city environment.
Campus is smaller, so easy to move around.
.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Adjunct Faculty Member (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 11, 2018
UMKC was an great place to work. I was fortunate to teach 28-30 different classes. It was an excellent extension to job experience. Student enrollment was always full. Technology was advanced and training was provided.
Pros
Excellent students
Cons
Extended hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with professor, good learning experience
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMarch 11, 2018
worked as graduate research assistant, taught lab, worked in laboratory under supervision of a professor. liked learning new things and being part of research developments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at this position was great
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 9, 2018
My role embodies teaching how to write computer programs,reading schematics, connect circuit components on the breadboard, and I also resolve equipment related problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good and challenging work to do, but in general I was able to get it done.
graduate research assistant (URA) (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 6, 2018
It was good and challenging work to do, but in general I was able to get it done. Working at the university helped me to experience the job environment. It was a great opportunity for me to gain some knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to be a part of
Graduate Research Assistant and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 5, 2018
It gives you the best of both student and professional life. Every faculty, assistant and each person who works there is super helpful.
Probably one of the best decisions I have made was coming here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fast paced environment
Operations Manager/District Chef (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 1, 2018
Great opportunity for high volume and high profile events.

Vibrant and diverse urban campus.

Long and busy days. High turnover. Bureaucratic structure.

Turnover and being short handed = hardest part
Something new everyday and diversity = best part.
Pros
Good pay, great opportunity for creativity
Cons
Turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and exciting place to work.
Instrument Sterilization Technician (CSR) (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 28, 2018
I was able to receive my bachelor degree while work for the
university. They very attentive to staff needs and encourages staff to continue their education.
Pros
Educational opportunities
Cons
lunch break to short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family
Maintinence Worker (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 28, 2018
these guys don't get paid much but they will always have a job and the rest of the crew looks after each other. a really good environment to work in. i have met some great people there and i am still friends with them to this day. i would still be there, had i not had a desire to go further in my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Life
MARKETING INTERN (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 25, 2018
Working at UMKC was nice while being a student there. The hours were short per week while also learning valuable information about how an office works.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport