University of Nebraska Employee Reviews

Found 182 reviews matching the search See all 183 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office of General Counsel, University of Nebraska
Deputy General Counsel (Former Employee) –  Varner Hall, Lincoln, NEMarch 14, 2019
I thoroughly enjoyed working in the General Counsel's Office. I retired because I was no longer able to continue the full-time practice of law. My wife retired before I did and I wanted to spend more time with her in retirement.
Pros
Retirement savings programs.
Cons
Workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to like working with kids and parents.
FINANCIAL AID & ADMISSIONS COUNSELOR (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEFebruary 2, 2019
It wasn't for me because I'm more business casual and lots of the people in Admissions are very polished and form fitting. I liked working with the students.
Pros
good benefits; job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for new faculty in sciences
Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Kearney, NEJanuary 19, 2019
A typical day at work would be 6-8 hr with a lot of flexibility based on the schedule of classes. Teaching is a major emphasis here though research is advancing quite rapidly and becoming competitive. Some of the faculty are procuring federal grants and are supported by a number of state supported grants. Workplace culture is good based on the department. The only drawback is the salary and a major emphasis on teaching evaluation by students for further progression of faculty.
Pros
Excellent healthcare and retirement benefit plans
Cons
salary for faculty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my position and working with the graduate students.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 11, 2019
• Provided administrative support to the department chair, suite faculty, students, and visitors.
• Proficient with Microsoft Office Suite: Word, Excel, Outlook.
• Organized typed, filed documents; maintained graduate student spreadsheets, files, reports.
• Initiated and processed interdepartmental and external communication.
• Coordinated the annual economics department scholarship banquet.
• Generated comprehensive exams for Master of Science Degree in Economics.
• Supervised a student worker.
• Organized national and international applications for the hiring of an economics professor.
• Scheduled appointments and reserved meeting spaces. Assisted with special events.
• Maintained and ordered office supplies. Processed and distributed daily suite mail.
• Knowledge of office equipment: multi-line phone, personal computer, printer, copier, & scanner.
Pros
Working with students and staff
Cons
The weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Tutor - Intermediate Accounting (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJanuary 8, 2019
The overall working environment is excellent
Managers working proficiently to help tutors to work with students
Tutor assessments and training are performed each semester
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor culture in the athletic department
Assistant Director - Strength & Conditioning (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NEDecember 26, 2018
Not a great place for women to advance, and undeserved credibility and decision-making power given to mostly the wrong people. Professional respect between different departments within athletics is minimal.
Pros
Free Lunch, good benefits
Cons
just about everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go Huskers!
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEDecember 7, 2018
Great place to work, live, raise a family. Lincoln is a great and underappreciated city. Tons of bike trails, concerts, restaurants, symphony orchestra, great art community. Cost of living is very low as well.
Pros
Great location in the heart of a nice, small downtown
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Financial Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NEDecember 4, 2018
A nice place, but very cookie cutter. Perfect for someone who wants clear expectations and very clear direction, but those who want a bit more flexibility should take that into consideration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication
Athletic Coach (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NENovember 29, 2018
Lack of communication; expectations not conveyed. Too many levels/burocracy- a bunch of administrators, each of whom tried to do too many things. All the AD’s don’t even know the HC’s names.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NENovember 25, 2018
Workplace is a competitive with some degree of positive stress but manageable.
There is a strong culture of collaborative research, which promotes productivity.
Pros
Good place to work due to positive examples
Cons
Not known
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright for a student worker
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NENovember 20, 2018
I was a student worker for UNL's student accounts, it wasn't a bad job but it wasn't engaging. I was bored and did schoolwork most of the time. The people I worked with were very nice and the other students were fun to talk to. Overall it was an okay job and a great opportunity for a student who didn't have a way to get hired off campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, fun environment
facility assistant (Current Employee) –  LincolnshireNovember 2, 2018
i set up events in the nebraska union. i vacuum carpet, throw trash, shampoo carpets, strip and wax floors. i also handle any custodial issues that may come up throughout my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great grad school orogram
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NEOctober 18, 2018
I would come to work whenever and leave whenever as long as I got done what I needed to. The professor I worked with was great about helping me get my project done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning job
Duplicating Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEOctober 11, 2018
allowed me to learn how to operate duplication equipment; learned how to mix ink colors; learned how to print University material ordered; work hours fine;
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Student Job, Not Much Longevity
Teaching and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NESeptember 10, 2018
This is the kind of position to take when you're just trying to get some extra rent money while taking classes. Not the best pay, not a lot of benefits, not much advancement, but it's a good gig if you're working for a good professor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a nice experience as a student worker
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEAugust 21, 2018
Great place to work as a student worker. As a part-time graduate assistant I had many opportunities to learn from others in the office and grow. My job was temporary and had to leave when I graduated from UNL.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Services department in disarray
Custodial Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 19, 2018
I can only speak for the environmental services department. It is a joke and it is truly chaotic. Employees are treated like numbers and their voices are not heard. They are often left confused by their duties. Supervisors are micromanaged and left confused by conflicting instructions. Good work goes unnoticed, and mistakes are harped on. Many employees complain that they feel harrassed by management. The benefits are great but the compensation for custodians is lacking, and the hours are not ideal. The rest of the campus appears to be a very political and shady place.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Telephone Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJuly 11, 2018
It's a job that you can self-schedule. Pay isn't much - a job to supplement a full-time job. Minimal advancement available. Good job for students, those wanting a second job or those needing to supplement retirement income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working hours
Seasonal Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJuly 2, 2018
Flexible working hours for students.
Cleaning and organization of facility.
Enjoyable to help and serve customers.
Customer service experience.
Able to learn hands on and able to be self reliant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNL is great place to work
Reading Center Associate (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NE 68583June 30, 2018
Working at the Reading Center is very rewarding because we help children in the local area with reading skills. It is ver satisfying to see how each child improves and interacts with our UNL students. I would stay in my current position if they offered me full-time hours.
Pros
benefits
Cons
income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Nebraska. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 183 reviews
590
457
327
28
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

University of Nebraska Reviews by Location