University of Texas at Austin Employee Reviews

Found 820 reviews matching the search See all 821 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Researcher
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 12, 2018
Work is flexible. You learn a lot and a lot of learning opportunities. Friendly work environment. Management could reluctant to pay fair wages. Their is no job growth in financially.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already wrote review
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 10, 2018
BEG is a good place to work if you are a graduate student although salary might not be enough for expenses of living in Austin. Either very cheap rent would be required or fellowships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a learning experience
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 9, 2018
I worked on tight-gas well stimulation and simulation: conducted experiments to measure proppant transport, updated proppant transport model, and proposed a new fracturing technique: Reverse Hybrid-Fracs. I also conducted experiments to identify surfactants that would change water-wetness of reservoir cores and could be used to improve gas production or gas storage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace if you have the opportunity to be there
Special Assistant/Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 5, 2018
Highly recommend working at University of Texas at Austin, if you get the opportunity too. Once in a lifetime experience and there is nothing like Texas Pride
Pros
Free food, gear, meet celebrities and game changers
Cons
Not paid enough and work long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and friendly people!
Dean's Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 27, 2018
UT is made up of friendly people and it's a great work atmosphere. My supervisor cares about career development and the staff supports one another. It's a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 19, 2018
Very engaging work environment and amazing coworkers. I always look forward to going to work because the culture is something I'm glad to be part of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 18, 2018
The University of Texas at Austin has a great community work environment. Everyone pulls together to support the mission of the University of providing opportunities to change the world and create a better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
HVACR Technician I (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 14, 2018
Ability to gain a lot of experience. Operations management is difficult to work around. Good benefits. Difficult to advance to other departments. Would still recommend for the benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Camp
Summer Basketball Coaching Staff (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 14, 2018
This was a summer camp that I coached at. Awesome experience but was just a week long event held every year. Fantastic experience. Great folks to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 13, 2018
Minimal manual labor required, some miscellaneous tasks. Most days consist of organizng and checking out items to students and professors. Flexible schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place !
Field Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 9, 2018
I worked at UT for a research gig in the Ecuadorian Amazon and it was so awesome!! Could not say enough great things about this program I absolutely loved my time there and the data analysis of it all. Highly recommend to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you have a good supervisor
Program Manager/Grants and Contracts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 7, 2018
Your supervisor will make or break you at the University of Texas as they have too much power. They have ineffective processes to deal with poor supervisors.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Supervisor power
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brief experience as a Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 31, 2018
I was a teaching assistant for four semesters in a liberal arts department. The experience will largely depend on the professors you work with and the health of the department. Obviously, UT-Austin is a huge university and a great campus to spend some time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, but learn a lot of valuable skills
Undergraduate Independent Researcher (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 31, 2018
I did not actually work here, I just performed research as an undergraduate. Research in of itself is very stressful, but this college provides a lot of opportunities for students. Would highly recommend if you are interested in research as a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful atmosphere to work and learn at the same time.
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 27, 2018
-Worked with staff preparing for student programs.
-Learned new software and processes for completion of tasks in the requirements of my jobs.
-Management was usually helpful and provided good challenges and training.
-Workplace culture was good. I enjoyed working with other staff, teachers, and students.
-Hardest part of job was understanding how to please certain management in final job at UT.
-Most enjoyable part of the job was being part of an active, intelligent, campus life and learning the aspects of the jobs there.
Pros
Good options for growth and advancements.
Cons
Parking wasn't always near employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for state
Program Director/Instructor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 19, 2018
It was a good state job- not a lot of forward thinking.,change of leadership consistent. Flexible for lifestyle. Slow moving bursaucracy. Have heard things are better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Ticket Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 18, 2018
Great place to work, you get to learn from you staff.
Workplace culture is great
Love getting to enjoy your coworkers outside of work
Being able to work at one of the top university in the country
Pros
Free Lunches, Great Coworkers
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be a teaching assistant
Data Science Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 17, 2018
I have been a teaching assistant for multiple classes. So far, I have had only great experiences. Typical days involve grading homework, grading quizzes, holding office hours, etc...
Pros
Job while being student
Cons
Can be time consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place with great benefits
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 12, 2018
The University of Texas was a great place to work at. I learned many skills that I would like to take to my next job. The management was great and always there for their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great places to work
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 10, 2018
Offers a variety of job opportunities and strong leadership. You will be challenged but always supported in your job growth. Highly recommended to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas at Austin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 821 reviews
5423
4266
3101
219
112

See reviews about

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight