University of Texas At Tyler Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXSeptember 26, 2018
i was responsible for all the retail locations and making sure they were staffed opened on time and were up to the standards of the national brands. made sure schedules were inputted and posted in a timely manner.Made sure the retail operations were profitable by comparing labor time and sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
please help me
Tech Support (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJune 24, 2018
i want job please help me i can not live without job, i can work really very hard i can also clean and all the restrooms if needed so please give me any job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed the students and the learning material
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXMay 10, 2018
It was a great opportunity at the time. I was able to help many students in a tough course. I truly enjoyed cognitive psychology and was happy to give understanding to the students who showed up for our tutoring sessions twice a week.
Pros
I completely respected Dr. Shelly Marmion and was humbled to get to work with her.
Cons
Grading projects was very timely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Recruiting Coordinator - XC (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXMay 10, 2018
The job itself was great, very rewarding to know you are helping students with their future. The pay isn't great for the work you do, but the true reward was working with the staff and students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Campus Has Grown
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXApril 27, 2018
It has been over 20 years since I worked at this institution. I was a part of the early years and found that the desire to build the campus into a desirable place for degree completion was a great motivator.
Pros
campus; buildings
Cons
xxx
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Financial Aid (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXApril 5, 2018
Beautiful campus, enjoyed working there. Great people that are student centered. I loved the One Stop Shop for students, allowing departments to spend time processing applications so that students were able to go thru process quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Information Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXApril 2, 2018
It is a great place to work. The salary is on the lower end of the industry, but you can't beat the benefits or the job security. Working here has enabled me to gain an incredible amount of experience. My managers are second to none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive Working Community
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXMarch 29, 2018
I worked at UT Tyler as a student worker and as a graduate assistant. It is a very collaborate, interactive, working environment. It is nice to be apart of a team where everyone wants everyone else to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student positions
Graduate Assistant of University Center Programing (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXMarch 14, 2018
Great place to work while pursuing your degree. You will always know what is happening on campus. You will meet a ton of people. Slow some days, then too much to do the next.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXMarch 8, 2018
I have to grade back to back some 300 students and lab assignment and have to take care of SAP lab connectivity. It was a busy and very productive work environment which prepared me to handle stress .
Pros
Very busy and challenging
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
Scientific Instrument Maker II (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXMarch 5, 2018
Close interaction with students and Faculty. Pleasant environment. Low stress. Great leadership and very well trained staff. Nice campus with lots of outdoor walking paths.
Pros
Great weather most of the year. Small Campus with small class sizes.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Laboratory Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXFebruary 27, 2018
I worked here during my time as a graduate student in biology. It did not pay me well for working as a teaching assistant or as a lab assistant. But the people were fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible and convinient
ACE Site Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXFebruary 14, 2018
I like working for the university because it is a convinient commute from my home. However, I wish there were more options for more hours. and more benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and easy going
Senior Budget & Reporting Analyst (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXJanuary 24, 2018
Working in the budget office is extremely fast paced where you have multiple projects going at once and may not always be the same each day, great if you enjoy that type of environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you're on tenure track maybe
Mathematics Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJanuary 14, 2018
I was there during some upper-level turnover. I wasn't given honest feedback during evaluations. Expect to come in with experience, because of course you don't get any training. We were told, 1) Don't date your students, 2) don't wear ripped clothes, and 3) teach like your favorite teacher. That's it. There was no advice for improvement, no written evaluation results, no discussions with supervisor.
Pros
Teaching at a university
Cons
University politics, roof construction during teaching hours, disingenuous management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job while in school
Lab and Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJanuary 3, 2018
Very slow paced and good early starter job for people just starting out in research and the field. It allows for development of interpersonal skills while also helping to provide much needed guidance on a professional scale.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brief Description
Editor in Chief (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXDecember 16, 2017
It is a university setting. You work with students, staff, and faculty. Some students are good, and have a commitment. Some do not. The ones who do make it worth working. The university is also a large bureaucracy, but that is just part of the territory.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Texas at Tyler
Clinical Nursing Instructor (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXDecember 7, 2017
The University of Texas at Tyler was a wonderful place to work. Faculty members function as a team, the campus atmosphere is vibrant and engaging, and there is no lack of administrative support for educators.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, fast paced, fun
Admissions Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXNovember 25, 2017
I loved working at UT Tyler in the Admissions office. I was able to meet many, many people in person, over the phone, and in email correspondence! It was a very nice atmosphere overall.

I began my workday by greeting and assisting anyone who came into the office, setting the tour schedules, assigning the student tour guides, answering phones, and emails.

This continued throughout the day along with other responsibilities over the students and data entry.

I hardest part of the job was during registration when there were extra responsibilities in admitting and registering the students.

The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and assisting the current students, potential students, and their families.
Pros
Pleasant, enjoyable, and never a dull moment!
Cons
Never a dull moment!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXOctober 20, 2017
I learned a lot in my academic relationship with my professors at UT Tyler. I did three researches with them; two were in Biomaterials and one in Fuel Cell.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas At Tyler. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 62 reviews
536
421
34
21
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture

University of Texas At Tyler Reviews by Location