University of Wisconsin-Stout Employee Reviews

Showing all 80 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Advisor Instructor
Teacher / Advisor (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIMay 24, 2019
I cannot say that I had a difficult time with my job.

I learned to advise students that did not want to be adviced. But
through ingenuity changed their attitude .

I learned to speak at educational conferences, coordinated a commuter adult group.

I was a deeper level of working difficult student and with open arms
sent them into a society where they could be confident.

The management was new but helpful.
Pros
Teaching, advising students to the point of success
Cons
If a student was mine and through their own choices failed freshman year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to be an ESL teacher
ESL Institute Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIMay 24, 2019
I really enjoyed my time teaching at UW Stout. The other ESL teachers were always very helpful and willing to share their teaching knowledge and experience with you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIMay 15, 2019
We work at a very fast pace and sometimes it can be hard to keep your head above water. It's definitely not for everyone and there will be turnover but so far, it's been a great fit me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice campus, some difficulties
Employee (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIApril 14, 2019
I enjoyed my time at Stout, for the most part, but there are the usual growing pains with changing leadership and priorities. The State of Wisconsin was openly hostile to public employees and higher ed during the time I worked there, so both pay and morale were less than ideal and trending downward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job for college students
Custodian Services (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIMarch 17, 2019
Working with the custodial team at UW-Stout is relaxed and a great part time job. The managers work around your school hours and understand that your education comes first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position
Clerical Support (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIFebruary 18, 2019
Temporary position while I was attending school. Flexible hours based on class schedule and workload. Ability to come in and work between classes. Great job while in college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Grounds Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIJanuary 5, 2019
This job was an outdoor job working on the landscape of the campus.
Supervisor was great. He deligated tasks according to the ability of each person.
Pros
Work outside
Cons
heavy labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress work environment
LAB ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Menomonie, WIJanuary 4, 2019
Assisted students with machine tasks.
Managed loosely by professors.
All employees were very friendly. The hardest part of the job was getting other students to listen to your instruction due to them being peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Campus Tour Guide (Current Employee) –  University of WI- StoutDecember 12, 2018
I loved my manager and all the people I work with! Such a great work environment! My hours are flexible and I am able to work well with everybody who is on my shift.
Pros
Great people
Cons
not as many hours as I would want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet Productive
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIDecember 3, 2018
It was a fun and helped me shape my inter-personal skills. Dealing with different people each day was quite exciting to learn. This also helped me to learn the process in the food industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seemed to be Short-Sighted in Thinking
University Services Associate II (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WINovember 17, 2018
While I enjoyed much of my time at UW-State, understand this is a State job employer. This changes when the governor changes. The Chancellors and all of those in between all play a role in the final outcome of what happens - even if some of it is beyond their control.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stout Review
Math Department Assistant (Current Employee) –  Menomonie, WINovember 16, 2018
Being a student worker I am not privy to what goes on too much in the department so I can't really answer this review or questions with too much clarity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going through a Change
Student Development Representative (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIOctober 30, 2018
When I decided to resign from this job, the call center was in the midst of a supervisor change. Things were not going smoothly, and the stress was adding up, so I decided to cut ties. However, prior to the change, it was a very fun place to work at. Very relaxed working environment, and you worked with other students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever!
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WISeptember 29, 2018
Awesome work culture, boss, and scheduling. Teamwork welcomed, everyone's opinion accepted for problem solving. Understanding when working with scheduling and training.
Pros
Access to services
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but don't get sick
Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WI. 54751September 5, 2018
I enjoyed my time at UW-Stout. People were friendly, helpful, and fun to be around. I learned allot and had the ability to use the equipment to help me educate myself. Things were great.

Then....

I was forced to take time off because of my health. Was accused of things I did not do for I was not in the office. Supervisor did not look into accusations. HR was not very empathetic. Decisions were made and somehow I was re-organized out of a position. Very frustrating.
Pros
Great Professors and a great place for an education
Cons
Don't make a decent salary and they find out the position does not pay that much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and relaxed place to work.
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Menomonie, WISeptember 3, 2018
It has been great working with university of Wisconsin's maintenance department. the work is challenging and demands good amount of effort which i like the most about this job.
Pros
good pay
Cons
healthcare is not covered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school and Great AMCS department
Math lab tutor (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIAugust 30, 2018
I was a Math lab tutor at the University of Wisconsin, I like to Serve students with high-level professionalism, patience, and a strong background. It is very enjoyable to answer math-related questions and shared learning strategies and methods.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone job
Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIAugust 22, 2018
This place was a great place for me to grow. I would recommend to any young coach trying out a school like Wisconsin-Stout. I did not fully enjoy the culture, but I did enjoy how much I was able to grow as a coach while I was there.
Pros
Has an identity, great athletes, lots of experience
Cons
Poor communication between staff, too much of a "good old boys" atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hi
Student Catering Manager (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIAugust 2, 2018
The following are reasons not to work for this company

Low pay
Varied hours
Lack of training
No team feeling
No follow through

The following are reasons to work for this company

Free food
Raises
Meet new friends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has become very hard to get up and come to work
Nobody (Current Employee) –  Menomonie, WIAugust 2, 2018
Very hard to get up and come to work and see all the things that go on here. People that never show up for work that have a job. Decisions that are made and employees blind sided by those decisions. All employees ask is for open communication, which there seems to none of. It is hard to work in an environment like that. See a person get fired from one department and a couple of weeks later get hired by another department, does that seem right?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Wisconsin-Stout. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 80 reviews
545
423
38
23
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

3.8Fairygodboss Score

25%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

25%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

University of Wisconsin-Stout Reviews by Location