University of Wyoming Culture reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 176 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice colleagues and Students
Lecturer/Instructor (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYFebruary 18, 2019
The students were the best part of the job. They worked hard and had great attitudes. The culture is conservative and with budget problems. They build nice facilities, but do not pay faculty or staff enough to work in them. Laramie is secluded, which is a plus and minus.
Pros
Great students
Cons
Underpaid faculty and staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-working place
Computer Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYJanuary 9, 2019
As a student employee with IT services, I troubleshoot a wide variety of computing issues and communicate technical information to non-technical customers.
All the managers and co-workers are very nice and are glad to answer questions.
University of Wyoming gives a peaceful and fun workplace culture.
And the most enjoyable part of the job is to solve computer problems and communicate with customers.
Pros
Can sit to solve the computer problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend
Post-Graduate Researcher/ Laboratory Manager (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYJanuary 4, 2019
I would absolutely recommend working here. The enviorment and colleagues are great to work with, and collabroative work takes place for the betterment of human and animal health.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UW Catering
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYSeptember 24, 2018
this is a great first job, especially for students. you choose your own hours, however, that can also be conflicting. While you are able to choose your hours, a lot of the time the shifts fill up unless you respond to the email immediately. Even then, it was hard to grab a shift as it is very competitive
Pros
Free meal to washakie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing good to really say
Systems administrator/Programmer (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYSeptember 6, 2018
there is not a team environment there. The employees are largely related to one another, the atmosphere is less than productive. Worst place I have ever worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply a Great Place to work
Associat Professor (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYFebruary 26, 2018
When I was there the culture was very much innovative (becoming the little Harvard of the West). Feeling on inclusion at all levels.
Dedicated to teaching and learning of students and research.
Pros
Salary, advancement, focus on faculty as well as student development.
Cons
Way too rural
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice workplace with bueatiful and peaceful envorinment
Visiting scholar (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYJanuary 6, 2018
When you enroll at the University of Wyoming, you’re not only signing up for a great education at an affordable price; you’re also becoming part of a community that prides itself on being challenged, rising to the occasion and embracing our local surroundings. You’ll find endless, four-season outdoor adventure, arts and culture, a lively downtown and a welcoming campus community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have worked
Accounting Associate (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYOctober 4, 2017
At the University of Wyoming new employees recieve no training and are expected to know how to do their job. If you make a mistake you are punished. Everyone only looks out themselves it is a dog eat dog world in the University. When you start the culture makes it clear that you are replaceable. I would not reccomended thw University to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, respective, Cooperative
Student (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYAugust 24, 2017
I learned that the communication is most important skill we should have at work. Respecting each other is the key to achieve our goals at work. Honesty is above the previous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a nice university
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYJune 30, 2017
Although I have a little experience with this university but I like it.
The workplace culture is amazing. The city is very small but the weather is beautiful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of direction
Systems Administrator III (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYJune 25, 2017
Managers have no direction for the future and are poorly informed.

Workplace culture is a problem and many employees are given preferential treatment over others due to nepotism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome to work for
Store Associate, Loaf 'N Jug (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYJune 8, 2017
The University of Wyoming is a great place to work at. The job culture is very important here and the Customer Service skills you attain while working for this employer are priceless. Would recommend to anyone looking for entry level work.
Pros
Regular and Flexible Schedules
Cons
Not enough part time work for non students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Credit hours
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYMay 29, 2017
loved working here, awesome people and a very diverse work place. The University is an awesome place to work for. I would recommend that others interested work here too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable working place with abundant outdoor activities
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYJanuary 4, 2017
The University of Wyoming has a number of talented and diligent people working in the research areas. Professional and knowledgeable instructors, and nice co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for graduate education
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYJanuary 4, 2017
The stipend for graduate research in the science and engineering fields is very competitive with great resources and opportunities to learn.
Pros
beautiful location, low living expenses
Cons
somewhat isolated community, small housing market
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting people, shakey stability
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYDecember 10, 2016
The university itself is currently in a budget reduction, so jobs aren't very stable. The Geological department, however, has plenty of great people who are dedicated to their individual fields.
Working as a laboratory assistant for a research professor makes for rather flexible hours of work, but the knowledge and skill gain is tremendous.
Pros
flexible hours, friendly people
Cons
shared labs, university politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to gain professional driver's license and driving experience.
Professional Driver (Full Time) (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYSeptember 17, 2016
UW's transportation department enjoys a balance of professional drivers tempered by students earning their degrees and professional driving skills. The best part of working at UW is they will train you for a class B license and you will work with people of diverse backgrounds. The salary is competitive for the area, and if your lucky enough to hire on as a full time driver you will enjoy incomparable benefits.
Pros
Exposure to a diverse cultural environment focused on education.
Cons
Old Equipment, Nepotism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Research Extension Assistant - Dr. Brian Mealor (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYSeptember 11, 2016
I enjoyed learning about rangeland environments and how to better manage them. Great workers and great management that helped me become better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taught me several things regarding leadership and prepared me as a cadet
Assistant S-1 Assistant Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYApril 19, 2016
We were cadets and had certain duties assigned for our positions
taught us several things on leadership
I learned how to interact with different cultures
I learned many Microsoft offices
Pros
will be an officer
Cons
requires a lot of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a perfect place
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Laramie, WYMarch 8, 2016
As teaching assistant and a research assistant, I really enjoy working with my team members. They are very nice and are doing excellent work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Wyoming. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 176 reviews
576
465
325
24
16

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight