University of the District of Columbia Employee Reviews

Found 115 reviews matching the search See all 116 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is very unethical
Coordinator/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 31, 2019
This place is very unethical. Upper Management is able to get away with every and anything. There are folks there who sexually harass their employees and receive no disciplinary actions, the Human Resources dept. covers up their doings. These folks are receiving salaries over $200 year with no real results.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Adjunct (Former Employee) –  Columbia, WAJuly 30, 2019
Relaxed
You must respect the feelings of others
Management where very fair
Workplace was very relaxed.
Given grades was the must difficult.
Sharing opinions were the most enjoyable
Pros
each other cares fo
Cons
Working sometimes for long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  District of ColumbiaJuly 26, 2019
Great working environment and people within the office. Extremely organized work space and well done meetings. People are helpful and understand how to get projects completed early.
Pros
pay increases
Cons
Great work environment, great people and office energy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Diamond in the Rough
Enrollment Management Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 3, 2019
Working at the University of the District of Columbia is unlike any other college/university for which I have been employed. The only public university in Washington, DC offers a plethora of opportunities for every type of student, from Workforce Development to Ph.D studies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make it.
Professor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 3, 2019
It is interesting. It houses a community college inside the university. About half the students attend the CC before entering the university. Basically just over half the students in the whole university are at the CC, so they come in open enrollment. Lack of promotion within. Salaries are very low, the best people leave and the worst stay too long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 26, 2019
Great place to work. Very productive ,educative and fun workplace with students. I had a very good and positive period there and can not put a value on it. It is a great environment to be.
Pros
Helpful
Cons
Challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great Institution to learn and work at the same time.
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  4200 Connecticut AvenueJune 21, 2019
It was a friendly environment with good people and mentors. My time there was educational and enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone who want to learn, meet good people as well as a community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 31, 2019
Typical work study job in which you are required to fulfill the tasks given to you in a timely manner. The wages are $9:50per hours and you must not work then 20 hours per week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited benefits for adjunct professors
Adjunct Professor of English (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 15, 2019
Like most universities, UDC was not great in terms of the treatment of adjunct professors. Our wages were low and we did not have benefits. The working environment itself was OK.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 31, 2019
I learned a great deal from people who had less education than I did. Eventhough, my education was a threat to their position they still treated me like family.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
poor job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard university environment
Adjunct Professor of Law (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 12, 2019
The University of the District of Columbia is a great place to work with:

Good students

Good benefits

Good environment

Good management


References are available upon request
Pros
Freedom of speech
Cons
Most positions are part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work with bad administration
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 15, 2019
Good place to work. Great environment. Nice people to work with. Disconnection between lower management and upper management. Slow administrative processes.Excellent work/life balance.
Pros
People
Cons
Administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up and Coming
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 12, 2019
Management is focused on Student Development and Success, which is a unit of the institution, but not actually on the students. Faculty are very much undervalued, except for new faculty, who are paid HBCU market value.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 20, 2018
Many different personalities to work with. Have to be a very strong person to deal with so many different personalities. Over all, it's ok to work there.
Pros
typical job
Cons
typical job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Career and Professional Development
Marketing Generalist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 18, 2018
The University of the District of Columbia Student Center gave me one of my first jobs. Coming into college working part-time as a full-time student was one of the most humbling experiences of my life. It taught me how to balance coursework and job projects/assignments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management Practices and Culture
Staff (Current Employee) –  DC - District of Columbia, DCDecember 12, 2018
Not a very good place to work. Management doesn't value employees. Government organization. It is more important for General Management to keep status quo and keep receiving city dollars than to make improvements. Employees are treated like cattle.
Pros
Location
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Ethics and Corruption
Campus Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 25, 2018
It is the District of Columbia Government, so why expect anything good! From the university president (Mason) down to lowest of rank, they have no integrity or honesty, they condone a work environment of physical violence towards women (students and staff), they do hire if you have a criminal record (misdemeanor or felony), and there are no advancement opportunities for Black women within its campus police department.
Pros
paycheck on the 1st and 16th of each month
Cons
No professionalism AT ALL!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Student Accounts Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 8, 2018
I liked working at the University. I wish that I had been hired full time. I was promised a full time position on several occasions although that never took place. I enjoyed interacting with the college students and was able to add a little more management and cash handling experience to my achievements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 6, 2018
I had a great time as a research assistant and teacher assistants. The professors were great and the HR department was also very helpful. Everything I learned I can take to other company's and/or environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Student Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 26, 2018
I do data entry, scanning, and indexing of documents. I learned how to work at my own pace. Management are understanding and willing to help with anything. Clear instructions were given all the time. I give myself deadlines to finish my work for the day. The most enjoyable part is my coworkers.
Pros
Friendly, Fun, Fast-Paced, Understanding
Cons
Work-Study only
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of the District of Columbia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 116 reviews
539
432
334
27
14

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

University of the District of Columbia Reviews by Location