University of the District of Columbia Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 86 reviews
Ratings breakdown
531
425
322
26
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 86 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DCJune 28, 2018
Enjoy protecting and serving the students, staff, faculty, and visitors to the University. There is not much more to say other than, many of its employees usually retire from here.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC 20002June 28, 2018
Poor management for a law enforcement agency. Admin has zero professional experience as law enforcement officials. Officers are unprofessional and very poorly trained.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Work Study Student (Current Employee) –  Columbia, WAJune 14, 2018
It is great job for a student who is taking classes full-time or has another job off campus. It helps with ensuring income for students when they need the extra cash flow while attending school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting vibrant college campus
Spanish Adjunct (Former Employee) –  Washington DCJune 11, 2018
Students eager to participate in the learning process of a highly conducive, creative and academically rewarding second language environment. Student learn not only for school but for life.
Pros
Excellent learning environment, supportive team of professionals, committed students, adequate educational supplies, counseling support, tutoring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Office of Admisisons (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 16, 2018
Despite ideal location in Washington, DC, this iinstitution of higher learning is both dysfunctional and poorly run place. It fosters a racist environment. An embarrassment of an institution.
Pros
Location in Washington, Dc
Cons
Everything else imaginable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Campus Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington DCApril 22, 2018
Patrol campus areas
essential work personal
team work with other officers
getting to meet and help new student every year
working together with staff and faculty
Pros
Going to School at the University
Cons
Being unscheduled for overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot . It was a very great learning experience
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 13, 2018
how to synthesize organotin compounds.
the basics of research
how to be a good team player
learned how to do a formal presentation
the culture at the job with good, there was no discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Environment
Office Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCApril 13, 2018
Loved working at the University of the District of Columbia. Working at a place that catered to excellent educational opportunities was very rewarding. I worked in the Office of the Dean for the College of Life Sciences. Loved this experience with being able to make a difference in the lives of the students by providing excellent customer service.
Pros
Working in the Dean's office
Cons
Sometimes having to work weekends and evenings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant
Mathematics Tutor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, WAApril 10, 2018
Working at University of the District of Columbia is pleasant and they are opportunities to advance. The classroom are fully loaded with the latest technologies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Administrative Front Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 28, 2018
I actually like where i work and who i work for. I am learning a lot because of the interest that i show, the effort that i put out is exactly what i am getting back.
The management is good they teach me what i need to know if i ask and i have to learn when i get extra time.
the hardest part of the job is that its a contract.
i enjoy meeting new people and the customers are a wonderful group of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Columbia, WAMarch 27, 2018
I teach graduate students. The classes are offered only one hour per week but the university provides computer, copy service, email account, and anything I need to teach my students.
Pros
Love Academic Environment
Cons
Part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to be
Assistant Teacher/Tutor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, WAMarch 17, 2018
I worked there in the computer science department and Math lab while I was getting my undergraduate degree in computer science department.
I learned a lot while working with student in the lab.
I learned a lot about teamwork, collaboration and how to be responsible and take initiative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On Campus Student Job
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCMarch 15, 2018
As a student, you get paid minimum wage.
It wasn't much but it helps to have some pocket money.
I learnt my basic lab skills such as equipment names and how to use them.
Pros
Privacy
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
JANITOR (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCMarch 13, 2018
The work place was a nice family friendly place to work at and i really enjoyed working there. I learned alot about different chemicals and,disease and cures while i was working there. The hard part about the job was making sure the glass didn't break when i was handling the material.
Pros
boss brought me lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean work envirement
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 27, 2018
while working at my Alumni College I had the chance to with many various staff members job duties where to make copies run errands manage the front desk and answer the telephone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teachers great students!
Adjunct Faculty English (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 12, 2018
UDC is a great place to teach. Wonderful diversity makes the campus interesting. A quarter of the students are from other countries. The teachers and staff are a supportive network.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching LPNs the nursing field
Part-time Faculty for LPN Program (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 9, 2018
Teaching LPNs can be challenging, but was rewarded with being in a multicultural environment with students eager to learn. Taught a lengthy didactic nursing course.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment with opportunity to excel
Administrative Assistant (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 25, 2018
great environment, hard working team, enjoyed learning new things, family-oriented people, great benefits, cafeteria was awesome, they take pride in allowing you to be you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Fellow (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 27, 2017
I met New people, and also felt welcome in the environment. We faxed papers and attended community outreach at local schools. Overall, everyone was friendly and I enjoyed myself
Pros
Reasonable Breaks, Good Food
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Environment
Human Resources Intern (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 22, 2017
The University of the District of Columbia is a nice place to work. Leadership has a forward approach to making the university even better. But, it;s the faculty and staff that really make the university a great place to work and attend.
Pros
Work Flexibility
Cons
Needs University Spirit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport