University of the District of Columbia Culture reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search See all 196 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and deal with perspective students.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 12, 2019
1. Good place to work,
2. Learned many new ideas in IT and effectively dealing with people.
3. Management of the division I work for is great.
4. Workplace culture is good.
5. Doing the mass direct mailing and assembling binders for a particular class.
6. Daily interaction with students, faculty and coworkers, as well as opportunities to learn new ideas and how to accomplish difficult tasks in a timely manner.
Pros
Classes that are offered through the UDC CC (work related and the ability to continue education).
Cons
Distance to and from work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 20, 2018
Many different personalities to work with. Have to be a very strong person to deal with so many different personalities. Over all, it's ok to work there.
Pros
typical job
Cons
typical job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to train
Administrative Assistant (Training) (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 14, 2018
Worked with the students, learned how to scan documents, management was awesome, all cultures were there, the job was not hard at, the most enjoyable part of the job was working with an awesome group of people.
Pros
Management team
Cons
nONE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Water Quality Research Intern
Water Quality Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Beltsville, MDOctober 21, 2018
A typical day consisted of analytic reasoning to solve a challenge, within the research project.I learned to manage my time and resources. Management was supportive of my application of reasoning to complete a task or challenge. Work[lace culture was that of a research college. The hardest part of the job was having patient when unintentional issues arise that moved task timetables into negative positions. The most enjoyable part of the job was correcting the challenging issues on the job.
Pros
Access to expert assistance if neeeded
Cons
Approval for request could be faster
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 6, 2018
The typical day at work consist of helping a diverse culture of people throughout the day to get through some of the barriers they may encounter. I learned that no matter who , what you are we all have to have patience in all aspects of jobs. The management was for their staff advancement an allowed you leave for trainings to help you grow in your job field. The hardest part of the job was some of the administration department communication with some of the students and their parents. The enjoyable part of the job was constantly helping people on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is very authoritative and micromanage
Senior Accountant-Lead (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 26, 2018
Definitely not a great culture at UDC OCFO office. Workplace culture is very poor. Management lacks true leadership. Always makes one sided decision. Managers are not well trained to provide good leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot . It was a very great learning experience
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 13, 2018
how to synthesize organotin compounds.
the basics of research
how to be a good team player
learned how to do a formal presentation
the culture at the job with good, there was no discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Administrative Front Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 28, 2018
I actually like where i work and who i work for. I am learning a lot because of the interest that i show, the effort that i put out is exactly what i am getting back.
The management is good they teach me what i need to know if i ask and i have to learn when i get extra time.
the hardest part of the job is that its a contract.
i enjoy meeting new people and the customers are a wonderful group of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
JANITOR (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCMarch 13, 2018
The work place was a nice family friendly place to work at and i really enjoyed working there. I learned alot about different chemicals and,disease and cures while i was working there. The hard part about the job was making sure the glass didn't break when i was handling the material.
Pros
boss brought me lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teachers great students!
Adjunct Faculty English (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 12, 2018
UDC is a great place to teach. Wonderful diversity makes the campus interesting. A quarter of the students are from other countries. The teachers and staff are a supportive network.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment with opportunity to excel
Administrative Assistant (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 25, 2018
great environment, hard working team, enjoyed learning new things, family-oriented people, great benefits, cafeteria was awesome, they take pride in allowing you to be you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 27, 2017
Everyone is respectful and gets along. The environment is fun and no one is really looking over your shoulders. If in need of assistance someone will most likely be around to help or give you further information.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student research
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 13, 2017
while doing undergraduate research at UDC i was responsible for cell culture of multiple cell lines. i learned a lot about presenting my research to others and many different laboratory techniques
Pros
interesting place to learn
Cons
temporary student research
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Environment
Human Resources Intern (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 22, 2017
The University of the District of Columbia is a nice place to work. Leadership has a forward approach to making the university even better. But, it;s the faculty and staff that really make the university a great place to work and attend.
Pros
Work Flexibility
Cons
Needs University Spirit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and go the college
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 4, 2017
Working with the University of District of Columbia was very interested. I learned while working and it was an enjoyable place to work. Great culture.
Pros
free classes
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good District Government job
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCOctober 31, 2017
a typical day at work was mostly relaxed until the beginning of the semester then it was busy. I learned about teamwork. Management was okay. No problems there. Workplace culture was teamwork. The hardest part of the job was keeping illegal cars out of the garage. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers!
Pros
A job in Washington DC
Cons
Trying to finish school would not be easy when working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning environment
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 6, 2017
Working as a project assistant allowed myself to gain knowledge of the University's center of diet, nutrition, and health program (CDNH) commitment toward the community. I worked first hand with nutritionist, chefs, and paraprofessionals in delivering information to youth whom lived in communities with food deserts and unhealthy food establishments in Washington, DC. The work culture was diverse, relaxed, and fun. There was no hard part of the job when working in this position. The greatest aspect of working for CDNH was meeting students that were excited about eating healthy and being active for their health and well-being.
Pros
Networking
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Men's Basketball Coach (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 28, 2017
Love to be an employee of UDC. Federal government employee is great to be apart of. Location of the university is beautiful, can't ask for anything better then that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Professor
Adjunct Professor - Introduction to Sociology (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 29, 2017
I enjoy being an Adjunct Teacher at UDCCC. My students are inquisitive and pose challenging questions. My colleagues are also supportive and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist Telephone Operator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 2, 2017
A really good vibe from the people who all work there. The hardest part about the job is deciding where to eat for lunch, the most enjoyable part of the job are the people you meet looking to continue they're education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of the District of Columbia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 196 reviews
569
460
349
211
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

University of the District of Columbia Reviews by Location