Up North Plastics Employee Reviews

2.4
Overall rating
Based on 13 reviews
Ratings breakdown
50
42
33
26
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 13 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entry level work enviorment
Employee (Current Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNApril 20, 2018
the work days are 10 to 12 hours depending on position.
I learned that the politics of the company greatly affect the attitude of the general worker population of the company.
the hardest part of the job is dealing with the politics of the company.
the most enjoyable part of the job is making the machinery produce our product and seeing the greater picture of the product out in the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Business
Folder Operator (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNJanuary 8, 2018
Horrid place. No communication, managment is terrible. Hard to understand most of the other workers. Zero training. Lots of favortism. Only pluses were weekly pay and most holidays off. But only if you were in folding due to how their shifts are scheduled. Imoossible to get certain items . Would never recommend working there woyld give zero stars if possible
Cons
Breaks were always cut shory
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Hig (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNOctober 4, 2017
Good as a temp job or if you need a lot of days off due to the shift schedule. Summers are hot. Pay for the entry level positions is decent for what the job is. Little to no room for advancement. Often your pay is not increased if you move to a higher position, which gives people very little incentive to change. Extremely high employee turnover here.

Shift supervisors and the work environment is usually pretty relaxed (depending on your position). Large language barrier with a lot of the employees. The main floor reeks of melting plastic, which I assume cannot be good for you in the long term, especially 10-12 hours at a time.

There also seems to be a ton of combustible dust everywhere. It's really bad. The company refuses to replace broken or old machinery/parts. Often you'll see things rigged together with tape and cardboard. The bathrooms are disgusting.

Overall the company cares more about production and numbers than the employees.
Pros
Job security, lots of days off
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and unfair wages
PACKER (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNAugust 30, 2017
There were no room for growth. Some employees working more than five years were getting only fifteen cents raises. Economy is growing and they are still left behind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comments
Packer, Forklift operator, Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNAugust 8, 2017
by far the worst place i have worked for no work culture no rises even so you got more responsibilities the paid and benefits were really bad i would never came back to this place
Pros
job security
Cons
treated badly
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and weekly pay checks a
Material reprossesor /pakaging/forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNJuly 29, 2017
It's a great place to work, you have the opportunity to work over time up to 60 hours a week. You also get training that you could use in other jobs like.beong girl lift certified.
Pros
Payed brraks 2 30 mins and a 40 min lunch
Cons
Its hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Scheduler/Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNSeptember 10, 2015
A normal day is busy with a lot going on. With multiple workers come to you in need of something. Need to be a good at multitasking, but is very over whelming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last Resort
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNFebruary 10, 2015
You are just another employee making your way through the system. Management is unorganized and nobody wants to take the responsibility for anything. You will be unappreciated if you do your job but will be singled out if you don't work to their standard. The hardest part of this job is the 12 hour shift work at a mundane place of employment with management who do not care about their employees. Instead of changing things they would rather pay new people more and more while the people that have been there the longest leave since they do not get raises. If you have kids don't work here point system for attendance.
Pros
Paid Breaks in Extrusion department.
Cons
Bad compensation and benefits and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was okay work in the beginning
Packager, Folder Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNJuly 8, 2014
i dint mind the work infact i loved the job, just some of the people i worked with were rude and not very friendly, i mainly kept to my self and just did my job and minded my own buisness and went home, the management were really upsetting they were always yelling and swearing at us i was mistreated alot there but i ignored it for 3 years because i really needed the job, i tried very hard to hold on to this job but i felt towards the end i needed to better my life and find better work the hardest part of the job for me was working in the high heat conditions but i found ways to make it bearable
Pros
pay check every week and every other weekend off
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment, horrible compensation
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNJune 4, 2014
Bad management, horrible compensation for the skills needed to perform the job. I'd recommend finding a different company to work for if there's one available.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical factory job
Packaging (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNJanuary 14, 2014
I not one to enjoy a day of repeating the same things over for 12 hours. Filled with people that mostly don't speak English so its tough to communicate.
Pros
Money
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
schedule
reprocessing (Former Employee) –  Cottage Grove, MNMay 12, 2013
a typical schedule is 2 days on 3 days off then 2 days off and 3 days on can becoming very stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Up North Plastics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Up North Plastics Reviews by Location