UPMC Employee Reviews

Found 2,424 reviews matching the search See all 2,452 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
ER Nurse (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PANovember 16, 2018
UPMC is a great place to work, they offer competitive wages, career advancement and tuition reimbursement. It addition, there are ample resources and support from administration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Intern (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 15, 2018
UPMC is one of the largest employers in the state of Pennsylvania. I was a part of their summer intern program. I received a great deal of training and access to many levels of management while there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Warehouse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 14, 2018
Lack of advancement and pay is ok not great. Medical is good and cheap. Co workers where I am are mostly great I dont like my 60 minute drive to work.
Pros
Medical
Cons
Only get 20 to 30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You would be better off working in a nursing home
LPN (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYNovember 14, 2018
If you want to work in an environment that the RN's are allowed to bully you on a daily basis and stay working there here is the place to be. Being told "that your not a real nurse." Charge nurses treating staff poorly in front of coworkers and patients. Also poor patient care. Comments like "they should've tried harder" when an attempted suicide was brought in. I wouldn't recommend this job to my worst enemy.UPMC should be ashamed to have these people representing their hospital.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Patient care, staff care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My day at UPMC
Patient Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bethel Park, PANovember 13, 2018
I open the surgery center at 5:30 am, I receive phone messages and return an calls. I prepare the office for the days surgeries. I remove all faxes from machine and distribute them to the proper areas. I schedule and cancel any and all surgeries for upcoming dates. I make a scheduling block in the computer for surgeons, i do daily payroll and staff schedules. I confirm with office for upcoming surgeries answer phones and route phone calls to proper departments.
Pros
close to home and wonderful hours
Cons
communication between offices and our surgery center
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Occupational Health Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 12, 2018
I love my job because management is great. Work isn't always the best but when you love the people you work with, it changes your attitude towards work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Erie, PANovember 12, 2018
At all cost, do not work here. Upper management will make your life miserable. Even if you need a day off for a doctor’s appointment...they’ll deny it!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Surgical Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 11, 2018
I did not enjoy my time at UPMC
lowest pay in my entire career, but busiest job I have ever had. I don't feel that we were appreciated in what we did. Very "clicky"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager was awesome with an open door policy
Registered Nurse/Case Manager (Former Employee) –  West Mifflin, PANovember 11, 2018
All full time home care is little work life balance. up 5-6 am working, till 4-6pm then charting till 9-11pm.
Learned alot about myself and how the best way is to use resources available.
my direst manager who was middle management was amazing. upper management not so much.
hardest part was keeping up with all the charting.
Other then the verylong days i loved everything about my job.
Pros
good pay
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work - very relaxed and often boring thoug
Associate (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 9, 2018
It was a fun place to get started and have a corporate experience. The work was manageable, but for me I am very motivated and it was often difficult to wake up excited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surgical services
Director of Surgical Services (Former Employee) –  Seneca, PANovember 8, 2018
UPMC acquired our two community hospitals, merging services and eventually building a new facility to consolidate services in a central location. This allowed for implementation of the most current technologies available at the time. Unfortunately, one result of this corporate culture was the elimination of many jobs held by long-term employees of the community facilities. The position of Director of Surgical Services was eliminated and I was terminated during the corporate restructuring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Central Sterile Technician (Former Employee) –  Erie, PANovember 8, 2018
If you like being treated like a child in central sterile processing then this is the job for you. Hope you can hold your bathroom breaks because they follow you if you have been gone five mins from the department NOT WORTH THE MONEY OR THE ABUSE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shouldnt pay to park
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 6, 2018
having to pay almost 80 month to park and still have to walk over 3 blocks to and from garage to office.
Management unable to run office smoothly, unaware of how office operates
Cons
paying to park
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a great, fast growing company.
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 6, 2018
Terrific experience professionally with the Human Resources Department with UPMC. I would recommend working there to any HR professional. You will not be disappointed by the One HR culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has been a great place to work
Professional Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Erie County, PANovember 4, 2018
I have spent my entire nursing career at upmc hamot and haven worked in a few different places, I have learned a lot and have been able to advance in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Phelbotomist (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 4, 2018
good benefits a wonderful place to work, wonderful people to work with people.easy to get to work.love working for upmc because i am mking a difference.love helping people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upmc is a great palce to wrok
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 3, 2018
Great place to learn and grown! highly recommended for anyone lookinf for a large range of skills! tough place to work but definetly work it! the staff is soo Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
ID Badge Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 1, 2018
Nice people, but underpaid and there was a lot of promises that were not kept when first brought in referring to advancement. But like I had said, the employees made it better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't bad
AMISYS Programmer (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 31, 2018
It wasn't great, either.

We had some pretty good managers initially, but they resigned and were replaced by people who had no business being there.

Sorry. It happens.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 30, 2018
enjoyed the atmosphere. clean and enjoyable work place. grew close to the residents and staff. very good place to work at, id recommend it to anyone. nice place
Pros
free lunches periodically
Cons
nothing really
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UPMC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,453 reviews
5745
4818
3567
2180
1143

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

2.5Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss