Urban League of Essex County Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place
Staff (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJOctober 14, 2018
Ulec is a horrible place. The culture is punitive and perfectionist and there is a great deal of workplace bullying from the top. The board is uninvolved. There is no HR.
Pros
Free parking, nice coworkers, great mission
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to make a difference in the lives of people trying to improve themselves, this is the place.
Management Team Member (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 1, 2018
The League's mission is to assist disadvantaged residents in becoming economically self reliant. Understand that the clients have many needs, so it's a challenging environment. If you have mix of compassion tempered by street smarts, you will get a lot of fulfillment at this organization.
Pros
CEO is strategic and passionate about the mission.
Cons
Program management staff needs development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great orgnization and doing great work for the community
Program Director (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJune 2, 2018
Great Place to work! Friendly team atmosphere. they will help you buy a house and get your finances in order. I have been given more responsibility. if you like wearing multiple hats and doing multiple jobs, this is the right place for you.
Pros
Opportunity to make a difference
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but old fashioned
Communications Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 29, 2018
I got to meet a ton of great people and learn all about the city of Newark. Fulfilling work, but tough and long hours. I would work for the Urban League again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great paced job
Americorps Member (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 6, 2018
I loved the job and the team that I worked with. There were a lot of opportunities that are available. Being able to work and grow with the community really helped.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
CPRS/CADC Intern Trainee (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJDecember 31, 2017
Great place to learn how to get back in the swing of things. This is a training program for seniors. It has a lot of service for the seniors who want to work again.
Pros
Meals
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non profit workplace
Community Development and Job Developer (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJDecember 20, 2017
Non profit workplace with great intentions for the community but a Board of Directors that was weigh down with local and board room politics . The CEO had a great team and Vision , however was terminated before many of the well intended community and training programs could truly be started or implemented.
Pros
Goals and objective to empower the comuity
Cons
Challenged with local and board room politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up-word mobility
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 14, 2017
Change, Need more responsibility, not enough work. Broaden my skills. No room for growth, I enjoy being busy. I am looking for job security and advancement.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving workfing with kids
Teachers Aid (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJMay 29, 2017
Working with a group of kids is always fun no matter what. Helping them learn and watching them develop in the learning area. Making there minds smarting than what they are
Pros
Enjoying the kids
Cons
No healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 28, 2016
I looked forward to being there everyday, meeting new challenges and helping Participants achieve their goals.
* Prepared Participants to become financially responsible; job ready;
poised/refined, etc
Pros
Access to free stuff
Cons
No healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized place
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJMay 13, 2016
The hardest part is making sure that management understood your desire to obtain a college degree.This is a training site, not a job, not very helpful, the atmosphere there not the type I want to work under.
Pros
able to attend classes, while in training
Cons
management not vested in what was in my best interest
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Lead Business Developer (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJMay 5, 2016
The Urban League is a great place to work. It provides anyone interested in non profit work a hands on experience in day to day social services/direct support services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, continously growing and improving, helping the economy
Support Administrative and Case Manage (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 4, 2016
Very relaxed, business, always productive, variety of different task, training, weekly meeting,interacting with participants from different background.

One must deal with many difference personalities and every day there is a new challenge.

I respect my upper constituent and hold them with high regards.

My co-workers are just that. We respect one another and get the job done individually or as a team.

I really don't find any part of my job hard, some task takes a little longer and more detailed.

The most enjoyable part of the job is having a job.
Pros
Free training, flexiability, bonus
Cons
temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People with great hearts empowering the people in the community
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  508 Central Ave Newark, NJJune 30, 2015
I have seen nothing but hardworking people with great hearts, who truly want to make big impact in underserved communities.
I am happy to be part of this organization, and learning a lot about what it takes to run neighborhood development organizations like this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJDecember 13, 2014
I learned a lot here
working with the community
doing services for low income families
this organization gives a lot of free services
to the community
Pros
nothing like the feeling of giving back
Cons
internship / no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Retention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJNovember 25, 2014
Unfortunately there is a high turnover rate, with little to no job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace and fun
Elementary School Tutor/Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 25, 2014
I have learned how to relate to the parents. Watching the children grow up was the most rewarding task.
Pros
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eyeopener to Life Events
Re-Entry Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 24, 2014
Daily rotation of 30 clients a day
Consistently answering phones and checking voicemails
attendance of meetings and workshops for clients attending the back to work programs and re-entry program
job placement for each client to succeed as well as providing other resources.
Maintaining a healthy environment where clients are comfortable and being genuine throughout the process of succeeding.

The best part of this employment was finding those who have re-entered back into society regain structure of their life and who they are.
Pros
Helping People ; Making a difference
Cons
None :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-Profit
System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJDecember 2, 2013
work your tail off for very little money
meet a lot if people thru the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Learning Experience
Youth Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJOctober 26, 2012
ULEC was a place where I was able to grow as a person and an employee.
Pros
staff
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Urban League of Essex County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 25 reviews
512
45
35
22
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture

Urban League of Essex County Reviews by Location