USAA Employee Reviews

Found 1,951 reviews matching the search See all 1,966 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Specialized Investment Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJuly 13, 2018
Really great place to work. I felt like I was family. I have to keep writing so I get to the required amount of characters. I have to get to 150 characters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be
Sr. Relationship Specialist. (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 13, 2018
USAA used to be all about the mission, but now it is just like any other company out there. USAA is now run by children. the managers pretend to care about their associates, but they are really only interested in getting to the next thing. Benefits aren't that great and pay is rapidly falling behind against other companies. Every year USAA has a survey that it is supposed to be anonymous, but it isn't the fine print says the information can be available to some people so you are obligated to answer that is all peachy. Everyone carries a knife and it is ready to put it in your back. USAA is like society only the 1% have great jobs, the rest no so much.
Pros
Some benefits
Cons
Micromanagement, No advance, who you know culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for military veterans
Staff Appraiser (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 13, 2018
Allowed interaction with current and former military personnel who served the country, company strives to be a premier customer service provider for all customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of incentives but they come with strings
Claims Adjuster III (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 12, 2018
you get told of all the great things the company offers and they do offer them but it comes with strings because they offer very little flexibility regarding work life balance, some of their procedures are outdated and need to be revisited for employee benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits..Changing culture
Manager Member Solutions - Bank (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 12, 2018
Great company, but the culture is shifting to be more sales focusd and numbers driven. Most jobs are phone jobs. Great bonuses. Career path needs to be more defined for entry level employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 12, 2018
Housekeeping was an experience. Had good, management and very nice people. USAA has very good equipment for cleaning. USAA had reliable staff. The most enjoyable day of my job was to clean and do more hours and spend time with the crew but, working hard it was a good working experience!
Pros
good staff
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
VA Mortgage Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 11, 2018
It has it's benefits the annual bonus was a plus and was nice to get every year. but they always looked to count that as salary when negoitating salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated to the military community
Member Solution Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 11, 2018
Being a veteran I like how the company was all about the military community and their families. We insured their financial stability and assisted them through deployments and pcs moves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director, University Relations (UR) (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 11, 2018
Amazing "people first" focus across the company. Both co-workers and leaders alike were centrally focused on the mission and th company's membership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Membership Specialist (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 10, 2018
I worked the phones as a insurance specialist and as call centers go, USAA is the cream of the crop. Still very stressful taking back to back calls for hours on end. Advancement was focused around who could brown nose the best or out perform their peers.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Time tracking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy repetitive job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Greeley, COJuly 10, 2018
Typical work day includes starting up your computer and sitting on the phone until your shift ends.
I've learned great customer service and deescalation skills.
Management plays favoritism. If you make yourself noticed you'll get more attention with floor walking or other projects. Doesn't include pay raise.
The hardest part of the job is the repetitive and verbal abuse you receive from members.
The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know members who like to strike up a positive conversation while you're assisting them with their needs.
Pros
Two 15 minute breaks, 45 minute lunch
Cons
sitting for long periods of time. No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
Manager/ Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 9, 2018
Great company to work for. Military owned and managed from the top. Benefits are great and their Home Office is super. We had 2 cafeteria and Gym, Sauna and Trainers.
Pros
benefits
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAA is a wonderful place to work
Mortgage loan closer (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 9, 2018
USAA employees live and breathe the mission. We take pride in giving the best customer service to all of our members. USAA encourages your personal growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and laid back
Verifications Technician (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 9, 2018
great workout rooms. nice enviroment. new age kitchen. esalators and a starbukcks. big with easy directions to each building. i would love to work at usaa again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware, Its a glorified sales job
Member Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 9, 2018
They will pretend that the job is not about sales but it is all about sales. The only way to advance is to brown nose to everyone and pretend this is the best job in the world. Everyone smiles and pretends to be happy but whispers that they will be quitting soon because of stress. Extreme micro management and managers constantly coaching you with negativity. High turnover. Everyone is quitting this company so don't drink the koolaide. You will be miserable soon enough. Run before you end up on anxiety medications with this company. The stress levels are like nothing I've ever seen.
Pros
Once a year bonus
Cons
No work life balance. Over worked and management does not care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with emphasis on service
Auto Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 9, 2018
Solid company with strong emphasis on service culture. Your experience with USAA will largely depend on the individuals you work with because it is such a large company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company working to update the technology
Life Claims Advisor Rep. II (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 8, 2018
Good company to work for. In some cases is very fast paced. Not all managers are equal, some do not have the same qualifications as others who are more competent and are that are ready to lead. Very noisy environment during lunch. Great benefits.
Pros
great bonuses, good training
Cons
needs to upgrade technology, some areas still in stone age
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Propert Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 8, 2018
A typical work day at USAA is balancing your workflow between incoming phone calls, emails, messages from USAA's communication center and faxes.
I continue to learn humility everyday when I speak to member's that are going through catastrophes. What makes it easy to exercise humility is the culture of USAA . Our customers come first, but management does create an environment where employee life events are handled with care.
The hardest part of my job is keeping up with the pace during hurricane season.
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with my co-workers to accomplish making customers and their families whole again.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usaa
(USAA) - Financial Foundations Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 7, 2018
USAA is a great company to work for. They have great benefits and try to accommodate all employees. Contractors are not treated very fairly; can attend any USAA functions, not given the same recognition as regular employees.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Hours are not very flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work. Life.... Experience
Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 6, 2018
Over 10 years within the industry and working many different areas of claims - it becomes more than a job. The people you start a claim with until it is complete rely on you heavily. Time is of the essence. There were experiences I did not see coming , especially processing medical claims and medical fraud that showed a different kind of light to the insurance industry which served as motivation for me everyday to do my best to protect the insured's , the company -- it was not something I expected. It is much more than processing claims. It is experiencing helping others literally get by day to day when their lives are flipped upside down and realizing how much they depend on you to get the job done. It is not a job for everyone but it is a job if you do it well the reward pushes a person to do more, learn more and seek out opportunities they may have never considered for themselves when they started their professional career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at USAA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,967 reviews
5887
4561
3315
2125
179

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Diversity score

70out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at USAA.

Powered by Comparably