USDA NRCS Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ultima Services/LUSA Horrible Company
General Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Lakefield, MNOctober 9, 2018
DO NOT WORK FOR LUSA Services/Ultima Services. Horrid company and people to work for. No benefits. No time off allowed. I was fired for having the flu. I missed one day of work due to illness.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a really good, slow pace to work
Biological Science Aid (Former Employee) –  Kimberly, IDJuly 2, 2018
The United States Department of Agriculture was a really good place to work, slow paced. The people there were just really good and nice to me. The work is pretty dang good.
Pros
good work
Cons
not much for cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Enironment with a great group of team players
General Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVJuly 2, 2018
I have learned a lot since working here. Strong close knit work environment. Everyone in all departments are willing to help you learn and grow. Would definitely love to stay if a position became open. Contract is over, I am now down to two days a week.
Pros
Great work environment. Fantastic work/home balance. Great benefits
Cons
No open positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a decent job and has many benefits and family friendly.
Soil Conservation Technician (Former Employee) –  Ulysses, KSFebruary 21, 2018
Overall a good paying job, but too much of the good ole boy system was and is still going on. If you rocked the boat and went against policy you were headed for a Sure dismissal.
Pros
Accumulated annual leave and sick leave, family friendly.
Cons
Only 30 minutes for lunch, and if you were the boss it could be stretched for you but not anyone else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tons of job security, not the sharpest managers
Conservationist (Current Employee) –  USANovember 5, 2017
If you're looking for job security and want more home balance, this place works. Not much innovation, no incentive to change, management job pay way more than civilian jobs with much less work and need to be proactive.
Pros
pay
Cons
so so managers, not a merit based promotion culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about myself at this job.
Program Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, LAOctober 7, 2017
This is a great job if you prefer to work alone. My supervisor was supportive of my health issues and providing reason accommodation such as a Vari-desk and lighting. However, one person can spoil the entire experience, and that is what has happened. I really am ready to move on, although I would love to stay with my agency. This has been a good place to work with excellent benefits and earning time off. I hope to stay with it but just in a different place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inapproiate Harassment is Common!!!!
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Jackson, ALJuly 11, 2017
They treat the women that work in the office as second class citizens. Constant harassment is common and management does little to stop it. Lawsuits seems to be the only way to be safe.
Pros
Money
Cons
Harassment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Program Support Specialist Contractor (Current Employee) –  Appleton, WIJune 6, 2017
you work independently a lot of the time. Co-Workers are very nice and it is a family feel around the office. Work conditions are very good. Co-workers and supervisors are great.
Pros
family feel
Cons
this is a contracted position for the government
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexiable work schedule with excellent benefits
Conservation Technician (Current Employee) –  Emmetsburg, IAApril 27, 2017
Have to be customer/ producer friendly
Management is "politically correct"
Co-workers are excellent and knowledgeable
Field work is fun and different everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My short experience working in NRCS was so good. Very friendly supervisors and co-workers, very helpful and encouraging.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Ruston, LAApril 23, 2013
I learnt little bit about state laws, field work, and had awesome experience of working local farmers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Soil Conservation Internship (Current Employee) –  Lexington KentuckyJuly 8, 2012
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with farmers to provide sustainable assistance to attack environmental issues.
Pros
great benefits package, and great work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at USDA NRCS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12 reviews
54
45
31
21
11

See reviews about

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture