USG Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest but its a good job.
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Delavan, WIJanuary 2, 2019
Not like it was many years ago. Had great benefits and no slow periods. I have worked here 24 years and it slow down so i have to have a part time job for supplement income for there no over time at USG at this time. I am very grateful for my job but need more money.
Pros
Job training is good no lay offs people are good to work with.
Cons
Benefits and no overtime at this time slow. Not paid well for as many years in service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was fine, hated callouts, people were great
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Mediapolis, IANovember 21, 2018
Great place to work if you don't mind taking care of mindless PM"S. Also you need to learn how to do things that they did in 1974. No advancement. It would not be a bad place to work if there was less micro management.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Contractor
Technician / Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Libertyville, ILOctober 17, 2018
I have worked as a Contractor for USG for almost 2 years now. I was encouraged to work hard and to learn new things with the promise that the company would hire me if I did so. I was misled. This isn't terribly uncommon for employers, and I did find the community to be mostly friendly and encouraging. Is at least an interesting job.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
No benefits, no vacation, unpaid sick leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hardest part of job
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Southard, OKOctober 12, 2018
The work isn't bad but the politics is terrible . The machines are not maintained well .it seems there is always some issue . the hardest part of job is putting up with the issues there
Pros
good benifits nd pay
Cons
stressful no respect for experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  MississippiSeptember 19, 2018
USG pride themselves on safety as a company and for the long term of their employees. Here I learned the importance of following rules and how quickly a person can get hurt. Because of their strict rules on safety and how they enforce those rules; more employees go home safely and are able to work long term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Collections Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 9, 2018
USG is a great place to work. Enjoyed working there. Was challenged and learned a lot about the business and construction industry. Best part was the free fruit in the morning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subject to lay-offs
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 23, 2018
Overall, most management was fantastic. Job security, not so much.

Work load and work/life balance was very good. Work culture was overall inclusive.

The team I worked with were amazing.

In-house cafeteria.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated Work Culture
Digital Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2018
There is an outdated work culture, and it's easy to see. Most individuals are confined to their silo and there isn't much room for growth out of it. I believe corporate needs to overhaul both the work environment and culture in regards to the rising generations. They're a little stuck in the past, and it's time to look at the future of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, ALJuly 9, 2018
Usg doesnt care about the employees personal life. Constantly working over scheduled shifts. Most people want straight shifts and they wont allow it..
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
No family life. Rotating shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Warehouse Supervisor/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 11, 2018
I started through a temp agency and the company was ceilings plus. Within 3 months i worked my way to a full time position as a lead. After 6 months i was promoted to supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about USG Corporation?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe
Operator 5 (Current Employee) –  Auburn, WAMay 8, 2018
Great atmosphere, quarterly bonuses, quarterly lunches. very good at keeping private affairs private. Plenty of room for advancements and Safety is their biggest concern.
Pros
paid holidays
Cons
under staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and company.
Director, Integrated Marketing (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 27, 2018
Great culture and company. Products are leaders within the building materials industry. Company offers 401K plus retirement plan. Opportunities to promote from within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 26, 2018
USG is by far the best company I have ever worked for. Work life balance is on point. Benefits were more than complimentary. Management took the time to listen and worked with you one on one to help you advance in your career with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't treat contractors with a lot of respect
BSA/Product Owner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 7, 2018
nice company. good work/life balance. only thing is that they exclude contractors from all fun activities and events.
not included take your child to work day; any holiday events
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production worker (Former Employee) –  N Kansas City, MOOctober 25, 2017
Great place to work, face paced, very hot in spring and summer month, work a lot of hours doing a 12 hr shift, coworkers are a good group and management is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for a woman
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 4, 2017
Great benefits but very poor management and job security. Extremely stressful and discriminatory. The only woman working there. Put down constantly, talked down to, cursed at and management always made it seem as though it was my fault.

They don't really want women there but they can't discriminate by not hiring one if you're qualified but they will show you how much they don't want you there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company.Cares for Employees
Quality Assurance Lead Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 7, 2017
The company really takes good care of its employees. Felt needed and cared for by the company.The downside was that there was no scope for career advancement.
Pros
Company that cares for its empoyees
Cons
no career advancement options in teh group
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable company, interesting work, good place to establish a career
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 17, 2017
Stable company with solid product line. Good compensation and benefits package. Many people stay for entire career. Opportunities for advancement limited.
Pros
stable company, good compensation and benefits.
Cons
limited opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company as a whole, cut throat department
IT (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 3, 2017
They have plenty of technical debt. There are several employees that have been there for 20+ years. That's is great, however they are inept to using newer technologies or taking risk. There are plenty of politics to go around. If you can't get in with a "click" your time is limited. Overall the company is a great place to work, perhaps not in IT.
Pros
Pretty good work life balance, close to train, great people to work with for the most part.
Cons
Technical debt, cut throat environment especially if you can't get in with the "in crowd."
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Washingtonville, PAJuly 31, 2017
I loved working at USG. the only thing i didnt like was there attendance points system. I was let go for my attendence due to having a two court hearings that they knew about that was scheduled before i started there.
Pros
paid lunches, fishing trips, great pay, great people
Cons
attendance points system
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at USG Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 42 reviews
515
413
37
24
13

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture