USHA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Contracted Writing Agent (Current Employee) –  Greeley, COApril 1, 2016
It is a great place to work for and you can set your own schedule as well as salary since you work solely on commission. Being able set set your own schedule is great. The people I worked with are always helpful. You have to be able to put in the work to get the appointments to share the product.
Pros
Commission work
Cons
Commission work
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 39Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leads are not free
Field Training Agent (Current Employee) –  Winter Springs, FLDecember 7, 2015
They get you started by telling you that the company provides leads every 12k you write in business until you get charge backs you can never get to 12k again. Lead acquisitions costs are about $150 per sale. It is not sustainable business model.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
lead cost
Was this review helpful?Yes 143No 36Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Sales Agent
Licensed Agent (Current Employee) –  ElginOctober 18, 2015
Make phone calls to reach out to lead prospect that may need
health coverage.

If interested do a either face to face presentation or a virtual.

The sales must be entered into the system, and underwriting
will review the police and talk to the client.

Downside of this job is paid on commissions only
Pros
The commission pay is very good
Cons
Commission Pay Only
Was this review helpful?Yes 90No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, great people.
Independent Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 3, 2015
Flexible hours with good training. Must be able to be a field under writer to be successful and get paid in a timely manor. My co-workers are all good sources of information and very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours, definitely a plus.
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJune 13, 2015
Great place to work in and a lot of potential to make big money. You truly earn what you put in. Make sure you have a reliable transportation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company among other Insurance Companies
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 20, 2015
A typical day of work starts around 9am. Some times they will give you general leads or specific leads. The job is based on making phones calls everyday, making as many appointments as necessary, do as many product presentations and sell.

Co-workers are usually nice. I really enjoy spending time with my team .

The hardest part is to make a sell and driving all around Houston just to find out your clients has forgotten the appointment. It is a 100% commission, no benefits or base salary.

The manager is really nice and professional.

Office is clean and well kept.
Pros
Nice team, nice boss, bonus or incentives
Cons
no base salary, no benefits, time and money consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 127No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLApril 16, 2015
This Company is a great company to work for. The employees all bond together and accomplish things that can not be accomplished alone. The become like second family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay place to work at.
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXMarch 13, 2015
It was okay place to work you rarely went to the office you would work from home and it wasn't very structure. You pretty much were on your own doing the work.
Pros
coworkers were nice to work with.
Cons
bosses werent really there for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
licensed insurance agent
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Hurst, TXMarch 5, 2015
I was in charge of creating on my own work schedule, I had to cold call leads. I also set appointments, and had to sell the product. The hardest part of my day to day was finding turn leads into an appointment. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping families find a more affordable option for health insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!
Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 5, 2015
Very family friendly company. Takes a ahile to build up a customer base so you may need to have a reserve before starting. It is a commission position. Mangers are willing to provide any support that may be needed to get started then it is up to you to build your client base. Compensation is outstanding for successful sales agents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 21Report

Want to know more about USHA?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aweful products
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 27, 2015
very difficult to sell products due to them being non-compiant with ACA. extremely difficult underwriting and you pay for your own resources no assistance from company
Was this review helpful?Yes 61No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
General Lines Agent (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 23, 2014
Great company, great policies. No required hours. You need to be a licensed agent. I learned more about health insurance. Company does underwriting and it is diificult to find people who do not have pre-existing conditions.
Pros
great health insurance policies
Cons
Company does underwriting and it is difficult to find people without pre-existing conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aggressive and forward-looking
Field Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 1, 2014
The USHA agressive leadership platform, and the 1099 structure, are very attractive; gotta pull yourself up by your bootstraps. USHA is one of the truly "never-yeard-of-you-guys" companies, thereby forcing the potential client to first fully-trust me, THEN what I have to offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Licensed Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TexasMarch 19, 2014
As long as I have worked at US Health Advisors I have learned a lot more about time management and how to be your own boss. You will only get what you put into the job because you are working from your home and have to rely on developing your own business to generate leads. The best part about working for this company is that I get to be at home a lot besides when I travel to meet with clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable, nice people
Field Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 11, 2014
I enjoyed working here the people are awesome and your schedule is flexable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management and fun to work with.
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 24, 2013
Good management and fun to work with. Great training, classes and field. The company offers a very innovating insurance product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Timing and borderline harrassment is the key
Insurance Benefit Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth TexasDecember 10, 2013
My daily duties were to call as many potential clients as possible to offer them one of the several insurance plans I was selling. I was not happy with the lack of training and support I received from my superiors. I did have the option to work at home or go to the office. The toughest part of this job for me was getting a positive response from the phone calls and setting appointments, most of the calls ended up on the answering machine. No appointments equals no commissions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 60No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative approach to health insurance
Divisional Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 23, 2013
This company has a visionary approach to the health insurance industry in a time that is so very uncertain in this industry.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Straight Commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 36Report

See more USHA reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at USHA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5