UT Health Science Center at Houston Employee Reviews

Found 334 reviews matching the search See all 335 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Senior Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 14, 2019
Very insecure research funding and high lack of integrity of funding for projects. Often projects were mishandled by administration to usurp funding purposes. Thre research lab personnel had lowest priority in benefits from the institution.
Pros
None
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work-life balance
Research Coordinator II (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 29, 2019
There is a pretty good work-life balance but that is determined almost exclusively by the supervisor. I am fortunate to have a very understanding boss.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work environment
Histology Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 6, 2019
The work environment is great, but there is a major trade off in return. Do not expect that the pay will be competitive with the current market. The benefits are great though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but extreamly demanding.
Server Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2019
Great place to work but unforgiving. Demanding and exacting. Management shows favoritism. No training provided. Learn as you go and expected to be expert on everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 28, 2018
able to learn new things and file paperwork and answer calls. hardest thing was staying awake sometimes it was slow. workplace was quiet and smooth..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really like it for the most part...
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 6, 2018
I really like it for the most part...depending on what department you work for there is always room for advancement within the company. I've been promoted every year for the hard work that I do.
Pros
The benefits
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People make the difference
Senor Management (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXDecember 3, 2018
The people who do the toughest jobs there are the best. They work hard day in and day out. They care about their jobs and the patients. They are the face of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 30, 2018
Good place to work. Always advancement for growth. It all depends n what department you work for but for the most part you cat beat the incredible benefits UT has to offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 29, 2018
I have proudly been employed with UT Health Science Center-School of Public Health for over 12 years. Working with a diverse group of co-workers is a joy.

My family and I recently relocated to the Fort Worth area. I am searching for employment closer to my new home.
Pros
Great medical Benefits, multicultural, compensation, retirement benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open to new ideas
Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2018
Group is always looking for new ideas and willing to try new things to improve patient care. Friendly, supportive culture that strives to improve quality of care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, supportive people
Director (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2018
One theme that persists in my seven years is that everyone is very nice and supportive. Genuine people. Hard working, helpful, and driven. Diverse staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Counselor
Financial Counselor (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXNovember 14, 2018
Fast paced work environment, professional staff and comforting care for patients.
Institution of higher learning dedicated to making cancer history and changing lives
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Worker Lay Health Promoter/Outreach (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 14, 2018
Great Company to work for!!!!UT is an awesome company to work for. Upward mobility, great work environment and perks! Overall this is the best company I have ever worked for!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Random and Laid back but no advancement
Electrical Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 1, 2018
have to wait in line for someone to leave or retire to move up, pay is below average, take advantage of the fact they pay for job training. Cool atmosphere
Pros
Free food, nice people
Cons
Waiting for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Childcare Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 29, 2018
Its a great place to work. Its a typical job 8-5 job. It is a great workplace environment and the people are wonderful who work here. You have a chance to move up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people that work therr are rude
Transporter (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 29, 2018
I work there for a couple months enjoyed my job just the people there are rude wish I work better people . patient were sweet heart and enjoy the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented
WIC BREASTFEEDING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 12, 2018
The days off and work-life balance at UTHSCH are very desirable and hard to find in any company. Unfortunately, I had to leave my job due to unrelated circumstances.
Pros
Generous holidays off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible with school schedule
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Denton, TXOctober 3, 2018
Working at this job was one of the best things that could have happened for me in my undergrad. You had to be a student to work in the lab as a clerk phlebotomist which was wonderful because there was more of an expectation to do well in school and really use the job as an opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Environment
Talent Acquisition (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 1, 2018
Friendly coworkers. Attentive management. Visionary leadership. Can easily exceed in this environment if focused, driven and flexible. Look forward to being a part of this organization's capability-growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Raises
Patient Acct Rep & Biller (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXSeptember 22, 2018
A typical day at work would consist of calling Medicare to check on denials. I would also bill claims for processing.

The management did not communicate about changes until after you were supposed to start doing the changes.

Co-workers were great people
Pros
benefits and pto
Cons
no raises, no bonuses, no communication from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UT Health Science Center at Houston. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 335 reviews
5135
4110
357
214
119

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight