UT Southwestern Medical Center Employee Reviews

Found 674 reviews matching the search See all 675 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
UT Southwestern Medical Center selected this as a representative review
great place to work
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 22, 2018
great place to work and grow!!! here at they promote growth and provide a positive working environment for all of the employees. I have really enjoyed my time at UT and is looking for more great years there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Department
Laboratory Director (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 15, 2019
Culture and environment is great but does not provide enough money for a growing family. This workplace is probably good for seasoned individuals who don't have many bills or dependents at home.
Pros
located near public transportation
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Clinic Staff Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 10, 2019
Working at UTSW for the past 6 years has been completely eventful. This is the first place that I can absolutely say that I love and look forward to coming to work everyday.
Pros
ability to assist physicians and patients
Cons
when unable to satisfy a patient
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 27, 2018
great environment, great pay great benefits easy access commute to work, a lot of employee appreciation days to celebrate, competitive salary great diversity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Sanitation Attendant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 22, 2018
Employees do not get along with management or believe that management is not doing its job do not want to stay with an employer. A manager that does not perform his or her job duties properly leaves the rest of the workforce not caring about the future of the company. It makes them not want to come to work each day and seek out other employment opportunities.When your staff fears management that just seems to be on a power trip, they don’t want to remain employed with your company.
Pros
lunch vouchers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well worth coming to work here
Technologist II (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 22, 2018
A place that will really use your well-earned education, taleyand skill. You will need to be flexible and cheerful. If you are, you will be successful here.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Huge organization bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good professional place to work but expanded the role too far.
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 22, 2018
The expansion of my role was too far that I felt it jeopardized my safety and that of clients, therefore resigned the position. I resigned position for I was not able to reach my personal goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The trainig was fun and educational
Peer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 16, 2018
I was trained to be a Peer to Peer HIV Navigator. I learned about shared experience, effective listening skills and how the virus works in the body. The training also included role playing which was so much fun.
Pros
The lunched were free everyday of the training.
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UT Southwestn is a great place to work
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 13, 2018
UT Southwestern is a nice place to work, you can learn a lot, and people are like family. The university is constantly growing and always making changes which is not a problem for me.
Pros
Attend a lot of training/events which offers free lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Rn (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 13, 2018
Place to work. Plus on work life balance. Job growth opportunities, meaning you have professional development opportunities. Generous benefits package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inadequate and inappropriate training
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 12, 2018
Pretty much the only thing keeping me from giving a 4 or 5 star rating is the unwillingness of some departments to provide adequate training specific to the type of work they do. The organization has many training opportunities but at the department level the necessary training is pretty much self directed.
Pros
Central location, pension, generous vacation, sick, and holiday hours.
Cons
Lack of training at the department level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Medical Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 9, 2018
I enjoyed working at UTSW good training for employees, excellent Medical benefits paid by Employer, PTO accumulate monthly according to years of service. Standard paid Holidays, and Employee discounts. Overall I would recommend this company.
Pros
Company paid Medical Insurance
Cons
Lag time for employees was ridiculous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GI /Endoscopy Services
Advanced Endoscopic Tech (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 5, 2018
Manager and charge nurse .. unprofessional rude to employees .. plays favoritism with staff .. Manager doesn’t care about her staff or family values . Doesn’t help or support her dept .. charge nurse is fake and talks about staff members to others staff members which causes tension. If u have no family and can work all the time this is the dept to be in .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 5, 2018
Great place to work , really busy , but great place to work. You can move up in company real fast. Work area always clean , neat and smelling fresh.. Coworkers are kind and honest and will work with you as a team.
Pros
Great place to work team players
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Accountable Care Organization, Case Management (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 4, 2018
It is difficult to advance without the proper degree and experience. Clinical ladder is strongly encouraged. Get involved in committees and be ready to be innovative. There are plenty opportunities to volunteer and learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 3, 2018
Ok depending on your Department. and what you where able to do. very diversified when moving from department to department. able to accomplish many different goals
Pros
able to mave around if got bored.
Cons
management changes alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utsw
QAC (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 28, 2018
Grateful to have worked at UTSW. Gained plenty of knowledge in the healthcare revenue cycle and was able to move up. UTSW provides opportunities but you have to have the right skillset to move.
Pros
Salary, benefits, and PTO
Cons
direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefit
Research Technician II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 19, 2018
great benefit, low pay. large campus with over 10,000 employees, the only cons is the some employee I have no idea why they got hired, they do not have basic understanding of how to do their job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 7, 2018
I'm a seasoned floor technician of over 20 years and I was railroaded out of my job by an inexperienced unprofessional Supervisor. My Supervisor fabricated statements as a reason for my termination, once I presented documentation proving it was all lies, the HR rep for the department then phoned me to make up a different reason I may have been terminated. Wow how crooked, why was this not listed on my termination form, because there wasn't a reason it was all personal. The Housekeeping department is treated horrible here and that entire department needs to be revamped.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Horrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a secure job.
Patient Intake Coordinator II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 6, 2018
It was a secure job and I appreciate the position while I had it. However, there was little to no room for advancement. Primarily I left because of the location.
Pros
amazing team work
Cons
patient sickness
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay and more bad apples regarding management then good apples
Dallas Mayor's Internship (Former Employee) –  EVS DEPARTMENTNovember 2, 2018
I worked in the EVS Department and many are unprofessional and you tend to have to work harder for those who don’t. In this job often you have to pick up slack from managers and employees, and your left to figure things out your self for the most part.
Pros
Job itself not hard when you aren’t picking up slack
Cons
Overbearing because of the work load on good workers. Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 676 reviews
5266
4202
3130
248
130

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

UT Southwestern Medical Center Reviews by Location