UTEC Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 36 reviews
Ratings breakdown
513
410
39
21
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 24 reviews matching the search See all 36 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
IT Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJune 4, 2018
I wish I didn't have to leave the company. They have a very modern approach to the business world, and I see the company doing very well in the future. The drive was too far for me, and I will definitely miss working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Retreat Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAApril 4, 2018
Helping others was my greatest reward. Pay was very low and hard to live on. I worked with troubled youth and helped them get back on their feet, back into the community. Helped teens find jobs, go back to school, and learn to live on their own.
Pros
Rewarding work, great atmosphere, and great culture
Cons
Low pay with no benifis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAJanuary 18, 2018
utec is a place where teensand young adults can go to stay out of trouble get education and work they help you with anything you could possibly need to better your life everybody who works there is treated equily even the sup[ervisors and TCs everybodys opinions matter and noone is left behind your treated like family they pay you to stay out of trouble and they motivate you to work hard to move up from TB to the work force
Pros
so much benifits
Cons
you move up by your attendance and motivation and hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good for awhile
Insertion operator (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INDecember 19, 2017
I spend 21 years at this company and they moved to Mexico. Just to pay the Mexicans a lower wage with less quality. It use to be a great place to work,
Pros
so so pay
Cons
company didnt care about the workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union job
Solder Wave / Pema Tech machine operator (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INDecember 14, 2017
Was a great place to work. Co workers were mostly easy to get along with, hourly and salaried. Plenty of overtime. Decent benefits. Had hoped to retire from there.
Pros
Very clean
Cons
Hourly jobs and most other posistions moved to Mexico
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hourly workers were great management was lost
Solder wave operator (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INDecember 5, 2017
Fellow workers were like family but upper management had no clue what they were doing .Like having a supervisor that was out to get you because of her personal predigest. I was A good worker and worked well with other hourly and salary workers. I was not the only one she did not like.
Pros
good health care and pay
Cons
my supervisor had her favorites and I was not one of them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  IndianaNovember 15, 2017
This job was a fast paced job. And would have been a great place to work but shortly after being hired found out they were moving the factory to Mexico.
Pros
Lots of overtime and learned multiple jobs
Cons
Closing the doors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INSeptember 12, 2017
UTEC is moving to Mexico anyhow so really no review is needed. Made people work 12 or more hours for months at a time. The overtime was ridiculous and the pay was decent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntington IndianaSeptember 4, 2017
This factory has sent it's jobs to foreign countries just for profit purposes. I am very disappointed that this has to happen.Save American jobs for americans
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work until they decided to move to Mexico
Material Specialist (Current Employee) –  Huntington, INAugust 30, 2017
They are closing the doors and moving to Mexico!! They are a greedy company and provide very little information to their employees who are losing their jobs.
Pros
Good pay, perfect attendance awards every 90 days
Cons
Short breaks moving to Mexico
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Level-Gauge Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAAugust 1, 2017
Hard work ...good pay ....Good people to work with...Always something to do..........Fast pace environment......Never a dull moment.......I like doing what I was doing.
Pros
Study work
Cons
Not enough good workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff, diverse city
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAJuly 10, 2017
If you are into having learning about a different culture, trying new food, and making long lasting friends, UTEC is great place to be. Not everyone may have an impact on you but I promise you will find at least one and love the work you do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are moving to Mexico.
Manufacturing Associate (Current Employee) –  Huntington, INJune 1, 2017
It would not be so bad if the place wasn't leaving the country. The management only cares about themselves they don't care about anyone else. It's all because they are leaving the country.
Pros
None
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Team leader for 13 years (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INMay 24, 2017
Was a great place to work with great jobs and benefits . The one star in job security is because the jobs that are there are being outsourced to Mexico.
Pros
great benefits, 401k
Cons
short breaks, outsourcing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Insertion Operator (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INMay 19, 2017
The company lacked communication with employees. Most companies offer 3 breaks in 8 hours. Utec offered 2. One 10 minute and one 20 minute. Always had police officers walking the floors. Healthcare premiums were high and no vision insurance was offered. Pay was below average compared to other Utec companies.
Pros
Occasional dinners
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job with good pay
Team Leader/MA (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INApril 17, 2017
I loved my job there. Good working environment, clean and air conditioned. I would still be working there if they weren't shutting the plant down and moving production to Mexico.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Working too many weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the jobs are great
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Huntington, INApril 17, 2017
The jobs are great there, management needs to learn how to communicate to all shifts, for the most the people are good to work with, bad part is the company feels it isn't making enough money and closing our plant and moving it to Mexico
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall an easy place to work
Surface Mount Operator (Current Employee) –  Huntington, INApril 14, 2017
The company has been good for me, until they announced moving to Mexico and left all of us not knowing where or what we will do next. Benefit's are ok, and Management treated us fairly for the most part.
Pros
easy work
Cons
job is coming to an end
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Controller (Current Employee) –  Lowell, MASeptember 8, 2016
amazing place
the mission is amazing
the people are like none other
it is a hectic and non stop environment
no two days are the same
no set structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a Process Tech at UTEC
Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Huntington, INFebruary 24, 2016
Clean temperature controlled circuit board factory with a bunch of advanced automated equipment to work on. everyday is a challenge and something new to learn.
Pros
Laid back enviroment
Cons
moving the factory to mexico
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport