Valero Employee Reviews

Found 1,063 reviews matching the search See all 1,093 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lufkin, TXSeptember 23, 2018
Productive always had something to do. Good coworkers poor management. Always on your feet up and moving. Stocking juices, sodas, waters, beer, etc. very productive. Wanted to get more hours.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
No breaks, no break room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean, Great Place
Manager (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMSeptember 21, 2018
Oversee and team of 5 people, scheduling, ordering, inventory, daily/weekly/monthly paperwork, vendors, lottery, evaluations, deposits, customer service, and regular employee duties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, TXSeptember 20, 2018
Supervisor had issues. She was constantly contradicting herself. Cannot work for someone who tells you one thing and then denies it the next day. Employees were always tense and never knew how the supervisor was going to act. Hard to keep harmony under those conditions. The customer were great. Daily routines were easy to deal with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager was very sexist
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LASeptember 20, 2018
i was the only female working for a foreigner and i was the only one expected to count my drawer, clean the store and parking lot and do other things the men didn't have to do because they were the same nationality as the owner.
Pros
free food, cash job
Cons
Sexist manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Get your feet in the water
Head of Stock (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, OHSeptember 17, 2018
Valero was my first job when i was in college and the people there were absolutely great. they wanted to help and tech to make sure you understood the way of the working life.
Pros
people
Cons
no lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Environment
Merchandising Intern (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IASeptember 17, 2018
Overall the office culture was very accepting and helpful with any questions. I would recommend Valero to students looking to obtain an internship in the agriculture & energy industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress-free but challenging environment, friendly staff, helpful manager, clean and organized aisles and refrigerator.
FLOOR/STOCKER (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 12, 2018
Stress-free, and positively challenging environment.
Friendly staff.
Helpful management.
Clean/organized aisles and refrigerators.
401K Plan.
Paid-off lunch break.
Pros
You have a lunch break, the staff and manager are friendly, the store is clean and organized, covered by plans.
Cons
Hourly pay, amount of work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 8, 2018
Well I would get there in the morning and have to start cleaning up the soda,coffee,n Slushy stations. Make sure the floors are cleaned ,dishes are done,and the hot food stand is loaded with hot dogs, hot sausage.
Pros
For veterans they get free coffee
Cons
can't even take a break without getting yelled at
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty old store, poor managemmet
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Salem, ARSeptember 6, 2018
the store is old and falling apart, plumbing is bad and leaks, co workers are nice. You dont get paid enough and they dont have enough people working to accommodate the amount of traffic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean Gas station
Register (Former Employee) –  Palmetto, GASeptember 5, 2018
Costumers are great they help when you're new, I learned a lot from opening and closing the store, to working register and machines, I learned prices to specific products.
Pros
Lunch at whatever time as long as there's no costumers
Cons
You work shifts by yourself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an okay place to work
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Veedersburg, INSeptember 5, 2018
Valero was an okay place to work some of the people were great to get along with management could have been a little better the manager would play favorites a lot and treat the others badly though
Pros
some great people
Cons
managemt was poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Work only
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, CA 90744September 4, 2018
I worked with a number of Valero employees through the years in a volunteer capacity and they all seemed very happy with the company.
My mom loves working for the company. She's been an employee for 15 years.
Pros
Free meals during volunteer events, while having fun!
Cons
I wasn't a Valero employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice place to work if you enjoy interacting with the public
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New Kensington, PASeptember 3, 2018
They want you to have a flexible schedule so they can use you as needed and they will. You might work several different positions but only get paid for one and they don't acknowledge all the hard work that you have done on their behalf without any extra pay or Training.
Pros
Nice Christmas gifts
Cons
Overworked and definitely underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Beaver Dam, KYSeptember 1, 2018
training was poor, ask way to much for not enough pay. no set breaks or lunch time. constantly on your feet. in 1 8 hour shift, which was more like a 10 hour shift because i came in early and didnt clock out until an hour after my shift was supposed to end, i wasnt able to even use that bathroom but 1 time and when i did i was rushed.
Pros
none
Cons
no sit down breaks, no lunch, have to pay for your own drinks and food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique
Cashier (Former Employee) –  United StatesAugust 31, 2018
Valero is an pretty decent job what I liked most about it was getting a chance to interact with the customer if your a people person I would deffinelty recommend this job for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underpaid
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tuskegee, ALAugust 28, 2018
Would not recomend this job for others. Very little pay with no benifits whatsoever. Only speaking on the Tuskegee, Alabama location specifically not all Valero.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Roswell, NMAugust 28, 2018
A typical day at work consists of cashing out customers and cleaning or stocking what is needed. All employees are very helpful and nice. The hardest part of the job would be getting rushes, but they don't last too long. The most enjoyable part of work is how fun the co-workers are.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAAugust 23, 2018
pleople are very disrespecful
the manager have preferences wit other workers
is danger zone to work
is alot of homelees casing problems
to the costumers
Pros
fast time
Cons
races co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great co workers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 20, 2018
Was enjoyable met a lot of good people and was always busy always had something to do whether it was stocking merchandise or greeting customers all around a fun environment definitely a place I would go back too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 15, 2018
Valero is a very interesting place to work because there is so much going on. Vendors of all kinds like coke and all the beer vendors along woth frito lay and as well as ur normal truck order. It is very fast paced but makes the day go by really fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valero. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,095 reviews
5370
4341
3227
295
162

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight