Valero Employee Reviews for Store Manager

Found 38 reviews matching the search See all 1,244 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job, with dealing with people from all over the couny\try
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYSeptember 26, 2018
the job was very stressful, with all the daily paperwork and inventory controls. Valero mainly purchased Diamond Shamrock for its refineries and pile lines in Texas. They did not have the knowledge to manage a truck stop. It is nothing like a c-store self-serving gaslone station. Very little support from the area manager and corporate office.
Pros
good salary with bonuses
Cons
very stressful with little help from area mafnager or corporate staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, TXSeptember 20, 2018
Supervisor had issues. She was constantly contradicting herself. Cannot work for someone who tells you one thing and then denies it the next day. Employees were always tense and never knew how the supervisor was going to act. Hard to keep harmony under those conditions. The customer were great. Daily routines were easy to deal with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recognized for Superior Customer Service and Repeat Business
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 9, 2018
I was a convenience store and gas service manager. the hours are terribly long and there is work that needs to be performed daily...days off are rare. Quality and loss are critical areas that need constant vigilance. Unfortunately, high paced convenience has a terrible attrition rate and it is hard to retain quality trained workers given less than full-time hours and minimum wages.
Pros
Your personal attention to costumer service provides repeat business
Cons
long hours, short staffing, every day work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZApril 24, 2018
Good company to work for. Good benefits and work life balance. Upper management listens and provides support. Overall I would recommend this company to anyone looking for a job.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
A lot of long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here was an experiance
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Princeton, WVFebruary 18, 2018
Enjoyed working here until it had changed hands. The vendors and customers and my co worker were great. I learn a lot that has help me in later jobs and will continue to help in jobs opportunities to come.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was exciting working for Valero. The training program is an excellent one. The compensation was good which includes profit sharing.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 7, 2018
Valero gave me my first job opportunity after College. My first six months was a little challenging but with the training I was able to excel. Valero was a good company to work for. Management provided all the necessary tools to get job done. Employees welfare was a priority to the upper management.
Pros
Allowed to work independently.
Cons
Employees retention was a little challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Store manager (Former Employee) –  Sherman, TXDecember 8, 2017
it has been a long time i really do not remember much. I liked my job there but was not crazy about the district level management, too much micro managing
Pros
flex hours
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one
store manager (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJDecember 3, 2017
i learned how to be a store manager.
i learned how to be ready for state or company inspections.
hardest is with customer services .
most enjoyable is to had a great employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable workplace.
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 27, 2017
Enjoyable work environment. Training was fantastic and made learning your job fun. Supervisors were very helpful and always eager to help. Quarterly bonuses were great if you worked hard enough to deserve them.
Pros
Quarterly bonuses
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful..Which being a manager can be but it had every thing to do with the owner of the store
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New Brighton, PAApril 1, 2017
I ran the entire store from open to at least noon alone. Really don't have much to say ...Just moved needed a job to keep the rent paid.
Most enjoyable part of the job were my everyday customers that I got to know very well.
Pros
none
Cons
Pay not equal to my experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Store Manager, Convenience Retail (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 10, 2017
You basically do the same thing everyday however, I am learning a lot from this company. CST has the best training and benefits you can imagine.
Pros
make your own hours
Cons
no breaks or lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning names of daily returning customers made them feel welcomed by the store s staff
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LANovember 5, 2015
my truthful review is company offered great medical insurance and educational benefits, I wish the upper management that never worked in a store s setting would understand what managers go threw with sales and employees.
Pros
benefits and good customers, good co-workers and yearly vacation weeks base on time of years
Cons
high employee turn over because of their low pay for the job duties and requirementss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high paced work place
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 26, 2015
good benefits and fast to promote employees that show interest and have the right skills for the job. funny get together events for the whole family.
Pros
excellent benefits and positive admosphere
Cons
long hours for managment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Littleton, COSeptember 16, 2015
Fast past work for sure. Always something to keep you on your feet and to keep you going. corporate was great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal work week
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 30, 2015
Great benefits, pay is reasonable. long hours can be expected while working at store level do to staffing problems. Pay is good, benefits for managers are great. Little problems with customers. management can expert too much during those understaffing time.
Pros
Get pay
Cons
Under staffing at many times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
faced paced
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAMay 6, 2015
In this face paced workplace I was able to learn how to multitask while doing in a professional manner, I also learned some computer skills such a word and data entry.
Pros
face paced
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing work
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 26, 2015
Loved this job and had a great time working there. I was able to get a lot of work experience during the time I was at this job.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAAugust 3, 2014
Fast pace environment, learned how to deal with customers on a daily basis, great management and supervise four associates. The hardest part of my job is to makes sure that my employees are doing their jobs properly. The most enjoyable part of my job is the crew of employees that I have are very dependable.
Pros
bonuses, gift cards and great benefits
Cons
busy days and rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment, never a dull moment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TxJanuary 6, 2014
A very fast-paced work environment centered on customer service; Can sometimes be chaotic, but for high-energy, friendly individuals it is a good fit.
Pros
Flexible schedules
Cons
Open on holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not military friendly at all
Asst store mgr (Former Employee) –  Azle, TXNovember 16, 2013
Worked for this company for two yrs got 1 raise and they treat there employees like there children
Pros
None
Cons
Bad wages bad mgt bad company all around
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valero. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,244 reviews
5420
4377
3254
2113
180

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight