Valley Proteins Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very long hours. Horrible equipment
Ramp Technician (Former Employee) –  Wadesboro, NCApril 13, 2018
It was an ok place to work if u dont mind the long hours. The equipment they had was very awful and u had to be very careful when using it cause it was very old.The employees on the shift i work was great group of guys to work with even Supervisor was cool
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Still present Administrator (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 13, 2018
I love working here, I am always learning new information everyday. I am now hired through a Temp agency, we are pushing to hire me on to Valley Proteins, so we are not dealing with the "middle" man.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Wadesboro, NCMarch 24, 2018
Enjoying working here great people ,vacation time annual raises, good management, insurance is ok ,get vacation time after a year ,work all holidays except Christmas
Pros
3 days off
Cons
Health insurance is high
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place Everton works togehter as a team
Supervisor/ maintenance/ cooker operator (Current Employee) –  OklahomaMarch 3, 2018
A nice environment very helpful on understanding and getting the grasp of your job. Reliable and dependable coworkers that always had your back when u need them
Pros
Lunches
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Valley Proteins
March 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing from our team members! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoy working with us, and that your team has your back. Valley Proteins is a great place to work, and we need all of our valued team members to get the job done. If you would like to provide more feedback, please feel free to send an anonymous email to hr@valleyproteins.com.

Thank you!
Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks!
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Linkwood, MDMarch 1, 2018
Job sucks! Everyone hates this job. I would not recommend this to others because they would carry stink home with them. Management does not know how to talk to employees.
Pros
At least i got a job! Doesn't pay well!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Valley Proteins
March 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you feel management does not communicate well with employees. We’re always looking for ways we can improve, and I will share your feedback with the management team. How the Company makes a sustainable difference is by recycling animal by-products into high quality ingredients for live stock feed and pet food. At times there may be a smell, yet you can go home proud that you are helping the environment. If you would like to provide more feedback, please feel free to send an anonymous email to hr@valleyproteins.com.

Thank you!
Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible plant and management
Production supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 17, 2018
Very terrible place to work! These people who run this plant don’t know what they are doing! Don’t know how run a plant! The management harasses u daily! Things break every night and they don’t wanna spend money to fix it so they replace it with old parts and it breaks again the next night! People were getting sick because of the nasty product coming in and hey don’t care they don’t give u the right equipment to protect yourself! I wouldn’t wish this job on my worse enemy
Pros
None
Cons
Terrible place to work! That’s why they can’t keep good employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Valley Proteins
March 13, 2018

Thank you for providing your feedback. Please know that I take your concerns seriously and I will be sharing your feedback with management. For three generations, Valley Proteins has been a leader in contributing to a cleaner environment and a stronger economy. But no matter how much we grow, it’s very important to us that we maintain our family-oriented culture. If you would like to provide additional information, please feel free to send an anonymous email to hr@valleyproteins.com. We’re always looking for ways we can improve.

Thank you!
Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 13, 2018
Was a very exciting place to work. I worked hard everyday and in the end I got well compensated for my actions. The people there are kind and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Valley Proteins
March 6, 2018

Thank you so much for your dedication to the Company. I agree, Valley Proteins is an exciting place to work with kind and friendly people. I’m happy to hear your hard work was rewarded during your time with us. That’s what it’s all about! If you would like to share additional thoughts, please feel free to send an anonymous email to hr@valleyproteins.com

Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate valley proteins
Driver (Current Employee) –  Gastonia, NCFebruary 6, 2018
If management went to some of the plants we pick up from things would change and be better but they don't and won't so things will never get better and that's why I'm quitting as soon as I find something else even if you say something they don't do anything Gastonia plant is alright but I don't see no future there as a truck driver for myself they should be paying more more the BS u go through everyday glad I know all driving jobs aren't like valley proteins hopefully I won't be there much longer
Pros
Relaxed
Cons
Money, equipment, shop people are lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Valley Proteins
February 15, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I agree that communication is very important. That’s why I’m sorry to hear we are not meeting your expectations. Please know we work hard to provide a great workplace for our drivers. In addition to ensuring our drivers are home every night, we also offer competitive salaries and benefits. I will share your feedback with our management team, because we’re always looking for ways we can improve. If you would like to provide additional thoughts or concerns, please feel free to send an anonymous email to hr@valleyproteins.com

Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
CDL A Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Terre Hill, PAJanuary 16, 2018
The only good thing about this job is that they pay for overtime. Management sucks! They throw you under the bus in a heart beat. Once you get hurt you become expendable and they find ways to get rid of you. There's literally no communication what's so ever. Routing sucks. They like to send you places that your truck wont fit into. Their benefits are terrible. Beware of this place!
Pros
Overtime pay
Cons
Poor routing, no communication, benefits are terrible, management don't care about you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Official response from Valley Proteins
February 9, 2018

Thank you for sharing your perspective. Glad you are happy with the overtime pay! I agree that communication is very important. we strive to provide a great workplace for our drivers. If you would like to provide additional feedback, please feel free to send an anonymous email to HR@VALLEYPROTEINS.COM

We’re always looking for ways we can improve.

Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Gastonia, NCJanuary 10, 2018
DO NOT WORK HERE!!!! Management is a joke at best. They will promise you anything to get you to come to work here but won't deliver on any of it. This is the worst company I have ever worked for
Pros
None
Cons
Will run you in the ground
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Official response from Valley Proteins
February 9, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I’m sorry you were disappointed by your experience. We move as fast as we can to deliver on our promises. As a family-owned company, please know we value every member of our team and strive to provide great benefits and incentives to all. If you would like to provide additional feedback, please feel free to send an anonymous email to HR@VALLEYPROTEINS.COM

We’re always looking for ways we can improve.

Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Linville, VAJanuary 5, 2018
It is a good starting job in the maintenance field, learn a lot, but very dirty and way under paid for the work load. Good for someone new and trying to learn, not an old man's job
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Alot of hours, not very safe, very nasty job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Official response from Valley Proteins
February 9, 2018

Thank you for your candid feedback. I agree that our workplace offers a great foundation for anyone in the maintenance field. I’m sorry to hear you felt under paid. We work hard to compensate our employees and provide incentives for growth. If you would like to provide additional feedback, please feel free to send an anonymous email to HR@VALLEYPROTEINS.COM

We’re always looking for ways we can improve.

Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are many good things I could say but the bad started outweighing the good
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Rose Hill, NCDecember 23, 2017
They send New General Management that don’t have a qlue what they are doing and use them as long as they will stay to run the plant into the ground and the bring in the calvery of long time management to save the day to save face and fix what they see as the problem.
Pros
At this time none
Cons
Micro Managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Valley Proteins
February 9, 2018

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback about your personal experience, because we’re always looking for ways we can improve. Your former role as a Maintenance Manager is critical to our operation. Thank you for the time you dedicated to making a difference in our organization. If you would like to provide additional feedback, please feel free to send an anonymous email to HR@VALLEYPROTEINS.COM.

Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but Rewarding
Corporate office employee (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VADecember 18, 2017
I feel Valley Proteins is a very good company to work for. It is at times stressful but the what job isn't. I feel the company/owners value the employees and acknowledge a job well done.
Pros
This company gives Christmas bonuses, pay, team atmosphere
Cons
high stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Official response from Valley Proteins
February 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your five-star feedback! Like you said, it’s a rewarding environment to work in. We’re a family-owned organization with a pretty incredible team. That’s why every year we look to acknowledge the hard work that everyone puts in by throwing Company picnics and offering bonuses. Thanks for being a special part of it. Why else do you love working here? We would love to hear more. Please send any additional feedback to: HR@VALLEYPROTEINS.COM.

Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Driver (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCDecember 9, 2017
Valley proteins is a good place to work and has its advantages but the route distribution is not fair unless you are friends with the boss my time spent there was spent doing all the hard stuff that no one else wanted to do I had more time over people and still had to go do the hard stuff every day
Pros
Will always have a job
Cons
Have to be on the friends list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Valley Proteins
February 9, 2018

Thanks for sharing your personal experience. We agree that this is a wonderful place to work! We take our staff allocation very seriously, and we work hard to make sure all employees are incentivized appropriately. I would like to learn more about your time with us. We’re always looking for ways we can improve so if you would like to provide additional feedback, please feel free to send an anonymous email to HR@VALLEYPROTEINS.COM..

Dan
Valley Proteins - Human Resource Manager

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family run business
Management (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VANovember 21, 2017
Valley Proteins is a great place to work. All teams are hard at work doing the best that they can to reach their goals. Each member is essential and the Company offers decent wages and benefits for their efforts. Our rapid growth brings challenges, and the team is eager to take them on. Because what we do is so important to the community and the environment, those that stick with us, stay for a long time.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, Team Members
Cons
Customers drive our schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management only care about makeing themself looking good
Driver (Current Employee) –  Mifflintown, PANovember 1, 2017
The management do what it take to make it look good for them
The management don't care if you need to get home for thing at home even if it is important
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay good
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAAugust 21, 2017
Do not care about it's employees will use you until they don't need you anymore and can pay someone less to do more. Offers great benefits get paid weekly.,
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Terre Hill, PAJuly 26, 2017
My advise is to take the time and read ALL the reviews on this company also, they advertise for employment 365 days a year company wide.....Notice any common themes??

The owners are clueless and make public statements thanking employees on how they have made their dreams come true while paying employees next to nothing with very very very expensive health insurance.

Dark, dirty, huge rats and cockroaches.

Bottom line is they pay very little, expect a lot...An average employee will give up on paycheck a month to cover benefits....

Many people ride on the coattails of others while doing next to nothing and receive high praise, don't turn your back because the blame will be directed towards you.
Pros
none
Cons
insurance, environment, owners, work conditions, Etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if don't have a family life
Truck Washer (Former Employee) –  Linkwood, MDJuly 25, 2017
When I first started working here it was great, when my wife was having problems with pregnancy they really worked with me and helped us. However upon change of hands at the company they told me to kiss my family goodbye. I wasn't happy with that as I had a newborn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Terre Hill, PAJuly 15, 2017
Over worked and under paid and under appreciated. The amount of money they offer does not counter act the stuff you have to put up with. The best shift is 3rd. Higher up in maintenance does not want to help or get dirty.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valley Proteins. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 87 reviews
514
412
319
214
128

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.4Culture