Valley Regional Medical Center Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 37 reviews
Ratings breakdown
521
47
35
21
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 37 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staffing always an issue
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJune 13, 2018
Well at night shift they keep us short because it's night shift and for whatever reason we don't get staffed. We have the staff but placed on call or floated which it's ok when needed but not every night. As day shift goes it seems to me over staffed
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valley Regional
Front Desk /PBX (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJune 11, 2018
This place of employment was a great experience overall, I was able to learn many new things which advanced me to where I am now. Morals of different people is always something I like to keep in mind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the beginning it was good after a while started getting worse
Room buffer (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, TXApril 13, 2018
I really like my job but instead of being fair with anybody else they cut my hours from 75 hours 42 hours every two weeks the management in the director to really don't know what is their job to do that's my opinion I try my best to do my job but for them it wasn't enough add a trash Floor Tech Bloomberg offer window cleaning floor cleaning and it wasn't enough for them
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job.
Licensed Vocational Nurse (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXMarch 23, 2018
Always challenging, though management isn't always supportive of staff. Management torn between satisfying clients and their families and administrative demands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so great
Critical Care RN in the ICU (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXFebruary 14, 2018
I have learned a lot here. The work load seems to be hard especially when you are on the second floor ICU. Not having a tech to help with in the ICU makes it difficult to provide good nursing care to the the patients. Overall the work experience was satisfactory,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of work experience
Registered Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXNovember 20, 2017
The folks I worked with were very talented and highly experienced.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the paitents.
No problems with management.
Pros
high experienced
Cons
too much talking behind your back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly ran hospital
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXOctober 10, 2017
I was hired for a position as a unit secretary. I spent more time being a patient sitter on other units than the position I was hired for. I was not told that I would have to be a patient sitter and see how horrible the patients are treated and the true lack of care. I had to do things I was never trained for. Two of us were supposed to be taking turns going to other units. I was always the one sent every single time. When this was brought up to management they defended their actions with their words but not with proof.
Pros
None
Cons
All Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere in lab
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXSeptember 5, 2017
Small hospital and employees are cross-trained in the lab - atmosphere quite relaxed but caring for patients is their number one priority. Supervisors are in constant contact with their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a multitasking job but fun.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXAugust 28, 2017
I love the environment, the people and it's a medical setting. I enjoyed working for Valley Regional but was a little stressful. I was a Receptionist for Radiology department. I would file, enter patient exams and doing patient charts, also doing xray copies.
Pros
Hour lunch, good people, friendly environment
Cons
Working weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with the ability to grow
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, TXAugust 27, 2017
Dealing with patients and visitors is a task every day
Employees are very nice and professional drs are excellent very professional nursery post is excellent i meet people from all walks life very interesting
Pros
Free cokes snack discount on lunches
Cons
Short meal break high prices on meals drinks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family oriented workplace
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXAugust 26, 2017
I enjoy working with people that I consider my family. Very smart people that work here. I have grown as a professional and a person. I like to take care and help patients in the community I grew up in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours always being cut
EKG Monitor Technician (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXAugust 25, 2017
I became very tired of being sent home in the middle of the night. I tried talking to my boss and she walked away without acknowledging me. She doesn't work there anymore, I hope it's changed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing experience
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJuly 20, 2017
Although I was just a volunteer in highschool all the nurses, doctors, and therapists were more than willing to trust us with their patients. As soon as we arrived work was already assigned to us and if we had any questions the nurses were ready to lend a hand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome hospital with great staff!
Medical Assistant & Clinical Rotations (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJuly 4, 2017
This hospital is an awesome place to work. I'm so glad I got to do my clinical rotations here. The staff is awesome and always willing to go the extra mile for their patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJune 29, 2017
Great place to work at, friendly environment and great work ethics and management, always had all the necessary equipment and training to perform daily job duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working schedule
Central Sterile Processing Technician (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, TX 78526May 11, 2017
Clean, assemble and sterilize surgical instruments used through out the day. I've learned all the technical ways to preform my job to the fullest. Management are great. Working as a team can be difficult at times in my department. The hardest part of my job is that the work is not spread out evenly, what I mean by that is that someone of my co-workers don't pull their own weight. The most enjoyable part of the job is that I know that at the end of the day I've done my part in insuring that all the instrument I've dealt with have been properly cleaned and sterilized. And that gives me pride knowing that the instruments will be clean for the next patient.
Pros
Good work sechdule
Cons
Team players
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radiology Clerk
Radiology Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXMay 4, 2017
Recieve calls from nurses to input x-ray, MRI, EKG'S, Ultrasound and CT'S in to the computer. File x-rays orders and films. Hang fils for radiologist to read in the proper way.
Pros
Environment was fun and positive
Cons
The shift work was tough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not that bad.
Emergency Technician/ Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXMay 2, 2017
It was okey. I coud say that other employees are not that cheerful and they always picked on me since i was just a CNA and not a nurse that time. So i guess its kinda bad experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not pleasant if you are not a staff nurse
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXApril 26, 2017
6 years ago: PRN PCU and ICU staff are given the hardest patients, with little support. Admission sequence on the floor is completely unorganized.
ICU medical staff is unethical and is demeaning to nursing staff.
A huge plus is the hospital has a designated wound care staff. Extreme plus for the patients, especially.
Pros
Higher pay
Cons
PRN and travel nursing staff treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work was fun and enjoyable
Junior Auxiliary/Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJanuary 25, 2017
I would go in every weekend, to volunteer for about 3 hours while I was still attending High school.
I learned how to treat people with the utmost care and respect. I also learned team building with my fellow junior auxiliaries.
Pros
Free Lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valley Regional Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Valley Regional Medical Center Reviews by Location