Valvoline Instant Oil Change Employee Reviews

Found 1,162 reviews matching the search See all 1,195 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jeremiahs summery
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brookline Village, MASeptember 25, 2018
Had a great experience there no regrets. The culture there was comfy and everyone for the most part got along. The hours were good because they latest they stayed open was 7pm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to get you on your feet but not for long term
Senior Technician / Full Time Key-Holder (Current Employee) –  Wallingford, CTSeptember 25, 2018
its a decent job if youre trying to get back on your feet or need extra cash, but i wouldnt suggest making a career out of this. it will drain you and make you hate your life. not joking. long hours, tedious work, inconsistent work days, but if you need something and you arent picky about where you work then this would be great if you plan on getting another job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They let their female employees get harassed
Senior Technician (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTSeptember 25, 2018
They will not advance you if you are a female and will let you get harassed by managers and other employees . If you are a female that wants to advance do not think you will get that at Valvoline
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job to advance
Certified Technician (Former Employee) –  Oviedo, FLSeptember 25, 2018
Let you move up in the company at your own pace. The schedule was flexible. The co- workers were very good. The customers were good. The manager was very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace workplace
Oil Change Technician (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MASeptember 24, 2018
The job was very fast pace and sometimes difficult to keep up as not as cars are the same as i am still learning along the way but it made me have to pick up the steps quick as i did, have to be willing to get dirty
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save and fun
Technician (Former Employee) –  OhioSeptember 24, 2018
If you don't mind fast pace or being busy all day this is a great job for you, you learn a lot of entry level stuff about cars from belt changes, tire rotations, oil changes, different fluid changes, filters, and more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make a career, as long as you're not going to college.
Senior Technician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78216September 23, 2018
I worked my way up to Senior Technician in about 7 months, however a business degree is required to proceed to Store manager. When I went to school to obtain such a degree, my hours were cut so low I was forced to find another job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level automotive job
Certified Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Oviedo, FLSeptember 21, 2018
Looks great on resumes and opens the door to more advanced automotive career opportunities. Work day can be very slow one period and very busy the next. Managers are typically lenient and easy going when the shop is slow, but you are expected to move with a purpose and be on top of your game when it is busy. Company is very fair with raises and how soon you do or don't receive them is entirely under your control.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time employment while you look elsewhere
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXSeptember 21, 2018
I spent a long time with this company and ended as a store manager. They did not offer benefits to managers so I had to leave for better opportunity. The work was fun, the customers were a mix of fun and ridiculous.
Pros
Fun work, a small paycheck
Cons
a small paycheck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Site manager (Former Employee) –  Macedonia, OHSeptember 20, 2018
Good guidance from managers

full P&L responsibility


fun relaxed atmosphere


Employees all got along.
family outings,


Monthly manager meetings an lunches or dinners


recognition awards


learniung experience
Pros
fairly easy job
Cons
OPen sundays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry Level Company
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 20, 2018
I started off as an entry level lube technician and excelled to an assistant manager in little over a year. Oil changes, Tire Rotations, Fluid Exchanges, Air Filters, Wiper Blades, Lights, and Fuel System cleanings is mainly what your going to be what your doing. I have helped at many other locations (5-7 stores) other than my home store. The turn over rate for this company is very high in my opinion, i once was at a store for eight months with a full staff of 13 and now we are at 4. If you don't mind working outside in the heat, cold, wet environment and do not mind sweating this is for you. Normally always busy so you will be in your feet a lot. A lot of overtime depending on which area you are located in. Some policies are very skeptical. Once you get bored of just doing oil changes etc. and want more of a challenge your better off departing from this company and going to an independent shop or even dealership. This company is very money driven and there's a lot of peer pressure from upper management to make daily sales or there will be consequences. But overall just a good entry level job if your interested in getting into the automotive industries.
Pros
Learn A lot
Cons
Upper Management and Turn Over rate is ridiculously high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not recommend
Senior Technician (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 20, 2018
Terrible management. As unprofessional a company I have ever seen. Managers do not have the proper training to be in a management position of any kind.
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours
Technician (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYSeptember 19, 2018
Not enough hours but does teach you how to change fluids and your oil and how to deal with customers and make it a fun and how to make your customers happy and let them know they are welcome
Pros
Learning
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is not happy about about new faces to train
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RISeptember 17, 2018
Not everyone is a Jerk at the workplace but there is always one guy (Kid) that always makes your life hard to get a reaction. Management lacks leadership by not having a No Workplace Violence Motto but rather turns a blind eye because he doesn't want to get chewed out by Branch Management about the High Turnover Rate of workers leaving. You are supposed to have fun at this Job, not be skeptical about coming in & dealing with a child know it all that was never taught or disciplined about how they should work with others.
To fix this problem, Have a No Workplace Violence Policy, get rid of anyone that is a nuisance at the workplace, no matter if he is good at his job & if the manager won't fix it, then can him too. There is people at that site that have the grasp & knowledge of how to run a great shop without D.
Pros
Always Hiring, Free PPE, Some Decent Co-Workers, Discount after a Month
Cons
Very High Turn Rate, Favoritism, Co-Worker Violence/Harassment, No Set Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management in everyone's face all day
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYSeptember 17, 2018
Management is in your face all day, they dont care about the customer just the dollar. They discriminate against the employees and violate a lot of laws
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job
Automotive Technician / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTSeptember 15, 2018
If you want to learn how to do oil changes maintenance on your vehicle be assistant manager move up to manager work for good company this is the company that you can start off with and learn a lot about working on cars it's a good place to be work hard make money work hard get advancement
Pros
Learn a lot about changing oil transmission services and other maintenance services do on vehicles
Cons
You got to be a go-getter in order to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work.
Lube Tech (Former Employee) –  Conifer, COSeptember 12, 2018
Would not recommend. Health hazards, low pay, easily replaced, work for Mr Krabs, sales, and I really really really really really don't like this place.
Pros
none
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Glastonbury, CTSeptember 12, 2018
This was a busy steady workplace that had you provide preventative maintenance on vehicles company had benefits with 401k the hardest part of the job was training new employees that were not willing to work the most enjoyable was taking good care of the customers and seeing them return with smiles on their faces.
Pros
Manager Meetings once a year
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced environment
Senior Technician / Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 10, 2018
can move up very fast in the company, area managers need more presence in their stores because not all managers are good, i was personally fed up with my manager as was half the team. good pay for simple work, it is labor intensive but can be fun at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Belleville, IL 62221September 10, 2018
While working there it was my first job before my long term job I had but when I worked there it was really fun and a great place to be in. The people that I worked with at the time I stayed in contact with even after leaving.
Pros
Free Lunches.
Cons
Slow Paced sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valvoline Instant Oil Change. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,195 reviews
5352
4326
3290
2119
1108

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight