Valvoline Instant Oil Change Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 1,107 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5326
4296
3269
2114
1102
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 965 reviews matching the search See all 976 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Manager (Former Employee) –  Okeechobee, FLJuly 16, 2018
Was good at first and at the lower levels got stressful when you move up. Youmalwaysnhad to try to upscale and if you didn't meat the goals you where demoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working
Service center manager (Current Employee) –  Clarksville, TNJuly 16, 2018
Work environment is very great hot/cold days but the overall job itself is awaome. a great learning experience for anyone looking to advance in the automotive world
Pros
Great peopl and pay
Cons
Hot/cold days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional work place .
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Allentown, PAJuly 14, 2018
Valvoline is a professional and productive growing company. It has showed me team leadership , responsibilitie and has build me to be a great leader to my fellow co workers.
Pros
Professional growing company
Cons
I feel that their is no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
SENIOR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Ooltewah, TNJuly 12, 2018
I loved working at Valvoline. Wish the pay would have been better, but coworkers and management were awesome. Easy to advance within the company as well. They train and hire from within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 12, 2018
Very fast paced a lot of opportunities to move up to become a senior technician or assisted manager or manager. It is definitely a learning job you learn as you work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment; Fun coworkers
Senior Technician/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 11, 2018
The team that you will work with is pretty solid, everybody gets along very well and is able to joke around while working. The work is fast and constant. You must be able to work well with your hands at a fast pace without hurting yourself or any others.
Pros
Fun work environment with fun people
Cons
Owner does not put in everything it takes to keep the shop in the best condition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting place, and great opportunities for advancement.
Assistant Service Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Bossier City, LAJuly 10, 2018
Valoline Instant Oil Change is a great place to work. The management is a little unorganized and there is a lot of miscommunication between management and employees, and the standards seem to change depending on employees, and stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to Work and Learn More About Vehicles
Technician (Former Employee) –  Dunkirk, NYJuly 10, 2018
I had a good experience in my short time while employed at Valvoline. The customers are great the work is rewarding and being able to be around vehicles has been a delight.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJuly 9, 2018
Valvoline as a company was great. Just depends on the crew you had under you. Certain crews i worked with were fantastic. Others not so much. If i ever was to go back theres only one manager ill ever work under.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving inviorment
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAJuly 7, 2018
Lots of cars and customer service. Very fast pace work. Customer service is key in this job. Upselling of customers is what they are based on. Knowledge of each car and the fluids and filters. The moto is 15 min or less. Hardest part of this job constant coming and going of employees. Hard to build a good crew when they quit often. Most enjoyable part of the job was the customers. Many regulars you were able to build a relationship with.
Pros
Bonus
Cons
Employees always quiting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable experience
Senior Technician (Current Employee) –  Grand Ledge, MIJuly 6, 2018
I’ve been with the company for a little over two years and md I’ve met a lot of other employees from all over the state through the years and met a lot of great people working at other stores
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Shorts lunches and work a lot of weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard days work
R1 Assistant Service Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Coral, FLJuly 6, 2018
Long hours of working on cars and making customers feel comfortable getting their oil change. Learned trade skills to help in the future as well as work on my own car.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fast paced environment
Certified Technician (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNJuly 5, 2018
There was barely a day where we were sitting around waiting for work to do. Valvoline was a place to do oil changes in 15-20 minutes. Co-workers were very supportive and helpful when you needed it the most.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for automotive people
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Bound Brook, NJJuly 5, 2018
Valvoline was my first and favorite job, the staff was great. I had gotten the job before the knowledge of my families move so it was upsetting when i had to put in my notice and date of finishing working. Great times, slow days were talking and shop cleaning days. Fast days were joke and work days. Great environment.
Pros
Great staff, great environment
Cons
days get stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and fun place to work.
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJuly 5, 2018
Overall my time working at VIOC was nothing short of a learning experience. A lot of the duties you learn there can also be applied outside of work. This was my first automotive job ever and I felt it was the perfect way to start a career dealing with cars.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced / Friendly environment
Senior Technician (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAJuly 4, 2018
Valvoline is always trying to push their employees to do better. From the beginning you are continuously training to get certified and after every certification you get a pay raise . The people there are great .
Pros
Nice people, good support, awesome culture
Cons
Doesn’t put you in a spot to where you can actually work on cars beyond maintenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Technician (Former Employee) –  West Hartford, CTJuly 3, 2018
Best part of the job was the customer's, worst part of the job was shoveling the whole parking lot during the winter. Management was fine. I learned Management and how to run a carwash and fix it all the machines.
Pros
Free car wash and tips
Cons
No bennifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short handed not many career advancement opportunities
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 3, 2018
Not too happy with the way they manage they're company don't really have a good program and position advancements are few and far between. Don't let you have over time ours and barely make 40 hours a week. Not too happy. Love the people Co workers are great just not a good long time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun but lot of mistakes
Certified tech (Former Employee) –  New York StateJuly 3, 2018
It is a tough job but can be fun with a good team. bad management and alot of hours for little pay. stressful work environment. but teaches you what you need to know and morr
Pros
Fun
Cons
Lack of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun 0lace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJuly 2, 2018
This is a great fast paced place to work at and you can learn alot about the business without knowing a thing about cars. Great hands on experienceses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valvoline Instant Oil Change. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight