Van Ru Credit Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pace working environment
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILMay 8, 2018
Staff was great and understanding. Supervisor and Manager look at for you to do and push you to do your best. Company was very a fast pace environment .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment positive People’s great energy
Representative,Collector (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILApril 30, 2018
Learned a lot from working at van Ru helped me more with my professionalism skills also worked with over 200 other its was a very different experience but I enjoy the staff they were all very kind helpful and nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people worked here
Administration, and Collector (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLMarch 29, 2018
I started off in an admin position doing reports then they took that position and turned me into a collector. It was very neat to have to search for information for these people. They were fair there!
Pros
Nice environment
Cons
Just pushy mean supervisors in certain departments very aggressive to the people that owemoney
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Van Ru
Retention Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2018
The most I miss is the family atmosphere with my coworkers. The Ceos of the company lied to us continually about receiving the DOE contract and laid off half of the company. Employees left in tears please steer clear
Pros
employess
Cons
lies from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company closed- good
Wage Garnishment Clerk (Former Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILMarch 5, 2018
company was ruined by upper mangagement- the only thing good about this job was the bonus. other then that nothing was good. people were rude managers are worse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-like Enivornment
Wage Garnishment/Hearing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILFebruary 27, 2018
I worked there 7 years, and my co-workers were like members of an extended family. We worked together with team goals and cross trained between positions.
Pros
Welcoming environment
Cons
Minimal Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will give you a chance
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 25, 2018
They will give someone who may be under qualified a chance in a position. Because of this the benefits are lower, but you are able to get great experience on the job.
Pros
Decent amount of vacation, employees are nice to work with
Cons
Low pay, bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fun, fast paced
Sup of Ops Support / Analyst / Vendor Mngmnt (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLNovember 16, 2017
May day was spent looking through vast amounts of reporting data to locate new opportunities for improvement. The team there leans on each other at all levels to find solutions to daily, weekly, and monthly problems, no voice is too small to provide ideas.

Working there taught me the in and outs of mortgage loans, students, loans, credit, medical billing, and credit reports and reporting agencies. The culture was very diverse and exciting, more like my second family and people I would be connected with even after our time ended at Van Ru.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Collector (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 8, 2017
To many account with non payment you l ave a lot of voice mail also they do not or did not give bonus at the time if my employment I did not like the environment
Pros
Hour lunch
Cons
Ghetto
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For a first job this is a great company
Collections Rep (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, WINovember 5, 2017
This is a great company for people that are just starting their careers. There isn't much room for advancement but it is a fun place to work with the ability to get bonuses to increase your income. Standard raises are not a common practice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Van Ru Credit Corporation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job not a career
Collector (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 10, 2017
If you just want to be collector and not bonus this is the place for you. Only 10% of staff bonus if that. Don't think about advancing, it's not going to happen. The CEO is a d#$k head, never speaks to the collectors. The assistant gm is cool but the general manager is not approachable. The training is mediocre and they expect you to still perform at a high level. To sum it up yeah its a job not a career
Pros
Hour lunch
Cons
Parking, cell phone policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture was interesting
Collection Representative (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 15, 2017
I have nothing nice to say...worse emploer to work for. Employees dnt matter and end result is all that matters, not what it took to get there. No integrity, in my opinion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits, very poor work culture
Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSSeptember 1, 2017
Decent pay, good benefits, stressful work environment. No incentives in competitive environment and high quotas. Turnover rate is sad. No company morale
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No incentives in competetive enviornment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been an employee with Van Ru for a number of years
Staff member (Current Employee) –  Lenexa, KSAugust 31, 2017
I have been employed at Van Ru for a number of years and like any job, there are some difficult times. But in this business seasonality is a factor and we have to realize that this industry is a very challenging one. Especially when the leadership likes to win. As stated, this is a very competitive industry and I have never worked for a company that is as consistent at winning and being one of the very best, when it comes to ranking in the top echelon of agencies. We have won a table full of trophy's over the years and we look forward to the new ones each fall.
The Management team encourages higher bonuses and top level recoveries so that everyone wins. We have won incentive after incentive from corporate and from clients. The GM demands participation and that helps pull some of us out of our shells and we sometimes win, and we would never have tried otherwise.
Our leadership is fair and consistent and transparent when it comes to making decisions, training and developing us collectors. They have an interest in actually making all of us better and assisting us in making more in bonuses and incentives.
We have a good drama free culture that feels good to come to work, and I cannot say that about all my previous employers.
When the president of the company come to our office, he takes time to talk to us and even updates us on how the company is doing and what we may be doing next. I feel at home here, a place that I can like, many others that have been here longer than me; build and develop a career. I appreciate that and really appreciate all the opportunities
  more... that they have given to me and my peers.
From the President to the team leads, and even many of my peers the leadership is some of the best that I've seen.
  less
Pros
Drama free, Leadership that cares, Bonuses and Benefits
Cons
OMG The many regulations that govern our industry. But if we look to do the right thing, it seems to all work out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collector
Collector (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 14, 2017
Not the best working environment and the downfall that happen was clear to see. Disrespectful employees and management were not things that you were happy to walk into on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work place
Debt Collector (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 11, 2017
Horrible work place overall managment sucks very cut throat company is on its way out of business ceo is very unfriendly the entire managment staff dose coke
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Student Loan Collector (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 9, 2017
I don't have much to say about this company, I hated it and my girlfriend was pregnant at the time I just needed a job that was it. nothing more nothing less
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
Professional Collections Associate (Current Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILJuly 27, 2017
Was a very nice place to work. Change in management, changed the entire deparment. Lost in overtime. Scheduling issues. Horrible parking situation since company moved. unable to use cellphones on break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections
Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 27, 2017
This was not the job for me. Could never get ahold of the people and they set outrageous goals for you that can't be met. Level 2 is not the place to start new employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Collections Associate (Former Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILJuly 19, 2017
The job itself is taxing and management doesn't necessarily treat employees very good. Pay is great but you will have to deal with a terrible working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Van Ru Credit Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 132 reviews
520
430
342
214
126

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.6

3.5Personal Development

4.5Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight