Vermeer Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More of a family, than an employer
Machining Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pella, IANovember 12, 2018
Pay is good, benefits are awesome, management actually care. Would recommend to anyone to work there. Very family oriented and feels like a family while there..
Pros
Profit sharing and good 401k
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive and great work place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAMay 31, 2018
They vermeer company as a whole is great. Managers are nice. Everyone there is very helpful. I would recommend anyone to work there if they can handle the heat in the summer.
Pros
Managers and group leads are awesome
Cons
The hours can be long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, not a fun place to work
Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAApril 17, 2018
8 hour days of constant movement and lifting of parts to meet demands. Culture is not fun and hardest part is dealing with all the rules management sets
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Hard Work For Nothing
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 9, 2018
This place will chew you up and spit you out. Management does not know what's going on and always wants to point the finger. Very stressful work environment and terrible benefits if you have a family.
Pros
Good experiance
Cons
hours, managment, work load, payrate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work.
Quality Control and Machinist (Former Employee) –  Pella, IANovember 16, 2017
You start out a normal day with a group meeting and stretches. At the end of the meeting you are told what parts/machines need to be ran. you ask any questions you may have then go run those parts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work an great pay
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  pella, iaSeptember 13, 2017
Depending on your manager its a great place to work.
My last manager sucked and was a joke. Best manager to have is justin stursma!!
Hardest part is the lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opinionated Coworkers
Materials Engineer (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJuly 11, 2017
Experienced racism and sexism at this company. It's small so people are overly concerned in others business. It's in Iowa which isn't a very fun location.
Pros
Decent Salary.
Cons
Coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate setting, very professional and kind people
Corporate Account Manager (Current Employee) –  RemoteNovember 16, 2016
Great Company to work for as long as the business segment isnt effected by commodities. Family owned and operated and they will keep it that way as long as the family stands behind their last name.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family focused company
Continuous Improvement Tech (Current Employee) –  Pella, IAOctober 9, 2016
This is a great company that cares about its employees and their well being. They offer a lot of chances for professional growth.
Pros
On location Pharmacy, Training and classes in house.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to begin a career.
Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pella, IAAugust 15, 2016
This is a good place for a first career position out of college. This is a company that promotes learning and growth through many training opportunities and enriching projects.

The culture of the employees are not very diverse with many engineers that have been with the company for 40+ years that are not very open to new ways of doing things or to people who are culturally different.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAJune 14, 2016
Management at Vermeer was unlike any other place i have worked they were actually there to help and lend a hand whenever one was needed
Pros
Facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is definitely some "who you know"
CI TECH (Current Employee) –  IowaMarch 30, 2016
Best health insurance around, basic 401k, great people(coworkers)

Internal employee with great track record, and a bachelors degree and not in a professional position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Welder (Current Employee) –  Pella, IAAugust 18, 2015
Its a great company to work for.I like working with everyone in my weld area. Everyone is willing to help you in any way possible when needed. Its a family oriented company which I like. I am just wanting a job/career in the Des Moines area I work 6am to 330 most days and some Saturdays so I wake up at 415 and I am out the door by 430 to get to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work!
Parts Specialist (Current Employee) –  Midland TxMarch 22, 2015
This is one of the best companies that I have ever worked for.
It is a great entity to be apart off, everyone I have encountered has been Nice and Courteous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
tractor maintencance (Former Employee) –  Commerce City, COOctober 21, 2014
the day was like every other day, fun, stressing, and exhausting. I learned to operate many tractors. the place was well managed and was kept right. co-workers were really kind and supportive. the hardest parts of the job was maybe was lifting things. the most enjoyable was if you stuck with something that you liked and did good at was that time flew by
Pros
one hour lunch and 2 15 minute breaks
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family enviroment
welder (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAOctober 14, 2013
Super place to call home with a family orientation.Seasonal swings of ag products is not an issue as with some companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work I just need to move closer to my family.
Assembler/Painter (Current Employee) –  Pella, IAMay 18, 2013
I have enjoyed the last 6 years. I have learned a lot about lean manufacturing. The people, for the most part, are a good group. Management could use a major overhaul.
Pros
work all year round
Cons
Very hard to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experiences
yard person (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLMarch 11, 2013
very helpful with expanding my knowledge
good co workers
grasping the job
Pros
great people
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Production Welder (Former Employee) –  Pella, IAJanuary 19, 2013
Arrive to work on time, report to my work area, apply protective equipment, conduct quality work, complete work assignment on time or before, assist others as time permits while finding ways to improve quality.

I have learned that teamwork is essential. It takes all members of a team to be successful.

As for co-workers, I have learned that there is diversity within the quality of standard and work ethics that individuals are willing to bring to the team. Learning to be tolerant of all work levels.

The hardest part of my job is the inconsistency of managment - everyone not being held to the same expectations.

The most enjoyable part of my job is satifaction in a job well done, excelling in production and exceeding quotas.
Pros
benefits
Cons
inconsistent management/treatment of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Vermeer reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vermeer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 23 reviews
58
48
34
20
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture