Village Care of New York Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 45 reviews
Ratings breakdown
514
411
315
22
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 45 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy buen trabajo
HHA (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 12, 2018
Me encargaba de dar cuidados a pacientes , aveces enfermos, otras veces no enfermos, me gustaba mi trabajo en esta compaƱia
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal experience at company
HEALH HOME TEAM LEADER (Current Employee) –  154 christopher street ny, ny 10014March 28, 2018
When I started working for Village Care the policies and case management teams that were in place were very effective and it really seemed like we were able to help people. In the past year or so, the environment and policies have changed making it harder to do our jobs and provide quality work to our patients.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
large case loads
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work but supportive
Managed Long-Term Care (MLTC) Care Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 16, 2018
I enjoy working at Village Care. I have a year working at this agency. Its one of the best managed care companies to for as everyone is supportive. The hardest part of the job is the caseload which is currently at 100 member per case manager. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you get to work from home.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
current caseload
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized company
Assistant Care Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 12, 2018
This company has great benefits but has very disorganized management and the deadlines for services interfere with the quality of care that is provided for clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2018
Great work environment. People are very devoted and eager to accomplish all possible for their patients.
Management has an open door policy and is will to listen to comments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you are only starting out
Care Management Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 21, 2018
There has been a major change in culture with this company. Management only focuses on the numbers. They don't care how you actually perform or what is going on in their own department. As long as you finish what you have to do at the end of the month.
Lots of flexibility in terms of working from home.
Benefits are okay, could be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job helped adults maintain a sucessful lifestyle.
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 8, 2017
I worked with adults who needed to be monitored due to physical difficulties, such as Multiple Sclerosis or Alzheimer's.
I learned to stay positive and relaxed when a person becomes upset
and to always be a strong listener.
The hardest part of the job is observing an individual's poor living skills.

I enjoy working with the individuals at all times.

I
Pros
Working with co-workers who were helpful in the office.
Cons
Working with individuals who did not want to improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 13, 2017
Decent place to work, learned about home care and the financial operations of the organization and leadership team. Moved on to increasing responsibilities, and other companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Care Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2017
VillageCare is social services for medical patients. It can be difficult to fulfill services for each patient on a timely basis but overall the patients appreciate it. Management asks for multiple consents, data entry, and cross coordination.
Pros
Field and Office Days
Cons
Layers of Coordination
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization who cares for the disenfranchised
Case Manager Technician (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 5, 2017
Village truly did the best that they could have considering the political climate and nature of the cliental illness. Field work is challenging watching a person die slowly . Although it appeared that most of the staff cared it was still torture watching them be helpless .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diversified culture
Assistant Care Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 31, 2017
It was a very busy environment making calls and conducting home visits to patients. Conducting assessments and referrals. Advocating for patients through different agencies.
Pros
nice location
Cons
too far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Assistant Care Manger (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 24, 2017
Management is a mess, there are a lot of turnovers within the year and a half that I have been working here I have had 4 supervisors. Its a good first job to learn about case management but I wouldn't entertain working here longer that a year.
Pros
Field work
Cons
management, salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Fun working here
Community Searcher (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 14, 2017
A typical day is stressful, we're on edge all the time, with cuts being made randomly and without warning. Community Searchers are about to lose their position in October of this year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but ever changing
Assistant Care Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 13, 2017
There are new guidelines for the work flow every month, the managers and supervisors are fun to work with but it can be very taxing at times. Managing time is key
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work place
Case Management Unit Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 29, 2017
work was fast pasted but manageable. Love to provide support to my care managers. Hardest part was auditing charts on a continuous basis.My supervisor was very knowledgeable and provided education to me daily about heath homes and the various changes
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
too many deadline at the same time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Village Care is a nice place to work
Program Liaison (Current Employee) –  United StatesMay 4, 2017
I like to work at Village Care. I cant really tell you how is a typical day because it varies every day and that is one of the things that I like. I don't really follow a routine. I do a lot customer services. I attend to meetings and go to the field when is needed.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get the experience you need.
Community searcher (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 1, 2017
working for village care has been an amazing experience. i have been able to work with patients who have chronic illness and have been able to assist them with their needs as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 19, 2017
Working here was great and was hoping to last for an entire career then they sold our facility and we all lost our jobs and benefits . Would love to continue them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scary.
Sales searcher (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2017
They are about numbers. Senior executives brag about how generous benefits are. But if you don't have sales say goodbye to them.
Very image conscious, everyone in upper management have a worrying degree of sense of entitlement with titles. Titles here for e.g systems analyst or auditor or qa mean something entirely diff if you bring that to another healthcare org. Company's structure has many people with manager type status but very few distinguishable responsibilities from one another. Its all about moving up not staying in the bottom for too long. Many people here are not able to get a job with the city gov or lack translatable skills for real jobs in a hospital etc.
Pros
Free metrocard! Wooo hooo!
Cons
Sales numbers low? Bye
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family like environment
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  121B West 20th StreetJanuary 20, 2017
Fun and friendly environment, feel like a family.

Learned multiple skills in providing good quality service to persons with HIV/AIDS.

Limited advancement opportunity but a very enjoyable place to work and learn.
Pros
Fun family like environment
Cons
Advancement Opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report