Village Inn Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Morale
Server (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IA 52802September 24, 2018
Low morale, overworked, short staffed, benefits have gotten less and less over the years, have to work all holidays....workers are unappreciated but coworkers are friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy
Dish Washer/CSR (Former Employee) –  Ozark, MOSeptember 23, 2018
I worked for the Greene Franchise, and they decided to screw everything up and completely switched the management teams of two different stores, destroying the sales at the store that I worked at. It is very fast paced and can be very stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career at Village Inn
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLSeptember 23, 2018
Very friendly team work.
Excellent management
Very Helpful in helping others.
Very flexible hours
Weekly meetings
Everyone helps one another
Fun and friendly atmosphere
Tourist location
Pros
Free Lunch or Dinner
Cons
Breaks are few and far between
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good friendly place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Clinton, IASeptember 23, 2018
Like most restaurant jobs you will have some drama with the younger staff. However, all in all, it is a positive place to work. Management does a good job in keeping everyone in line. All staff helps everyone out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 22, 2018
With most diners the experience really depends on what shift you're working. Days are more high strung while the other remaining shifts are typically more laid back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it!
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLSeptember 17, 2018
I love the staff here and i miss it. It was great pay and wonderful people and it turned me into a people person. I would HIGHLY reccoment this job to ANYONE who wants to work in a family environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
DMO (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COSeptember 15, 2018
It is an okay job the people are nice and the job isn't too hard but the management can be really good or really bad depending on the store you are in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under new leadrship
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 13, 2018
Seems that a lot of times decisions are made without the input of infield operators which in turn causes lag times and service. Village Inn is very concerned about freshness and quality of their products the reward systems while somewhere in place or not followed to the T and motivation is some type of lacking
Pros
Meal card weekly pay
Cons
Never closed not a good family balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't like it
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZSeptember 7, 2018
I worked here for three years and had a different General Manager every six months. Every time the new boss would get settled in they'd move in a new one. I really did not like working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and willing to help
Server (Current Employee) –  Bettendorf, IASeptember 7, 2018
Moving up in company you need to not work there feel like if they hire within for management would make there employees feel like they are good enough
Pros
Great customers and employees
Cons
No moving up in position hire outside village inn for management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsatisfactory
Busser (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 4, 2018
The hours i was given when i was hired were horrendous. i would go in at 11-12pm and leave at about 4:30am. This caused me to start sleeping through the day and not be able to do much. Also, the management doesnt really check to make sure every server tips out the bussers. Ive seen servers walk out thinking they were taking a smoke break and never come back. You have to stay on top of it or they'll just walk out.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
low pay, lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  St. Augustine, FLSeptember 4, 2018
Excellent Team Players and Mangement. Fun. Tourist all year around. Meeting people all around the world. It's located in a tourist environment and very close to the beaches. The surrounding area is beautiful.
Pros
Excellent Atmosphere
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work environment
Host (Former Employee) –  St. Augustine, FLSeptember 3, 2018
It was a fun work environment that i enjoyed for the first few months on being there, but no room for growth . I then found a job else where that lead me to a management position .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone not forever tho !!
Server (Current Employee) –  SlcSeptember 2, 2018
Use to be so busy you wouldn't make less than $100 now u have to fight for tables and are lucky to make $40 . Got to the point they would send the servers home and keep the managers and managers would stay and serve the tables and make the tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very friendly workplace
Housekeeper/Laundry (Former Employee) –  Leavenworth, WASeptember 2, 2018
All of my co-workers were very nice and helped me figure out how to do what i needed to do in a time efficient way, the rooms were very clean and the area was very beautiful. It was like my home away from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Village Inn
Server (Former Employee) –  Republic, MOAugust 30, 2018
Customer service has always been a fun job for me. It was a laid-back environment and I enjoyed my job, however, the management refused to work with my school schedule.
Pros
Discounts, laid-back, fun, loved it
Cons
bad management and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neighbor type of breakfast and lunch. Fun place to work
Server, Hostess, and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 29, 2018
I enjoyed my almost 7 years at Village Inn. It was a very friendly, neighbor, kind of environment. Great management, co workers, most worked there for many years.
Pros
Great customers
Cons
No health benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, but helps if you learn quickly
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Centennial, COAugust 27, 2018
Village Inn is an amazing first job. I personally loved the fast-paced environment that keeps you on your feet most of the times. Just be careful with the few late night stragglers who come in right at closing. I would definitely recommend this for an in-between job, but not as a full-time job due to the minimum wages .
Pros
Half off prices on Lunches.
Cons
Short breaks, on your feet most of the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic employment job
Hostess/Cashier/to go orders (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLAugust 25, 2018
Like to work but sometimes hour where difficult to work for being in high school. Wished I had more training hands on instead of reading it in a book and being expected to know what I was doing.
Pros
Had a green meal when I worked
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Workplace
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 24, 2018
Village Inn puts a lot of work at being not only a legitimate restaurant but also a lot of quality at being a good one. Employee's work hard to maintain the company's rules and standards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Village Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 737 reviews
5223
4197
3185
268
164

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture