Village Inn Employee Reviews

Found 898 reviews matching the search See all 901 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great small business to work at.
Assistant Cook (Former Employee) –  Chippewa Lake, OH 44215May 21, 2019
Needed to be fast paced to keep up with orders and low number of kitchen staff. Learned how to better time manage while on the job. Need to know how to get along with all sorts of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food supervisor
Restaurant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COMay 20, 2019
Working here was very challenging, I was working many hours trying to keep this place in good standing. I was trained in all departments in case certain employees did not do the required work that was required. This made it a hostile work environment because i was constantly doing others jobs and was not getting the pay for it.
Pros
I learned the restaurant industry
Cons
Too much work, not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family oriented work environment
General Manager (GM) (Current Employee) –  South Ogden, UTMay 20, 2019
Know what to expect on a daily basis but work load is different on a day to day basis.
Company had never made a promise that wasn't kept.
Family oriented culture.
Pros
Health care and other benefits offered on a corporate level.
Cons
Health care benefits not offered on a franchise basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super average time
Shift Lead/Sever (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEMay 19, 2019
it's a serving job and it pays the bills, pie rush is a rough day but if you play it right you can make a ton of cash. the management needs work, and schedules are weird around holidays
Pros
it's easy, server life
Cons
they don't care too much about servers because of the high turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright experience
Server (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 18, 2019
My coworkers were very fun , my regulars are so sweet so were a good deal of customers , liked most my managers but when i brought up me not getting enough hours , my hours were completely cutt... Really unprofessional and i need money for bills I was just trying to get even more hours ...
Pros
discounts, cool staff
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my coworkers
Server (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 17, 2019
Good manager and employees. I love the morning shift hrs. The manager is new and very helpfull in all deoartmenta. Good cuatomer base. A very nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Saint George, UTMay 16, 2019
Would never recommend this place for anyone expect high school students, management is awful, a lot of drama, and scheduling wasn’t a priority to the management team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love family ran eatery s
Server/kitchens supervisor (Former Employee) –  River Ridge, LAMay 16, 2019
Village inn is known for their seafood...I my opinion, they do have the best boiled seafood in the area..it's a family owned establishment that was closed on Sunday and monday
Pros
Family owned
Cons
A bit outdated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great family enviroment
cook and sever (Current Employee) –  Murray, UTMay 14, 2019
so when you go out to eat with your family, mine will be taking care of you. they have such amazing empolyees that are very attentive to their guests and make you feel welcome. Also their food is amazing they have some of the best cook for a diner style resturant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers are on a power trip and extremly disrespectful to their employees.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMay 8, 2019
No matter how much experience you have they will pay the same as cooks that have not cooked at all. While a drug dealer that sells drugs out of the kitchen every shift gets 40 hours and the best treatment. This job has been the worst job I have ever worked at. I do not feel like there was any room for growth. Was constantly disrespected and always left work feeling unappreciated because the managers play favorites.
Pros
50% on lunch. Not great
Cons
Getting paid the same as inexperienced cooks .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 6, 2019
VI has no manager with intelligence. Only reason I said was because I needed the money. The crew runs the show and guest enjoy watching the servers fight.
Pros
Pie
Cons
Poor work environment and negative attitude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place fast paced
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZMay 2, 2019
I have been with the company a little over a year,i love it the ppl the management.i love to cook period.good food good people,would like to get a 2nd job for more money
Pros
Breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks , over worked and underpaid
Cook (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 1, 2019
The managers aren't helpful when employees need /ask for help , they pick favorites and are mostly in the office , they don't follow company policy but tell at employees when something isn't done , over worked and under paid , don't expect a raise even though they will make promises to do so , and when u work overtime u don't get paid time and half
Pros
Discount on food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mixed
Cook (Former Employee) –  Lincoln NEApril 24, 2019
Work was ok and my first boss was great, my second boss not so much enough trouble for me to quit. if my original boss was still my boss i would be working there to this day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Pay Toxic Workplace
Server/Manager (Former Employee) –  Highlands Ranch, COApril 21, 2019
The pay here is decent, but only because this is one of the busiest Colorado locations. It's more work than seems fair: they're understaffed, so side work is insane. Everyone seems to hate their job, so the environment is toxic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like family
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEApril 21, 2019
I love working for such a great company , I grew up there pretty much because my mom worked there for many years. It is like family and the managers are always willing to go above and beyond!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I took pride in cleaning most of all and everyone was happy with my job.
Server (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARApril 20, 2019
I would go in to work and wait on customers, clean and sanitize, handle disputes, handle money, answer phone, and sell the stores product, follow safety rules and work as a team member.
Pros
I took pride in cleaning
Cons
sometimes it was hard to balance prepping and cleaning with customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very toxic place
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAApril 16, 2019
This was a very toxic place to work. The management bullied their employs. They had no proper cleaning supplies and was just a gross place to work and eat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAApril 13, 2019
The management is never up front when they are supposed to be. The productive in the kitchen is bot up to standards and they cooks come in dirty ripped jeans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Busser (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTApril 12, 2019
Decent place that payed well for a first job, but if you weren’t a cook you didn’t really get payed well. Management was alright, but they didn’t really care if you were overloaded with work they kinda just said deal with it.
Pros
Pay, breaks, meal deals
Cons
Management, pay, relations with other employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Village Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 901 reviews
5268
4240
3227
285
181

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture