Play YouTube video button

VIPKID Employee Reviews for Instructor

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 355 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
VIPKID selected this as a representative review
It's a great company to work for if you're looking for additional income.
Freelance Tutor (Current Employee) –  RemoteJanuary 2, 2019
I like the educational resources they provide for their teachers to help them learn and grow. I love that I can make my own schedule and work from almost anywhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work from home in your pj's.
Online Instructor (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 1, 2019
Wake up at 5:00 on weekday mornings, teach for an hour and a half, go about your day, repeat. With lesson planning done for you, one-on-one teacher/student classes, and the comfort of your own home, this gig is a stay at home mom's dream. The pay is enough to supplement to cover expenses like utility bills, car payments, or groceries.
Pros
You make your work schedule.
Cons
Available hours are very early in the morning and your pay is based on your availability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vipkid
instructor (Current Employee) –  Home BasedFebruary 25, 2019
VIPKID is the best part job. Work from home. Make your own schedule. Make anywhere from $16 to $24 per hour. ESL to children from China, online. Must have a Bachelors degree (in anything) and a North American Accent.
Pros
Work from home.
Cons
Classes early morning/ late at night ( pro, if job is p/t supplement).
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible schedule
Instructor (Current Employee) –  GANovember 10, 2018
work your own schedule
company supports the teachers
ample on the job training
incentives for teachers that teach often'
chance for advancement within
Pros
the salary
Cons
curriculum
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Online Instructor (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 11, 2018
Competitive class bookings and relaxed work environment (home)

Payments were monthly

Paid Referrals

Technical support when needed

Friendly interview
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor law violation
Online Instructor (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 20, 2018
This company promotes by encouraging teachers to get noticed by volunteering. This is a clear violation of labor law in the US and it’s only a matter of time before they are reported
Pros
None
Cons
Free labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 70No 22Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding
Instructor (Current Employee) –  215 Silver Creek Lane, Shelby NC 28152June 21, 2018
I teach from my home, but the company is based our of China. I determine the number of classes I do each day/week. The time is very flexible and accommodating. Pay is great and I qualified for a raise after my first year. I am not sure of the policy after your first raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome flexibility with room to increase pay
TEFL Instructor (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMay 9, 2018
One of the best jobs to make money on the side, or even go full time if you are interested in working a lot of morning or evening hours. Able to plan your own schedule and take vacation any time you want. No company benefits are included.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
low stability. Could be fired at any time
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am SO HAPPY with my job
ESOL Instructor (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 23, 2018
This has been one of the best experiences of my life. I adore my students and my parents are involved and amazing. I can't ever imagine not working there, even if my hours drastically reduce when I get a full time job. It has made me a more effective communicator, a more responsible contractor, and brought me more joy than I could have ever imagined.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for EFL instruction
EFL Instructor (Current Employee) –  OnlineApril 21, 2018
If you can get up at 3:00am with a smile on your face, then the hours won't kill you. They'll wear you out but are not fatal. I love the children I teach. I truly enjoy teaching English as a Foreign Language. They are very strict, almost suffocating, in their rules. You have to be okay with contract status and follow their rules closely. I enjoy the job and the experience. It pays well and they treat teachers as the professionals we are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day is finished by 9 in the morning.
Instructor (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, MNJanuary 1, 2018
The children are adorable, but getting up so early in the morning can be difficult. I like the fact that I don't have to prepare a lesson plan e.very day, and the testing is easy to administer
Was this review helpful?Yes 52No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work from home but gets lonely and hours can be rough
INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 11, 2017
Its been super helpful during a time that I needed to work from home but the job can get boring after a while. The pay isn't bad but there are no benefits and no paid time off.
Pros
work from anywhere
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 129No 22Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to earn a little extra income
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC virtualOctober 9, 2017
Good additional income for all teachers. Nice to set your own schedule. Poor coordination of employees needs concerns. Fair pay for the flexibility it offers.
Pros
make your own schedule
Cons
working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report

See more VIPKID reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VIPKID. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 355 reviews
5187
478
327
213
150

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.7InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

4.2Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight