Virginia College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad News
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 11, 2018
This company is all about numbers and not education. I had students that could not speak a work of English in my class. I was told I had to make it work and they had to pass no matter what. I had no interpreter or any help from the school. I ended up using google translate to try and help. The students did not exceed and I was reprimanded for it. Education should matter more than numbers. Numbers mean nothing if your students are set up to fail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment and great people to work with
STUDENT FINANCE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALOctober 6, 2018
Working for Virginia College has helped me gain the momentum I needed to be a better leader, colleague, and asset to the company or any company. They training and skills that was consistently provided gave me the tools I need to be successful in not only the Student Finance aspect, but overall as a manager. The best part of being at Virginia College was the culture. Our Campus President made sure that we felt like family and always had an open-door policy where no subject discussed was taboo.
Pros
positive and family oriented culture, great work-life balance, great pay
Cons
nothing bad to say at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive , well teaching , family oriented
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 6, 2018
nice people very family oriented , i learned how to pack pills , count pills , medical terminology. The was never a hard part i found it very easy , i loved learning new things.
Pros
well teaching
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All for the students
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 3, 2018
It is an Adjunct teaching position so you probably need something else going on to sure up the salary, it also changes every quarter. They try to pay as little as possible to faculty and staff to keep costs down.
Pros
Teaching the students is purposeful
Cons
Adjunct position, no benefits, temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admissions Representative
Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSOctober 2, 2018
this company was very professional and put the students first; there was work/life balance for employees and employees were paid generously; the entire faculty and staff cared about the students and their job at hand; I am very grateful for the opportunity working at Virginia college
Pros
overtime
Cons
one late night and one Saturday a month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping people change their lives
Admissions Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSOctober 2, 2018
I moved to Jackson Mississippi to begin my position as a recruiter with 7 years of experience recruiting for technical colleges. My responsibilities were to recruit new students for diploma, associates and bachelor's degree programs.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Company closed campuses without notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work place
Part-Time Medical Assistant Instructor (Former Employee) –  Macon, GA 31206September 30, 2018
A typical day at VC was teaching the medical assistant students during evening/night classes. I learned that I was born to serve and teach others and help them succeed in life. The management team was insightful and helpful. The workplace culture was relaxed but purpose driven. Every aspect of this job came with ease for me as I was a substitute teacher for several years. The most enjoyable part of the job was watching the students learn and meet their academic goals.
Pros
Teaching eager learners
Cons
working in the evenings/night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local for-profit institution
Student Teacher, Business Department (Current Employee) –  Saint Leo, FLSeptember 26, 2018
I have worked for Virginia College for about 5 years teaching all of their business curriculum to include Accounting 1 and 2, Financial Analysis, Management, Marketing, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GASeptember 23, 2018
In the beginning the culture was all about helping prospective students advance with new careers. Eventually it became a stressful numbers gain. At the end when we got a new Campus President it began to feel like we were productive and helping the community again.
Pros
great pay
Cons
Seedy atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virginia College
Cosmetology Instructor (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 19, 2018
I have worked here on and off as a Substitute for years and the Students are very Supportive of good teachers. The new Manager is a good Manager and friend to everyone and always wants the Students to succeed. She is always available and has a good attitude.
Pros
Flexible with other jobs.
Cons
Not strict enough Accredadations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virginia College is a great place to work.
Adjunct Instructor, Medical Assistant Program (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCSeptember 19, 2018
I would recommend anyone who enjoys teaching students to apply. I have worked for 3 years and have taught many students. The students are wonderful and very knowledgeable.
Pros
Pay is wonderful.
Cons
Do not have a fixed schedule and sometimes schedule is not known until a few days before class.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They Mistreat Staff
Administrative Assistant/Federal Work Study (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 18, 2018
The culture is very cut throat. The staff and administration are spread very thin, micromanaged and often terminated swiftly without proper explanation, usually due to personal or corporate politics. Ironically I was very satisfied with my student experience at this facility.
Pros
Company sponsored lunches for certain levels of staff
Cons
Hostile work environment, stressful work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time there was enjoyable.
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALSeptember 14, 2018
A typical day at work involved teach two different classes and interacting with students.

The culture was comfortable and the management and fellow employees were supportive and helpful.

Te most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with new students at the beginning of their advanced education experience.
Pros
The management personnel.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rate
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCSeptember 13, 2018
I give the company three stars. I would recommend more full time positions. A better salary based off educational background, experience and educational levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fulfilling Work Helping Others Change Their Lives
Admissions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALSeptember 13, 2018
A typical day at work consists of making as many contacts as possible with potential students, conducting interviews, giving tours of the campus, and reviewing the curriculum and programs offered on campus.
I learned how to work with people of all backgrounds and work with the demographics who were interested in going to school at the college I worked at.
Management offered opportunities to grow.
Workplace culture was a place of respect and fairness.
The hardest part of the job was not being to hard on myself. There were weekly metrics that I consistently met but that could be a little stressful.
The best part of the job was watching students achieve their life goals and graduate from college and then thrive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding place to work
Enrollment Specialist Level III (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALSeptember 12, 2018
Productive and rewarding place to work
Implement and utilize strategies for the recruitment and selection of qualified applicants for admission to programs offered at Virginia Colle
Pros
productive and rewarding place to workp
Cons
Campus Closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going Back to School!
Career Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALSeptember 12, 2018
Working in a school/education have been somewhat of a surprise for me. I really enjoy working with the students and guiding them in their finding their career path. It's an emotionally rewarding job!
Pros
Great team to work with
Cons
Location is a bit hidden
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bless the faculty and staff
Cosmetology Instructor - Pivot Point Curriculum (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALSeptember 10, 2018
Just poor and unconcerned management no one wants to do more than their job description until its to late God bless the faculty and staff of this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented environmemt
Student Finance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 10, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job was the team that I have worked with. The guidance, support, and the togetherness boosted the moral in the working environment. Opportunities to take on projects and expand on new knowledge and skills.
Pros
Team building activities, Involved staff/faculty and student activities.
Cons
Working late hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the school is about to shut down
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKSeptember 6, 2018
I would not suggest anyone with any sense to work at Virginia College. The worst college, and you better pray that your credits will transfer. The management staff was awful. Ghetto College
Pros
The programs were great!
Cons
the kind of student that were there was Ghetto
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 510 reviews
5145
4145
3106
254
160

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.3

2.2Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight