Virginia Department of Health Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 148 reviews
Ratings breakdown
547
453
326
215
17
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 148 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the deteiroation of VDH
Office Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAAugust 28, 2018
Overall when I started it was a fabulous place to work at. Sadly due to so many administration staff changes to include Medical director it has gone down hill in 10 yrs. I was glad to leave when I did
Pros
serving our community
Cons
lack of respect from the administration staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed going to work every day
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Warrenton, VAAugust 24, 2018
The pay was low But my work hours were flexible.
They always had some special projects I could work on, keeping the job interesting.
I was given time off for family medical problems.
We parted on good terms.
Pros
Flexable schedual.
Cons
Not any to speak of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm work environment and helpful coworkers
Environmental Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, VAAugust 22, 2018
From management to fellow coworkers, everyone is willing to help one another complete projects and meet deadlines. The workload can be substantial, however it is not insurmountable. If you enjoy being outdoors, there are plenty of opportunities to get out of the office to survey or inspect local well and septic projects.
Pros
Great coworkers and work environment
Cons
not much room for career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, proficient and kind
Medical Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Culpeper, VAAugust 16, 2018
It's usually a challenge when the mayority of your co-workers are women.. but apart from the inevitable challenges, I enjoyed working at VDH. Everyone was very kind to me. From Environmental Health, to Admin. to the nurses, the supervisors, and also WIC staff. I have no complaints.
Pros
friendly staff, helping the public, lots of training, free snacks, discounts
Cons
PT hours reduction, gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome people to work with
Patient Care Technician/Community Health Worker (Current Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VAAugust 15, 2018
It’s a great place to work. Great teamwork. Very supportive, have learned a lot. Get free trainings. Opportunity to help people, paid time off, holidays and personal and sick leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apply to another agency
Full Time Employee (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 5, 2018
The Office of Health Equity was the worse office to work in. That experience alone, has prevented me from wanting to step foot back in the door. No opportunity for advancement, and no respect at all. Extremely low morale.
Pros
You get to clock out and leave on time.
Cons
You have to tuck your tail and just obey all orders from management. If you a favorite, you get special treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, poor management
Health Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Danville, VAAugust 2, 2018
Management is terrible. Employees get reprimanded for management's mess ups. You have to work under conditions that are unsafe for your license. Management does not seem to care about staff. There is obvious racism which makes for a hostile work environment.
Pros
insurance, pension
Cons
management, no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Department
Breastfeeding Peer Counselor (Former Employee) –  VirginiaAugust 2, 2018
Loved working with pregnant and breastfeeding mothers. Loved every aspect of the job. Loved everyone I worked with. Truly loved working with new mothers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Quiet workplace
Program Administration Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 1, 2018
Very fast pace alot of customer service as well as reporting involved.
Enjoyed the work that i did there;however, it was only and temp job and I was not offered and position as a full time employee. As tho, I was looking to become full time I would have continue as a temp until hired.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
last minute communications
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and help the public
Breastfeeding Peer Counselor (Current Employee) –  VirginiaJuly 25, 2018
Public health field is rewarding, environment is relaxed but can be fast paced at times. Dress code is business casual and environment is collaborative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
ADAP Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAJuly 10, 2018
You are usually able to take your breaks.
Able to work independently.
Great state benefits.
Great state holidays
Co-workers are enjoyable to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a temporary assignment
Document Prep Person (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 6, 2018
Very easy work and very laid back, loved working with my co workers and doing the work. People we worked for was a 3rd party company from Florida who was doing yearly audit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Nutrition Assistant (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 5, 2018
Management does very well with accommodating every employee to do better with their job and also working with the Richmond team to increase the salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Data Entry Specialist- Entered (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 2, 2018
The work is not very stressful. I was only part time so was not able to get full benefits. My boss was very kind and flexible with my hours. Everyone allow you space and ample time to get your work done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bureaucratic large organization
Health - Temporary (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 29, 2018
While a new graduate would receive experience with health care administration, the organization is very large and bureaucratic and not innovative.

It is a quintessential 9 to 5 environment. Entrepreneurial types may not do well here.
Pros
Work experience; and, acclimation to community stakeholders
Cons
bureaucracy and lack of innovation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended for employment
SPECIAL NUTRITION PROGRAMS SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 27, 2018
Not recommended. No room for advancement within. Reactive never proactive. Would not recommend employment as no follow through. Very high turn over rate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Administrative & Office Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 13, 2018
I have worked for the Virginia Department of Health for 6 years. I do not have anything negative to say about my job. I enjoy my coworkers and the work environment.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as an intern
Intern- Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VA 23219June 7, 2018
supporting users with their PC problems
how to replace PC hardware
Manager was very nice and helpful
Learning Opportunities, Responsibility and Team work
Enjoyed the experience of working in a technical environment
Pros
Good starting point to build resume
Cons
would have liked to spend more time on the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
District IT Analyst (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMay 24, 2018
VDH is a very stable workplace. The benefits are meh but if stability is your thing, this is the place for you. Management is open to suggestions however the culture at VDH is one where change never happens.
Pros
Stability in the workplace
Cons
Meh benefits and older workforce is uanble to try new ideas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Eligibility Worker-Office Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAMay 22, 2018
Positive atmosphere, supervisor was knowledgeable but over worked. Clients were respectful for most part but there were some difficulties. The most enjoyable life long friendships with co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Department of Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight