Virginia Hospital Center Employee Reviews

Found 274 reviews matching the search See all 277 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent co-workers.
Part-time Medical Imaging Receptionist, Weekends (Former Employee) –  1701 N George Mason DrFebruary 10, 2019
This was an excellent part-time employment; bi-weekly, weekend evenings. Co-workers were professional as well as easy to work with. The pace of work depended on number of in-house and ER patients. Even at busiest times, co-workers coordinated their efforts making the environment less stressful.
Pros
Co-workers.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast, helpful
Emergency Department Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 8, 2019
The Hospital is great, especially if you are a new student coming out of a program. They will teach you a lot here, The Hospital is small everyone feels like family.
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean
Supervisor Arlean Gross (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 6, 2019
I did enjoy the enviorment and atmosphere there at the hospital and the overall community . People were friendly too . good job to work at thanks for the experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJanuary 22, 2019
I enjoyed working here the culture was great and the people were friendly. I just lived 2 hours away from the facility so I had to relocate to somewhere closer but I wish it was so much closer!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case Manager
Nurse Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAJanuary 16, 2019
Salaried Job. Average work day is very busy, very often 9-10 hour days. Sometime more. Team to work with is great. Hospital is Magnet, and does try to be excellent
Pros
Culture, team
Cons
Work life balance poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm happy to hear that you are enjoying your team and the culture here at Virginia Hospital Center - I know what a big difference that makes! I also know what a big difference work life balance can make, both for you and the patients in our care. I'd love to speak with you about your suggestions regarding work life balance. Please feel free to reach out to me at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com to schedule a time to talk. Thank you for everything you do for our patients and team. -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Orthopedic Technician (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 26, 2018
Great place for work. Everyone works great together to get things done on a daily basis. Nurses work well with doctors and the communication is superb. I've really enjoyed working here so far.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
February 4, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm so happy to hear that you are loving the team atmosphere. I know what a difference that makes, and it's one of the things I love most about VHC as well. Thank you for being a part of our team and for everything you do for our patients! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was not supportive
E-Learning Administrator (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 19, 2018
This organization was a challenge to work for; the management was not supportive and the team was disorganized. I would highly recommend this hospital for care, but not working in the IT department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
February 4, 2019

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. I am disheartened to hear that you did not feel supported in your position. Would you be open to sharing more about your experience with us? If so, I can be reached directly at VHCExperience@virginialhospitalcenter.com. Thank you for your service to our patients and team. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent teaching hospital
Radiographer - PRN (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 13, 2018
VHC is a wonderful teaching hospital where students are taught to focus on patient care in all aspects. All employees are skilled not only in their scope of practice but patient care centered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

Thank you for sharing this. It is evident in your review that you also place a high importance on patient care, and we thank you for that commitment during your time with us! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent teamwork!
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 11, 2018
The staff at VHC are wonderful examples of professional nursing. Very knowledgeable and competent. Patients are always safe and protected while in their care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

Thank you for your kind words -- and for your service to our patients and our team! We pride ourselves on having the best nurses in the business, and I love hearing that you felt supported during your time with us. Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience at VHC. -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a horrible place to work
Clinical Nurse Labor and Delivery (Former Employee) –  Arlington, MDDecember 6, 2018
The unit I worked on was labor and delivery. Management is not at all flexible when it comes to scheduling shifts for their RNs. Very short of staff..
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

Hi there - I am saddened to hear that you did not feel supported in your position. Would you be willing to speak to me in greater detail about your experience? I can be reached directly at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Thank you for your time with us at Virginia Hospital Center and your service to our patients. -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Hospital
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 1, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed working for VHC. The staff on the unit that I worked was great and always helpful especially for new staff members. If short staffed they worked with other units to fulfill staffing needs.
Pros
Ability to choose your schedule
Cons
Floating to another unit
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at Virginia Hospital Center, and that you felt supported by your coworkers. We have an incredible team here, and I thank you for being a part of that. Best of luck in your next adventure! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, great when fully staffed
RN (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 30, 2018
VHC is a good hospital to work for, benefits are great. Teamwork is amazing on my floor. Long hours, heavy patient load. Short staffed a lot. Upper management does not assist when units do not have enough nurses to safely staff units. They do not like to hire travelers due to cost.
Pros
Self scheduling
Cons
Heavy patient load, in staffing too much to be able to accomplish other tasks without staying late or coming in extra
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share this. I'm glad to hear that you are enjoying your team - I know what a big difference that makes in career satisfaction. I'd be happy to discuss nurse patient ratios with you in greater detail. We do review and adjust ratios as needed based on national standards and benchmarks. As you can imagine, they do change over time, so it's always on our radar. Please feel free to reach out to me at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com to schedule a time to talk. Thank you for everything you do for our patients and VHC team! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 29, 2018
The workplace culture is fine and management try to encourage learning and advancement. I would recommend it as a place to work but it is a quite isolated location
Pros
Nice colleagues
Cons
Too isolated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

Thank you for sharing this. I'm happy to hear you feel it is a great place to work, but of course sorry to hear that you feel isolated from the rest of the team. Would you like to chat about opportunities to feel more connected? You can reach me directly at mmalone@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Thank you for everything that you do to keep our hospital system running at its best! -- Mike Malone, Chief Human Resource Office

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Communications Specialist (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 15, 2018
Always short staff.
Have to learn and know so much information
The Pay rate is unbelievable Low
Not a department i would recommend
Always busy. Dont have to much of a down time
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Very Low Pay Rate !
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

Thank you for sharing. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our benefits package, I am concerned about the experience you had here at Virginia Hospital Center.Would you kindly reach out to me at MMalone@virginiahospitalcenter.com to discuss this in greater detail? -- Mike Malone, Chief Human Resource Officer

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is horrible do not waste your time applying for this job
Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  VirginiaNovember 13, 2018
Management sucks! They don’t care about their employees they are very evil and nasty do not trust anything they tell you they will fire you for absolutely nothing! I honestly wasted my time and should’ve applied for another department EVS SUCKS at this hospital they are liars and they’ll make you look bad very bad! They don’t like new comers they make you feel like an outsider and once again they lie don’t apply
Pros
No pros
Cons
They don’t let you work in peace, they lie on you
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

I am deeply troubled by your feedback regarding your experience at Virginia Hospital Center and would like to discuss this in greater detail. If you are open to that, would you please contact me directly at mmalone@virginiahospitalcenter.com to set up a time to talk? -- Mike Malone, Chief Human Resource Officer

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
RN Surgical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 13, 2018
they help you out with achieve your goal for your career. They assist in your need in spiritual. There are people who looks out for you, if you are need assisting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
January 14, 2019

Thank you for sharing this. I am happy to hear that you felt supported in your position at Virginia Hospital Center. Thank you for your time with us and your service to our patients! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship opportunity!
INTERN (Former Employee) –  Carlin SpringsNovember 2, 2018
I worked in the Health Promotion Department and received great guidance from my management team. They allowed me a lot of creative freedom in creating content for distribution in the hospital and encouraged me to try different things within the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
November 6, 2018

Thank you for choosing Virginia Hospital Center for your internship! I'm glad to hear you loved the experience (they do have a lot of fun in Health Promotion!). Best of luck in wherever your career takes you. When the time comes to enter the workforce full-time, we hope you'll consider VHC. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experience
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 15, 2018
I was there for only 2 months as a student in the RN Return to Practice program through GMU School of Nursing. My experience was limited to a small group of patients and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 29, 2018

Thank you for sharing. I would love any insight you could provide on your time here and what would have made it a better experience for you. I can be reached directly at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Wishing you all the best in your nursing career -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Nurse Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 11, 2018
I have worked as both a nurse and an RN case manager at VHC, and can proudly say that I respect the hospital and those who work here. You can see that there are dedicated people who truly care about the well being of their patients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 29, 2018

Thank you so much for sharing this. We truly have the most amazing team here at VHC, and it makes a world of difference to our patients. Thank you for being a part of our team and for your dedication to our patients! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Labor and Delivery RN (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 11, 2018
Virginia Hospital Center is the first hospital I worked as a nurse and learned how to become a nurse. I appreciated the opportunity to work there and become a competent RN
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 29, 2018

Thank you for choosing us as your first hospital and for your service to our patients. I am curious about the reasons for your 3-star rating, and would like to hear any additional feedback you could provide about your experience at VHC. We're committed to being both the best hospital and best workplace in our area, and would appreciate any insight you could provide. I can be reached directly at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Thanks again for your time with us at VHC and best of luck in your newest venture. -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Hospital Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 277 reviews
5103
474
346
223
131

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight