Virginia Hospital Center Employee Reviews

Found 266 reviews matching the search See all 268 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a horrible place to work
Clinical Nurse Labor and Delivery (Former Employee) –  Arlington, MDDecember 6, 2018
The unit I worked on was labor and delivery. Management is not at all flexible when it comes to scheduling shifts for their RNs. Very short of staff..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Hospital
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 1, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed working for VHC. The staff on the unit that I worked was great and always helpful especially for new staff members. If short staffed they worked with other units to fulfill staffing needs.
Pros
Ability to choose your schedule
Cons
Floating to another unit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, great when fully staffed
RN (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 30, 2018
VHC is a good hospital to work for, benefits are great. Teamwork is amazing on my floor. Long hours, heavy patient load. Short staffed a lot. Upper management does not assist when units do not have enough nurses to safely staff units. They do not like to hire travelers due to cost.
Pros
Self scheduling
Cons
Heavy patient load, in staffing too much to be able to accomplish other tasks without staying late or coming in extra
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 29, 2018
The workplace culture is fine and management try to encourage learning and advancement. I would recommend it as a place to work but it is a quite isolated location
Pros
Nice colleagues
Cons
Too isolated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Communications Specialist (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 15, 2018
Always short staff.
Have to learn and know so much information
The Pay rate is unbelievable Low
Not a department i would recommend
Always busy. Dont have to much of a down time
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Very Low Pay Rate !
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is horrible do not waste your time applying for this job
Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  VirginiaNovember 13, 2018
Management sucks! They don’t care about their employees they are very evil and nasty do not trust anything they tell you they will fire you for absolutely nothing! I honestly wasted my time and should’ve applied for another department EVS SUCKS at this hospital they are liars and they’ll make you look bad very bad! They don’t like new comers they make you feel like an outsider and once again they lie don’t apply
Pros
No pros
Cons
They don’t let you work in peace, they lie on you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
RN Surgical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 13, 2018
they help you out with achieve your goal for your career. They assist in your need in spiritual. There are people who looks out for you, if you are need assisting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship opportunity!
INTERN (Former Employee) –  Carlin SpringsNovember 2, 2018
I worked in the Health Promotion Department and received great guidance from my management team. They allowed me a lot of creative freedom in creating content for distribution in the hospital and encouraged me to try different things within the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
November 6, 2018

Thank you for choosing Virginia Hospital Center for your internship! I'm glad to hear you loved the experience (they do have a lot of fun in Health Promotion!). Best of luck in wherever your career takes you. When the time comes to enter the workforce full-time, we hope you'll consider VHC. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experience
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 15, 2018
I was there for only 2 months as a student in the RN Return to Practice program through GMU School of Nursing. My experience was limited to a small group of patients and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 29, 2018

Thank you for sharing. I would love any insight you could provide on your time here and what would have made it a better experience for you. I can be reached directly at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Wishing you all the best in your nursing career -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Nurse Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 11, 2018
I have worked as both a nurse and an RN case manager at VHC, and can proudly say that I respect the hospital and those who work here. You can see that there are dedicated people who truly care about the well being of their patients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 29, 2018

Thank you so much for sharing this. We truly have the most amazing team here at VHC, and it makes a world of difference to our patients. Thank you for being a part of our team and for your dedication to our patients! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Labor and Delivery RN (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 11, 2018
Virginia Hospital Center is the first hospital I worked as a nurse and learned how to become a nurse. I appreciated the opportunity to work there and become a competent RN
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 29, 2018

Thank you for choosing us as your first hospital and for your service to our patients. I am curious about the reasons for your 3-star rating, and would like to hear any additional feedback you could provide about your experience at VHC. We're committed to being both the best hospital and best workplace in our area, and would appreciate any insight you could provide. I can be reached directly at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Thanks again for your time with us at VHC and best of luck in your newest venture. -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Registered Ultrasound Technologist (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 1, 2018
I have enjoyed VHC. Until a recent new manager began in our practice, we have always had a very proactive, learning environment. For the most part the hospital encourages staff to be proactive in providing patient care. Teamwork is encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 29, 2018

Thank you so much for sharing this. We truly have the most amazing team here at VHC, and it makes a world of difference to our patients. Thank you for being a part of our team and for your dedication to our patients! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as Concierge
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 21, 2018
I greeted people all day at Front Desk
I LOVED this job.
Great people worked at this hospital, some of my dearest friends still now are people I met while working here.
Pros
Great Colleagues
Cons
Cafeteria food is just not up to par of what you expect a World Class Hospital would offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 16, 2018

As a concierge, you had one of the most important roles at VHC, and I'm so happy to hear that you loved the experience. Thank you for helping our patients and their families navigate our hospital. While you are no longer with us, I'm happy to share that we have an expansion of the cafeteria currently underway that will be a great benefit for our team here. Best of luck to you in your newest venture! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with a perfect team work
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 20, 2018
Work with a perfect team with flexible scheduled, Nice doctors with special care and perfect attributed, great team work in the practice with friendly and welcoming coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 16, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience, and for being a part of our team. I completely agree with you that we have amazing staff here at Virginia Hospital Center, and that makes all the difference. Thank you for everything you do for our patients and staff! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with good benefits
ICU Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 18, 2018
This is a good hospital to work at. Every staff at the hospital is friendly and works togther as a team. The benefits are good as well. you get free ER visits and free labor and delivery. Management is good and you get a good amount of PTO every 3 months. What I enjoyed in my line of duty was being able to help patients and families and nurses with office duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I'm happy to hear you are loving our people and benefits package. We know how important both of those are for career satisfaction! Thank you for being a part of our team! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant, friendly environment
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 5, 2018
The hospital is going through a few changes in upper management,but the friendliness of the staff and patients is still very evident. The quality of care is great and for nurses their is a clinical ladder and additional funding for additional education. Unfortunately, people not in nursing positions have little options to further their education through hospital funded education opportunities. Overall; this a good community hospital for the staff and the patients a like.
Pros
great atmosphere, good quality of care
Cons
poor advancement opportunities for those not in a clinical position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I'm happy to hear you are loving the work environment - we know what a difference that makes in job satisfaction. I'd be happy to discuss career advancement and continuing education opportunities with you. Please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com to set up a time to discuss. Thank you for being a part of our team! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for advancement
Environmental Service Aide (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAAugust 27, 2018
Virginia Hospital Center was a great experience although the compensation can be mich better.
I loved the team staff and co workers were great to be around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
September 30, 2018

I absolutely agree that we have an amazing team here at Virginia Hospital Center. It makes a tremendous difference in job satisfaction when you like the people you work with. We do work very hard to offer competitive pay and benefits and are committed to conducting ongoing, comprehensive salary reviews. Thank you for sharing your experience, and for being a part of our team! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work
Environmental Specialist (Former Employee) –  United StatesJuly 25, 2018
Was a learning and helpful job. Very Thankful for all the knowledge that was provided to me while here. I never want to stop learning about this field.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Very short lunch breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
September 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your time with us! I'm happy to hear that you learned a lot on the job. Thank you for your service to our patients and team while you were here. Best of luck in your latest career adventure! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
PSR (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 25, 2018
Working The Physician Services division of Virginia Hospital I was micro managed, bullied by management and ignored by the VP, poorly trained and watch people get fired every month. No accountability from my co workers. Short lunches.
Pros
Free Parking at the Alexandria location, pay
Cons
Vp, management, co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
September 30, 2018

Thank you for sharing. I am deeply troubled by your experience during your time with us. Would you kindly reach out to me at MMalone@virginiahospitalcenter.com to discuss this in greater detail.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Emergency Room Registration Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJuly 5, 2018
Decent place to work. Atmosphere is portrayed to be caring and family oriented but is not. Very low wages compared to other hospitals in the area. Some superior managers have no regards to talk to employees as human beings
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
September 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I have shared your feedback with our management team. We have strive to cultivate a spirit of openness and teamwork at VHC. I would appreciate any additional feedback you can share. Please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com to set up a time to talk. I wish you the best of luck in your next venture. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Hospital Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 268 reviews
599
471
344
223
131

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight