Virginia Hospital Center Employee Reviews

Found 258 reviews matching the search See all 260 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experience
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 15, 2018
I was there for only 2 months as a student in the RN Return to Practice program through GMU School of Nursing. My experience was limited to a small group of patients and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Nurse Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 11, 2018
I have worked as both a nurse and an RN case manager at VHC, and can proudly say that I respect the hospital and those who work here. You can see that there are dedicated people who truly care about the well being of their patients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Labor and Delivery RN (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 11, 2018
Virginia Hospital Center is the first hospital I worked as a nurse and learned how to become a nurse. I appreciated the opportunity to work there and become a competent RN
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Registered Ultrasound Technologist (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 1, 2018
I have enjoyed VHC. Until a recent new manager began in our practice, we have always had a very proactive, learning environment. For the most part the hospital encourages staff to be proactive in providing patient care. Teamwork is encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as Concierge
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 21, 2018
I greeted people all day at Front Desk
I LOVED this job.
Great people worked at this hospital, some of my dearest friends still now are people I met while working here.
Pros
Great Colleagues
Cons
Cafeteria food is just not up to par of what you expect a World Class Hospital would offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 16, 2018

As a concierge, you had one of the most important roles at VHC, and I'm so happy to hear that you loved the experience. Thank you for helping our patients and their families navigate our hospital. While you are no longer with us, I'm happy to share that we have an expansion of the cafeteria currently underway that will be a great benefit for our team here. Best of luck to you in your newest venture! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with a perfect team work
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 20, 2018
Work with a perfect team with flexible scheduled, Nice doctors with special care and perfect attributed, great team work in the practice with friendly and welcoming coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 16, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience, and for being a part of our team. I completely agree with you that we have amazing staff here at Virginia Hospital Center, and that makes all the difference. Thank you for everything you do for our patients and staff! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with good benefits
ICU Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 18, 2018
This is a good hospital to work at. Every staff at the hospital is friendly and works togther as a team. The benefits are good as well. you get free ER visits and free labor and delivery. Management is good and you get a good amount of PTO every 3 months. What I enjoyed in my line of duty was being able to help patients and families and nurses with office duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I'm happy to hear you are loving our people and benefits package. We know how important both of those are for career satisfaction! Thank you for being a part of our team! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant, friendly environment
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 5, 2018
The hospital is going through a few changes in upper management,but the friendliness of the staff and patients is still very evident. The quality of care is great and for nurses their is a clinical ladder and additional funding for additional education. Unfortunately, people not in nursing positions have little options to further their education through hospital funded education opportunities. Overall; this a good community hospital for the staff and the patients a like.
Pros
great atmosphere, good quality of care
Cons
poor advancement opportunities for those not in a clinical position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
October 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I'm happy to hear you are loving the work environment - we know what a difference that makes in job satisfaction. I'd be happy to discuss career advancement and continuing education opportunities with you. Please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com to set up a time to discuss. Thank you for being a part of our team! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for advancement
Environmental Service Aide (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAAugust 27, 2018
Virginia Hospital Center was a great experience although the compensation can be mich better.
I loved the team staff and co workers were great to be around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
September 30, 2018

I absolutely agree that we have an amazing team here at Virginia Hospital Center. It makes a tremendous difference in job satisfaction when you like the people you work with. We do work very hard to offer competitive pay and benefits and are committed to conducting ongoing, comprehensive salary reviews. Thank you for sharing your experience, and for being a part of our team! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work
Environmental Specialist (Former Employee) –  United StatesJuly 25, 2018
Was a learning and helpful job. Very Thankful for all the knowledge that was provided to me while here. I never want to stop learning about this field.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Very short lunch breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
September 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your time with us! I'm happy to hear that you learned a lot on the job. Thank you for your service to our patients and team while you were here. Best of luck in your latest career adventure! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
PSR (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 25, 2018
Working The Physician Services division of Virginia Hospital I was micro managed, bullied by management and ignored by the VP, poorly trained and watch people get fired every month. No accountability from my co workers. Short lunches.
Pros
Free Parking at the Alexandria location, pay
Cons
Vp, management, co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
September 30, 2018

Thank you for sharing. I am deeply troubled by your experience during your time with us. Would you kindly reach out to me at MMalone@virginiahospitalcenter.com to discuss this in greater detail.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Emergency Room Registration Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJuly 5, 2018
Decent place to work. Atmosphere is portrayed to be caring and family oriented but is not. Very low wages compared to other hospitals in the area. Some superior managers have no regards to talk to employees as human beings
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
September 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I have shared your feedback with our management team. We have strive to cultivate a spirit of openness and teamwork at VHC. I would appreciate any additional feedback you can share. Please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com to set up a time to talk. I wish you the best of luck in your next venture. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unable to give accurate assessment
Epic Training Analyst (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 18, 2018
unable to give accurate assessment; I was only there on a contracted biases. I made efforts to remain and offer further improvement with my role but was refuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your time with us - and thank you for all of your work to get us onto the EPIC platform! It has made such an amazing difference for our team as well as our patients! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place I have ever worked so far!
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 8, 2018
I relocated from to the DMV area six years ago and when I interviewed in VHC, I fell in love with it. I love working here! In my department (Interventional Radiology), a typical day starts with a huddle and then a team consisting of a Technologist, RN and Doctor is assigned to a room. Several invasive interesting procedures are performed daily and its all about quality patient care and excellent team work here! The management is very flexible and accommodating. My colleagues are amazing and I can confidently say that we can get through a difficult day with ease because of the great team work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for sharing this - I had a similar experience when I first interviewed with VHC! I'm happy to hear that you are finding your work both interesting and enjoyable. Thank you for everything you do for our team and patients! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Systems Interface Analyst (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 29, 2018
I enjoyed working at VHC very much. Management takes the time to understand impediments to your job and try to make the proper adjustments. Very good people working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your position, our people and that you felt listened to. Thank you for your time with us her at VHC, and best of luck to you in your next career adventure! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 21, 2018
Util they change the overall management culture at Virginia Hospital Center ( good ol"boy network) i would not recommend working there especially in the Security Dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Hi there - thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm concerned about your review, and would love to chat more about this with you. I would love the opportunity to chat in greater detail with you about your concerns. If you are open to this, please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginialhospitalcenter.com. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers need diversity training
Floor Technician (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 15, 2018
Managers need diversity training

hardest part of the job is to come into work receive your paycheck and not be told your salary has changed due to job functions - even though you were filling in for someone else's functions for a while (backfill)

workplace culture is difficult if you are of a different nationality
there is a language barrier

management seems to watch out for each other vs. being an advocate for the employees
Pros
Managers need diversity training
Cons
Managers need diversity training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
July 17, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share this. I have also shared this with my colleagues in Human Resources. I am deeply concerned about your experience and would appreciate an opportunity to discuss this in greater detail with you. If you are open to this, please contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Summary
LPN (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 14, 2018
No 2 days are the same, which is excellent. This was my first job out of nursing school. This is the foundation of my nursing career. I learned everything from IV placement to giving blood transfusions. The workplace culture at night was better than daytime. The nurses helped and communicated with each other. The hardest part of the job is the fact that more paperwork was added. The most enjoyable part of job is interacting and caring for the patients.
Pros
Compensation great
Cons
Not able to change units
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Hello! Thank you for choosing Virginia Hospital Center as you first nursing workplace! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoying it overall and learned a lot. I'd love to discuss your experience a bit more to understand why you moved on - it helps us to get betterI If you are open to this, I can be reached directly at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com at any time. Thank you for your time with us here at VHC and for your commitment to our patients! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Office

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Medical Laboratory Technician clinical (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 5, 2018
I had a good clinical rotation in Virginia Hospital Center, the employee are very helpful answering your questions and they explain good. Overall it is positive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us - and for your years of service! I'm happy to hear that you felt it was a positive environment and that you enjoyed your relationship with your coworkers. Best of luck to you in your next adventure! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Patient Care Assistant/Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 3, 2018
I love working here, the people are great, its a great culture, but working as a tech the amount of money that's receive on our checks bi-weekly isn't up to speed with the cost of living.
Pros
great discounts
Cons
breaks are not really honored, constantly working
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I'm happy to hear you are loving our people and the culture. We know how important both of those are for career satisfaction! I'd love to chat with you about your career path here at VHC to see if there are additional opportunities to increase your job satisfaction. If you are open to this, please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginialhospitalcenter.com. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Hospital Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 260 reviews
596
470
343
222
129

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight