Virginia Hospital Center Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 251 reviews
Ratings breakdown
592
467
342
221
129
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 249 reviews matching the search See all 251 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work
Environmental Specialist (Former Employee) –  United StatesJuly 25, 2018
Was a learning and helpful job. Very Thankful for all the knowledge that was provided to me while here. I never want to stop learning about this field.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Very short lunch breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
PSR (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 25, 2018
Working The Physician Services division of Virginia Hospital I was micro managed, bullied by management and ignored by the VP, poorly trained and watch people get fired every month. No accountability from my co workers. Short lunches.
Pros
Free Parking at the Alexandria location, pay
Cons
Vp, management, co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Emergency Room Registration Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJuly 5, 2018
Decent place to work. Atmosphere is portrayed to be caring and family oriented but is not. Very low wages compared to other hospitals in the area. Some superior managers have no regards to talk to employees as human beings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unable to give accurate assessment
Epic Training Analyst (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 18, 2018
unable to give accurate assessment; I was only there on a contracted biases. I made efforts to remain and offer further improvement with my role but was refuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your time with us - and thank you for all of your work to get us onto the EPIC platform! It has made such an amazing difference for our team as well as our patients! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place I have ever worked so far!
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 8, 2018
I relocated from to the DMV area six years ago and when I interviewed in VHC, I fell in love with it. I love working here! In my department (Interventional Radiology), a typical day starts with a huddle and then a team consisting of a Technologist, RN and Doctor is assigned to a room. Several invasive interesting procedures are performed daily and its all about quality patient care and excellent team work here! The management is very flexible and accommodating. My colleagues are amazing and I can confidently say that we can get through a difficult day with ease because of the great team work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for sharing this - I had a similar experience when I first interviewed with VHC! I'm happy to hear that you are finding your work both interesting and enjoyable. Thank you for everything you do for our team and patients! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Systems Interface Analyst (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 29, 2018
I enjoyed working at VHC very much. Management takes the time to understand impediments to your job and try to make the proper adjustments. Very good people working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your position, our people and that you felt listened to. Thank you for your time with us her at VHC, and best of luck to you in your next career adventure! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 21, 2018
Util they change the overall management culture at Virginia Hospital Center ( good ol"boy network) i would not recommend working there especially in the Security Dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Hi there - thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm concerned about your review, and would love to chat more about this with you. I would love the opportunity to chat in greater detail with you about your concerns. If you are open to this, please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginialhospitalcenter.com. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers need diversity training
Floor Technician (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 15, 2018
Managers need diversity training

hardest part of the job is to come into work receive your paycheck and not be told your salary has changed due to job functions - even though you were filling in for someone else's functions for a while (backfill)

workplace culture is difficult if you are of a different nationality
there is a language barrier

management seems to watch out for each other vs. being an advocate for the employees
Pros
Managers need diversity training
Cons
Managers need diversity training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
July 17, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share this. I have also shared this with my colleagues in Human Resources. I am deeply concerned about your experience and would appreciate an opportunity to discuss this in greater detail with you. If you are open to this, please contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Summary
LPN (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 14, 2018
No 2 days are the same, which is excellent. This was my first job out of nursing school. This is the foundation of my nursing career. I learned everything from IV placement to giving blood transfusions. The workplace culture at night was better than daytime. The nurses helped and communicated with each other. The hardest part of the job is the fact that more paperwork was added. The most enjoyable part of job is interacting and caring for the patients.
Pros
Compensation great
Cons
Not able to change units
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Hello! Thank you for choosing Virginia Hospital Center as you first nursing workplace! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoying it overall and learned a lot. I'd love to discuss your experience a bit more to understand why you moved on - it helps us to get betterI If you are open to this, I can be reached directly at MDickersonCNO@virginiahospitalcenter.com at any time. Thank you for your time with us here at VHC and for your commitment to our patients! -- Melody Dickerson, Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Office

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Medical Laboratory Technician clinical (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 5, 2018
I had a good clinical rotation in Virginia Hospital Center, the employee are very helpful answering your questions and they explain good. Overall it is positive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us - and for your years of service! I'm happy to hear that you felt it was a positive environment and that you enjoyed your relationship with your coworkers. Best of luck to you in your next adventure! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Patient Care Assistant/Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 3, 2018
I love working here, the people are great, its a great culture, but working as a tech the amount of money that's receive on our checks bi-weekly isn't up to speed with the cost of living.
Pros
great discounts
Cons
breaks are not really honored, constantly working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I'm happy to hear you are loving our people and the culture. We know how important both of those are for career satisfaction! I'd love to chat with you about your career path here at VHC to see if there are additional opportunities to increase your job satisfaction. If you are open to this, please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginialhospitalcenter.com. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine hospital
non invasive cardiovascvular (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 2, 2018
I was a student during my trimester for non invasive. It only last three month. The lab manager didn't gave us student no attention. SO some co-worker were working so hard with us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your internship experience with us. I'm saddened to hear that you did not feel like you received the attention you were wanting from your lab manager. I'd love to talk more in-depth with your about your internship, to ensure we are proving the experience our interns are looking for. If you are open to this, please reach out to me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heart station
EKG Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 23, 2018
I performed EKG throughout the entire hospital throughout the day as they were order by providers, I also assist cardiology doctors with daily stress test.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for sharing your 5-star workplace experience! Many thanks for your time with us at VHC and your service to our patients in our Cardiolovascular unit. Best of luck to you in your next career adventure! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aramark
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 17, 2018
i was working with Aramark which is contracted with VHC. Aramark's management is very unorganized and unprofessional. I worked for two months without being paid. When finally compensate, it was less than it was suppose to be. Nothing was done on time, and everything was last minute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Hello. I have shared your concerns with our representatives at Aramark. our partner in food services at Virginia Hospital Center. If you would be open to further discussing your concerns, could you please email me directly at lvansyckle@virginialhospitalcenter.com? I would love to set up a time to chat with you and our Aramark team. Thank you for your time supporting our staff, patients and their families during your time in our hospital!

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fast pace enviroment with more opportunities.
Sterile Processing Technician II (Former Employee) –  United State of AmericaApril 15, 2018
Working at Virginia Hospital was a eye opener for me. Will continue to do my best and try to elevate my self as I go along.It is also a good hospital to work.
Pros
More encouragement and elevation of workers.
Cons
Breaks are miss used by works. Too much long breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are certainly a fast-paced environment, which we know is a pro for the majority of our team. I am happy to hear that you felt supported in your position and that you had opportunities to grow during your time with us. Thank you for your time at Virginia Hospital Center, and best of luck in your next career move! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Friendly place to work
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 5, 2018
Great Jobs available and room to switch departments.. Just not room to make more money. Management is ok, and healthy and clean environment. Food court is nice there is also a subway on site
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear that you are enjoying your position and the flexibility of working in various departments. I would love to further discuss your experience with management. If you are open to this, please contact me at lvansyckle@virginialhospitalcenter.com to set up a time to talk. Thanks again for sharing your experience! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I perfer not to provide any information about the company
Outpatient Coding Compliance Auditor Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 5, 2018
I perfer not to provide any information about the company, CEO, nor the employees. This is a great hospital with excellent patient care. The medical staff is very professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at VHC, our medical staff and level of patient care. It is certainly not lost on us that it is our incredible medical and nursing staff that has allowed us to provide the very best level of patient care. Wishing you the very best in wherever your career path has taken you. Thank you for your time with us! -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VA 22205March 19, 2018
I started out doing Clinicals here before I got hired to work Part time. I learned a lot about the Healthcare profession during that time. I was allowed to work in many departments which ultimately gave me a lot of experience.
Pros
Plenty experience
Cons
Not alot of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
April 22, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at VHC. I'm happy to hear that you had the opportunity to work across multiple units and gain plenty of experience. Thank you for your time with us! If you'd ever like to discuss opportunities to return to Virginia Hospital Center, please feel free to reach out to me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the e.r. is very informative atompshere
Patient Access Specialist (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 19, 2018
I currently work in the emergency dept which is fasted pasted. Because of my love for what I do its makes my job meaningful. the hardest part of my job is getting emotional when certain situation arises such as death, elderly frightened and scared, patient who does speak English is also frightened. what I learn on a daily bases is to do the best I can for each patient which comes easy for me. Working in the er gives you a sense of family unity being that you spend more time here then @ home.
Pros
we have health fairs, yearly cookout
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
April 22, 2018

As a former nurse myself, I can certainly relate to the emotional element of your position. I know it can be tough, and we thank you for caring so much about our patients. If there's anything I can do to help you navigate that part of your job, please feel free to contact me directly at lvansyckle@virginiahospitalcenter.com to set up a time to talk. -- Laura Van Syckle, Director of Recruitment

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Emergency Department, Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 16, 2018
Virginia Hospital Center highly values its' nurses and patients alike. They are a magnet hospital and truly care about advancing their nurses' education and training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Virginia Hospital Center
April 22, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our workplace. We love hearing that our team feels appreciated. As you may know, our goal is be not only the best hospital system in the DC metro area, but also the best workplace. Thank you for sharing this, and for being a part of our team! -- Melody Dickerson,
Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Hospital Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight