Visiting Nurse Service of New York Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A 100-year legacy of nursing integrity down the toilet
Case manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 22, 2018
Nurses who value quality patient care—which usually requires more than a 20 minute visit—are considered “losers” because they make 5-6 visits per day (bring in less money) instead of 8-9 visits. Upper management gleefully celebrates and high-gives when the number of enrolled hospice patients rises to a new high—so insensitive and blinded by greed they don’t see the overwhelming amount of human suffering and loss behind the numbers. Up until about 2010, the Visiting Nurse Service had a revered legacy built on its long history of true nursing excellence. Since then, business people who see sick and vulnerable patients as a goldmine to tap into have been in charge. The number of people in management, along with their salaries, has grown while nurses were laid off, leaving their nurse colleagues with a 50% increase in workload, but not a 50% increase in salary. Medicare fraud and shady dealings abound—if the original nurse founders could see what their organization has become they’d be mortified and appalled.
Pros
Many of the field nurses and social workers are good people
Cons
Extremely toxic, stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Senior intake Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 11, 2018
great benefits, will keep you busy. great work life balance. learned a lot about healthcare politics and business. Great location in the heart of Manhattan.
Pros
free lunch sometime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't like VNSNY
Family Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 30, 2018
High Stress, great team to work with, days can be crazy especially when you have to run all over manhattan in heat waves and storms. If I had known what this job was like beforehand I would have never taken it. Low pay, tons of paperwork
Pros
Great co-workers, 30 days PTO
Cons
travelling all over the city to see clients, HIGH Stress, Low pay, no real room for advancement, no raises. They deduct hours for lunch even when you don't take one
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and under appreciated
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYDecember 1, 2018
VNS overworked its employees for little pay. You would think because you used your own car to drive to clients (sometimes 30 minutes apart) you'd be paid for the drive time.. nope. Only paid time was when you were in a clients home. The only upside to that was gas mileage but if you were striving for a 40 hr work week your day would start 8am and wouldnt end until 8 pm.
It was a struggle working for this company for barely over the minimum wage
Pros
Meeting and caring for clients
Cons
Management, pay, failure to understand employees needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valued cultures in caring services
Mobile Crisis Management Services (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 10, 2018
supportive management, great experiences, knowledgeable management and coworker. work culture good. Fast environment and encouraging others to improve.
Pros
great experiencing, learning opportunity, and knowledgeable.
Cons
pay is okay, benefit fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut Throat Environment
Contract Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 18, 2018
I was warned by a few individuals that this company has a reputation of treating their employees bad. However I wanted to have my own experience and opinion of them. Although the environment is casual they are still cut throated. Management is a major disappointment and often times don't know what they're doing. But this isn't the case for everyone. I am grateful for my experience with this company but it is not a comfortable place to work at. At the end of the day you are not valued or appreciated as an employee. Most people give the pretense they are courteous and professional but certain actions reveal the opposite.
Pros
Company discounts, dress down Fridays
Cons
Not enough pay for the aggravation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest HomeCare Nursing Care in NYC
Clinical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYOctober 27, 2018
Provides home care services throughout the Metropolitan area, with specialties, such as COPD, hospice, heart-failure, diabetes. Utilizes EMR systems documentation distance communications.
Pros
Largest Homecare Nursing Corporation NYC
Cons
Competitive environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Physician (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYSeptember 25, 2018
This organization is pure slime. Administrators are out for themselves. Way too many secrets are kept and there is no respect paid to the workers. New hires have even fewer benefits offered than before. Disgusting!
Pros
none
Cons
horrible organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is hostile and unproductive
Business Development Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 13, 2018
I did not enjoy my time here, had a horrible experience that makes me never want to work in corporate america. Management was condescending and rude, which created a negative work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good years ago
Intake (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2018
many changes over the years
compensation / benefits changed
culture has changed w/ CEO etc
enjoyed helping patients
overall good placed but job security is up in the air
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Clinical Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 25, 2018
Clinical staff worked hard and were dedicated to our patients. Unfortunately, non-clinical senior management were not. Prior to my departure, senior clinical management of nursing left. After I left all remaining Clinical managers left due to unrealistic expectations of CEO that were considered by middle management as unrealistic and was confirmed by consulting firm.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Business Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 30, 2018
Management never listeins to employees ideas or comments and intimidate you if you disagree with anything. Company is dis organized and there is a lack of communication
Cons
Lack of good leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could improve
Provider Relations Representative (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMarch 8, 2018
A typical day is causal but adherence holds weight over actual quality of work. I commute from new jersey so the pressure is a lot more intense. I am grateful for the position because it taught me a lot but i would advise the company to ease up on adherence (not complaining about being 1-5 minutes late) when an individual is trying and is a consistent HARD worker.
Pros
you learn alot
Cons
instead of being applauded for meeting the standard you're just expected to work harder
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned so much working here that I would have never learned before
Program Assistant/Medical Biller (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 19, 2018
Learned so much working here that I would have never learned before I was happy to make bonds with the families and participate in events and activities that enriched the lives of so many.
Pros
Families are amazing
Cons
Very Busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a normal day at the office
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 4, 2018
A typical day at work is there is always something to do. I love this job because my coworkers are good team players. And if you want to transfer to a different department there is no problem as long as you qualify for the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Care Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2018
staff are very supportive. supervisor are human. this is a company that i want to retire from, great benefits. the most enjoyable part of the job is the house are flexible and upper management is very supportive.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Member Service Representative (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 13, 2018
I really like the opportunity given to work from home while talking care my daughter and dog. Once a week is required to work at the office. At the office, co workers, supervisors and managers are friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Health Nurse
Public Health Nurse (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 7, 2017
Work life balance-difficult to find a balance workload varies and is ever changing no set expectation- get the job done at all cost
Caseload-ridiculously heavy at times/manageable on other days
Compensation-good
Benefits-good
Job security- good
Supervision- difficulty to reach and inconsistent
Large homecare agency; education and learning opportunities are endless and online; have to be self motivated to thrive in this environment; company has room to promote and climb the ladder if interested; resources available must be able to use them to advantage; autonomous position good place to work despite all the disadvantages.
Pros
Benefits, compensation, job security, room to grow as a clinician
Cons
Difficult to balance work/life, heavy caseload, assignments are heavy, documentation timeliness
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at VNSNY was ok..
Business Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 9, 2017
Too many union workers who've been there for years and felt entitled this made the work place uncomfortable for people just coming in. management was great. 1199 union benefits were great but no such thing as a raise. :(
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun place
Community Event Assistant / Driver (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 2, 2018
Very pleased with visiting nurse service of New York , very outgoing and productive company , learned a lot through out the years , very nice experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Visiting Nurse Service of New York. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 223 reviews
564
470
353
221
115

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.3

3.0Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight