Volkswagen Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 4,163 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.9K
41.3K
3677
2192
1115
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,184 reviews matching the search See all 4,160 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Poorly
Parts Counter Person (Current Employee) –  Van Nuys, CAMarch 16, 2018
Volkswagen of Van Nuys is run very poorly, management does not know how daily fuctions work. There is a large amount of people being hired and quitting on a montly bases.
Pros
full time hours
Cons
poorly run.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no productive nor a fun place to work
lot assistant/Sales (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 16, 2018
typical day was to come in and start your day full throttle, until you had to clock out, no breaks, no water nothing. it was a terrible place to work at. The manger at the time was rude, and didnt do anything to help you advance.
Pros
no pros
Cons
no breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gunther VW Coconut Creek ~Like A Second Family
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Coconut Creek, FLMarch 14, 2018
Really think highly of this past employer. Small amount of drama here and there, but mostly a solid bunch of management. Valued my years there and find it was a unique environment.
Pros
Pay is fair, Benefits are good, Bonuses Occasional, Good Management/Ownership
Cons
Occasionally no front desk relief available for bathroom breaks/Lots of sitting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with posibilities to advance my career.
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Escondido, CAMarch 12, 2018
It's a great career, since you can grow up all what you want, you can take online assesments at the vw webpage, you get the required certification courses and all of the expenses covered by the company, etc. The only issue in my opinion is about the healthcare plans; they are super expensive and/or you have to pay too much money if you want to include your family.
Pros
You can manage your time and or how much work you can do.
Cons
Unfair distribution of repair orders on many cases.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good paying job with sacrifices
Body Shop Team Member (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMarch 12, 2018
You work long hours, and will be stuck on night shift 6pm-445am if you are new. You first have to work for a temp agency and arent really told when you will convert, maybe up to 2 years. There is a lot of favoritism in the plant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours required
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMarch 10, 2018
The day is too long. And support is minimal, fly by the seat of your pants, if you will. Best of luck if you work there or choosing to work there. I do not wish to air my experience, I repeat I do not wish to share my experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed electrical troubleshooting
Electrical Repairman (Former Employee) –  New Stanton, PAMarch 10, 2018
Volkswagen was a good place to work. I enjoyed the challenge of troubleshooting the electrical systems on the cars. Good group of people that i worked with and i did miss that job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMarch 5, 2018
my are was good the work load changed from time to time. We had a lot of non standard work which kept things interesting.
Project related work was fun because it was dealing with new products..
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Too much control in Germany
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Parts Driver (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CAMarch 5, 2018
I worked for volkswagen when i was in between jobs. i was a parts driver for the parts department delivering car parts to all of the automotive shops.
Pros
good pay
Cons
too slow of pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days aveage work to home life balance.
Logistics Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMarch 4, 2018
11 hour days, car line assembly & parts logistics. Culture is average. Poor wok balance hardest part of job is the team member turnover. New plant, potential to be good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 4, 2018
The company is great. Traffic is slow compared to some higher volume dealerships. Can make good money here if you put the time in and are a go getter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Typical Corporate Mess
Express Contractor, Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORMarch 2, 2018
High level of corporate politics

High expectations, but with good coaching systems, little reward for exceeding expectations - but some reward.

The word "Schmoozing" was used in an official coaching session for not attending a "non-mandatory" company outing, that I opted not to attend. Which resulted in that coaching opportunity that went on record.

My supervisor called me "The Jingle Guy" and a "Know-it-all school-boy" because I liked to ask, and answer questions accurately and in detail.

They throw good potlucks

I got laid off with 10 other people due to the emissions scandal workforce reduction
Pros
Potlucks, Benefits
Cons
Corporate Greed, Corporate Politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful cutthroat everybody will do what it takes too get too the top
Skilled Multi-Purpose Handyman (Current Employee) –  United StatesMarch 2, 2018
Stressful environment noone wants too be a team player everyones out for self .They work you hard and promise you raises but youll never get one.They got their picks of whoes gonna do this but the person they get cannot do the job so they want you too show them how too do it
Pros
Its a start
Cons
Dont listen too their lies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Salisbury, MDMarch 1, 2018
Pohanka is a good place to work if you know a lot about cars. Although i learned a lot of customer service. I learned how to compete against other employees and put myself out there in order to make a profit. The pay was not great. You only get a baseline pay of 100 a week then everything else is based off of commission.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Administrative assistant / assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Medford, MAMarch 1, 2018
assisting in managerial duties; great clientele excellent environment; fun people to work with; easy job functionality; no hardest part of the job; quick learning; computer related learned many useful tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used Car Sales Consultant
Sales Consultant/Administrative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis Park, MNFebruary 27, 2018
Worked in the cold of cold days shoveling off cars to the Hotest of hot days selling cars to all walks of life.
Selling to people from over seas on the computer to people from the University of Minnesota going to school from another country needing a car. All walks of life.
Everyone has his or her own story why they need new transportation.
Pros
Good days make you run and the customer smile you smile.
Cons
cold and hot days are not fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good car company
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Nyack, NYFebruary 27, 2018
Vw is a great brand and love it. Worked at a few dealers and all pretty much the same. One not better then the other. But a really good car and will always stand by them .
Pros
Good company
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had to leave to go home for christmas
Finance and sales (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 27, 2018
would still be there if i wasn't forced to quit to go home for christmas. only problem was their pay out for each car sold was really low. but the environment and management was excellent.
Pros
management and environment
Cons
long hours, and cars sold didn't pay very much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 26, 2018
Loved working at Stevens Creek Volkswagen! Salesman, service advisers, office girls and managers were all kind and respectful and knew how to do there job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealership Group as a whole is a great company.
Pre-Owned Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Danvers, MAFebruary 25, 2018
Clear my desk of pending work. Update pricing. Update online vehicle display as it relates to equipment. Review all trade-in's Retail and wholesale. Update certification status on all Volkswagen Vehicles. Upload all closed Repair Orders to the Kelly Website. Scan Auto Auctions for possible retail opportunities. Work with the service department to review repairs required. Authorize as needed. Work with outside venders. Visit with recon department to monitor status of all vehicle in detail. Organize retail lot. Appraise trades.
Pros
I stay busy all day.
Cons
Lack support from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Volkswagen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight