Volvo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working envoirnment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJanuary 14, 2018
I enjoyed the employees at Volvo Aero, but I would have to say that it was slow for me, I always had to find things for me to do. If I had down time, I would rearrange the A/R and A/P filing system and also assist others with work loads if I was able to. I also backed up the receptionist while she took breaks or lunch.
Pros
I like that fact that the company was linked to Boeing and the airline industry
Cons
very slow and a lot of down time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reveiw
Site Supplier/Quality Management Engineer (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJanuary 9, 2018
Volvo was overall a good place to work at. The work life balance was exceptional and so was the work culture. However, implementing their management style from Europe to America did seem challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Shippensburg, PAJanuary 8, 2018
good place to work at, great work life balance and great benefits! Also, the work groups are very diverse and nice.
Location is not ideal for younger crowd, very much country side place
Pros
benefits
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Durability Test Driver/Tech (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJanuary 5, 2018
I wish I was still there. Best people I've ever worked with in my life. Great work environment and always had support. Great facility too. I would definitely go back if I had the chance.
Pros
People and facility
Cons
Would liked to have went full time Volvo but i was a contractor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Lead/ Dock Associate (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 4, 2018
Good place to work and has a good atmosphere with people that are willing to help out at any time. Great lunch hours and good food served on lunch. Plenty of work to have you working your hold shift and nice people throughout the facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arrow was a division of Volvo - a great company
Arrow Truck Sales Minneapolis (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 4, 2018
The Arrow division was under the umbrella of Volvo of No America.
We had a big turnover in management at the branch where I worked. The last manager was off site and provided minimal support to the staff at our branch. We were closed
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company,unfortunatley moved to puerto rico
TERRITORY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Saint Lucie, FLDecember 28, 2017
Negotiated with contractors to establish rental revenue. Followed dodge reports from bidding stage to the award stage. Once awarded went and determined rental needs to book a deal.
Pros
Great benefits, great work culture and talented leader.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great company!!!
Order Logistics Specialist (Former Employee) –  Shippensburg, PADecember 27, 2017
This company is great. Not only do they care about customer satisfaction, but also about their employees. They have great benefits. I would recommend this company to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Fletcher, NCDecember 22, 2017
Good Core Values.
There have been several organizational changes in the last 6 years which can be typical in large global companies. These are all for the benefit of moving in a positive direction.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Organizational Changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working there
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Union City, CADecember 20, 2017
great co workers good mangerment at that time doing all kinds of jobs learning the computer system on how to send package ups or fedx how to load trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Designer (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VADecember 20, 2017
Not enough people to do the projects. They will ask you do things that are not in your job description and it will and can be stressful at times. Loved working there.
Pros
great folks over all. Could be better
Cons
stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very serious but fun
Receptionist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CANovember 29, 2017
great management and great team but very serious in what the office takes care of also I would love to go back the take care of their employees great leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and stressful place to work.
Maintenance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Dublin, VA 24084November 28, 2017
In maintenance, too much area to cover. Not enough support. Work too many hours. A lot to learn. Very automated. Union is sometimes hard to deal with.
Pros
benefits and pay
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QEPP, Test, and Paint
Co-Op (Current Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDNovember 27, 2017
Assisted with the guiding of daily meeting, updated excel spreadsheets, and organized charts that show production. The people here are very friendly and always willing to help assist you with whatever it may be. The encourage Kaizens and Improvements to where you feel like you have helped the company out dramatically.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Solutions (Current Employee) –  United StatesNovember 18, 2017
I would recommend Volvo to anyone applying. The office environment is very relax as long as you know what you are doing and can complete projects in a timely manner. Depending on department, Managers are very helpful and understand their colleagues; some Managers can be questioned on their ability to manage.
Pros
Culture, training offered, positive environment, people
Cons
Depending on department: no opportunity for advancement, sometimes hire outside before hiring inside employee, based on workload there is no time to train
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to grow
Technician (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VANovember 8, 2017
my intention with Volvo was to grow my skills in electrical diagnostics and I have well exceeded my intentions. continued education on all levels of diagnostics and mechanical aspects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay and Benefits
Parts Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCNovember 7, 2017
Very competitive pay and benefits
Can be stressful
have to be self motivated
You can have longevity if you are willing to stay in the same department that you were originally hired for
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Experience
FINANCIAL ANALYST INTERNSHIP (Current Employee) –  Dublin, VANovember 2, 2017
Worked with a great group of people that were extremely helpful with any questions I had. Learned about manufacturing and Volvo as a company which I would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, but the management is poor.
Heavy duty diesel technician (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 1, 2017
it's a great place to work with some great people, but the service advisors are far from efficient, constantly getting pulled off jobs and they alter our time so we cannot get an efficiency bonus. It makes the shops efficiency look great. We are required to maintain an 85% rate but it is virtually unattainable due to the moving of our time.
Pros
great people
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job
Logistics supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hagerstown, MD 21742October 28, 2017
Very difficult to reach the results and accomplish daily tasks. Entirely to many meetings throughout the day. Time management is difficult with the daily tasks given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Volvo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,638 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9