Wabtec Employee Reviews

Found 67 reviews matching the search See all 115 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Business
Signal Engineer (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 30, 2018
I work in many projects and am able to learn and improve my railroad signaling skills and take advantage of opportunities to work with PTC systems and equipment. I work 40-45 hrs a week without overtime pay or comp time because my manager says that he has to work over 50 hrs a week without charging time. I stay late and work on weekends and holidays because manager is afraid to say no to customer's demands. Quality is inversely proportional to time. The quicker the job gets done, the more errors that get overlooked.

My manager takes credit for my hard work when deadlines are met but when an error makes it to the customer, he is quick to blame and deny my PTO requests. I have to use 8 hrs of PTO for a doctor's appointment.

No perks for tenure. I got annual raises that were less than inflation. Insurance premiums increase at least 5% annually. Health insurance refused to pay for my preventive care. Several coworkers applied with other companies just so they can get pay increases for staying with Wabtec's counter offer.

There have been two unannounced layoffs during my tenure. One was the week before Thanksgiving. Business culture is like one day I am doing my job and the next day I am doing my job AND someone else's job with no pay raise because that person no longer works here.
Pros
Ac
Cons
Soul Sucking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated Facility and Mind Set
Shipper/Packer (Former Employee) –  Wilmerding, PAMay 22, 2018
Co workers were for the most part great. Although some of the workers there that had been there for 10+ years were very reluctant to increase outputs when asked to. Management is terrible. Too many people involved in decision making, yet nobody wants to make a decision. So afraid of making the wrong choice, that no decision is made. Management that does try to help, or improve things, is usually prevented or road blocked to the point that they give up and leave. Overall it was a decent place to work, good enough pay, the health care was great. Facility is falling apart, just enough is done to keep it operational, and no improvements are ever made. Lots of people there buy into the "its worked for xxx amount of years, it will continue to work." This applys to all parts of operations.
Pros
Benefits, Pay, co-workers
Cons
no room for growth, poor management, lack of desire to evolve
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural fiasco
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Brenham, TXJuly 15, 2018
I was a maintenance tech and my supervisor knew nothing about maintenance. No organization, no responsibility. The first shift chose the jobs they wanted to do and handed off the hard dirty jobs to second and the manager didn’t care. Manager is afraid to be a supervisor. Unfair treatment is the culture. Destruction of personal property by other personnel is overlooked. There’s no way I would EVER work for this company or recommend. I would try to talk someone out of working there.
Pros
Some people
Cons
Everything from top down
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic place to work and horrible leadership
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Duncan SCAugust 7, 2018
There has been a significant amount of changes in the leadership team and very little direction provided by the leadership team on the direction of the company. The merger with Faiveley has only increased the chaotic working atmosphere and has driven a high rate of turnover of employees. This is not a place to work if you like structure and stability. RUN!!!
Pros
Good people to work with outside of upper management
Cons
Horrible leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a challenging facility and in fact has a ping pong table
Senior Systems Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  germantown MdMay 15, 2018
I developed simulators for forensic analysis of transportation black boxes. The old question of "if the black boxes survive why don't they make the vehicle like that ? they do it is called a locomotive.

I always error on the side of doing to much than not enough, and Wabtec was the place for that.

I was able to create the perfect simulators that could replicate real world environments to a tee.
Pros
Autonomy, lab casual work environment
Cons
acient culture not well versed in the 21st century
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ball and chain
Client Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 8, 2018
From the moment I sit down the world wind of trouble tickets, phone calls, Skype calls and drive by calls keep persist until 5 O'clock. Issues can vary from application issues, computer hardware software issues, networked hardware and networking issues to training.
Pros
Cutting edge of technology
Cons
Large Business Enterprise Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place Ever Experienced In My LIFE!
Project Controls Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDAugust 13, 2018
Never seen a place so devoid of hope. Many, many, roadblocks to fixing any problems. Most people lie to please corporate, managers, and shareholders.

It's sad, this place could be awesome, but it would cost money to fix the problems which are systemic. Since stockholders are the focus, we cant afford to fix anything, because they wont let us.

Always focused on more revenue and less cost, even if we keep loosing more potential revenue due to not truly fixing the problems.

Band-aids, workarounds, or additional processes are the solutions of choice, but never real solutions to anything.

So we kick the can down the road again.

Worst ERP anywhere, information in silos, no real capacity planning, understaffed everywhere, unreliable cost forecasting, fragmented systems, material shortages, deliveries always late.

Look for us in a few years, we may no longer be in business if things don't really change.
Pros
Fair Pay for some people...
Cons
Miserable Environment, morale is way low, understandably
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and no life
Molder/ press operator (Former Employee) –  Maxton, NCAugust 17, 2018
This place is really a prison, you work lost of hour 76 week
12 a day, there's no day off , you be slave, the money is good,but you slave your self, to this job, i work with brake shoe, is a hot place, no a/c, there's fan but still the heat , is a cold mine underground hot, no water, lunch break is 20 min, 10 min after that,
Pros
2300 every two weeks
Cons
Work 7 days, 12 Hours, HOT day and no rest
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place is a mess
Undisclosed (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 15, 2017
Do yourself a favor and stay away from this company. Not enough resources to complete jobs, poor communication. stressed out culture, etc. etc. No one gets reviews,, raises, etc. Management does not listen to employees.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Poor Management, Poor communication, lack of resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress to the point of fracture
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Wytheville, VAJanuary 11, 2018
Wabtec longwood wytheville. Bad management, low pay you're treated lIke nothing. There is no work life balance, it's all work all the time. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place at all costs.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
10 minute breaks, bad management, cut throat, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful work envrionment
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Duncan, SCFebruary 15, 2018
A typical work day is very fast paced, high demand, stressful. No learning experience. Management is ok, depending on the area. The workplace is hectic, unorganized and not helpful when it comes to addressing situations. The hardest part is dealing with the stressful environment and being thrown in a million different directions.
Pros
Easy to get along with people, breaks aren't monitored
Cons
Don't offer health care for temps, stressful work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exelente
Coordinador Almacenes y Materiales (Former Employee) –  Mexico, MESeptember 19, 2018
Muy buena empresa y grandes experiencias al igual buen ambiente de trabajo.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful, there are much better company's out there that will appreciate your talent
Welder (Former Employee) –  Duquesne, PAMarch 4, 2018
Awful place to work, management is terrible!, mandatory overtime all summer, management does not care about employee's at all, if you don't have a title your nothing, supervision is a joke
Pros
There is none
Cons
Mandatory overtime, back stabbing and lies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is by far the most poorly run company I have ever worked for. The work force is worked like a mule and given no credit, enticement, incentives.
Industrial Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDMarch 9, 2014
People work their butts off for this company and are virtually given nothing in return. Hardly any or no chance to advance, virtually no monitary increases. Told daily that your work is lacking and that anyone can come off the street to do you job. Are handed projects that are months behind or poorly engineered and worked 50-60 hrs a week 10 hrs a day to finish a project so as the upper management recieves a bonus "if" the project is completed on time and the people who work their tails off get nothing. Not even a pay raise when their time comes around. These people who are running this company should be taken out and horse whipped or should never be allowed to ever run a company or people again.
Pros
Fun building and working on locomotives and building something so massive, working with the workers. They are great and very productive people.
Cons
Having something so awsome with so much potential and having a management run it into the ground
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work. Pay wasn't good
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAApril 26, 2018
My first time with a union shop. Applied for ajob that paid $12hrly. I was told I was hired,so I quit my other job. They put me on a lower paying job that I thought was temporary. the HR didn't tell me I had to bid on the job I thought I was hired for. Their recruiting tactics were nothing short of deception.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t work here
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Wilmerding, PAFebruary 23, 2018
This company is extremely old school. They need to implement new technology and practices. They don’t care about their employees or their personal life. They expect you to drop your life at the drop of a hat to cater to them. They pay significantly less than other companies and offer very little vacation days. They are too controlling when it comes to the hour you start and hour you end at work. Many companies are flexible on start and stop times, not Wabtec. They also expect you to come to work in inclement conditions rather than allowing you to work from home. SMH. Lack of care about employees and their wellbeing.
Pros
None!
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were nice
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 9, 2018
The company is too top heavy, you don't know who's your boss. People that work there are very nice. No communication between departments. Management does not follow thru on procedures,
Pros
people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job!
Assembly (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCSeptember 26, 2017
I worked for 3 months in a department that I liked, and when it was slow they had me go into another department to help out. The people in the other department are very cutthroat, and I didn't like it, when worked picked up in my department I went back, only to be told that I was going to be with the cutthroat people from now on. Needless to say, that on that day I left Wabtec. I enjoyed the job that I was hired for, but refused to be pushed into a position that I wasn't hired for, just because that manager wanted me. I did enjoy coming to work, until I went to the other department to help out!
Pros
Some good people are there
Cons
Management never came and asked me about the problems that were in the other department
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work it's all about the numbers and Wall Street the Ceo is over paid at 5 million a year with a 5 million bonus and stock options
Assembly/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Wilmerding, PA Corporate HeadquartersAugust 26, 2015
Management very poor there just puppets getting the numbers for the CEO and the 40 Vice Presidents so they can all get there bonuses on top of there big salaries they are the 1% ers and like someone else wrote a review and said about advancement you have to be one of the good old boy's or wear knee pads. Buy the way the union local 610 let's the company run the union they tell the union who they want to get rid of and when H R manager is constantly trying to fire people she ain't for employees and there benifits strictly company she fired her own father from the company. Some union members take work out of the plant or there taking care of while they try to get rid of the people who voice there opinions and try to keep the union's going. Always trying to get rid of top hourly people to bring in lower wage people.
Pros
Pay was decent if you could get one of the better jobs that the good old boy's didn't get, vacation and benifits where ok
Cons
1 ten minute break, a ten minute lunch, also if you got a flat tire on way to work you got wrote up, got points against you towards your attendance
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merger with Faiveley company will probably mean plant shut down
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCSeptember 26, 2016
The company promotes itself as being state of the art and world class but hasn't bought a new machine in over 12 years. Most of the work is being outsourced. The machine shop is on 12 hour shifts and still struggling due to inability to hire qualified machine operators. The pay and benefits aren't at a level that would be expected for the experience that's necessary for the job. Job security is practically none existent with most employees that remain staying for a severance package. Most are waiting for the Faiveley merger at the end of the year and the layoffs that will follow.
Pros
Lunch break for 30 minutes.
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wabtec. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 115 reviews
512
439
330
216
118

See reviews about

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture