Wabtec Employee Reviews

2.8
Overall rating
Based on 57 reviews
Ratings breakdown
53
417
316
29
112
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 57 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and no life
Molder/ press operator (Former Employee) –  Maxton, NCAugust 17, 2018
This place is really a prison, you work lost of hour 76 week
12 a day, there's no day off , you be slave, the money is good,but you slave your self, to this job, i work with brake shoe, is a hot place, no a/c, there's fan but still the heat , is a cold mine underground hot, no water, lunch break is 20 min, 10 min after that,
Pros
2300 every two weeks
Cons
Work 7 days, 12 Hours, HOT day and no rest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic place to work and horrible leadership
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Duncan SCAugust 7, 2018
There has been a significant amount of changes in the leadership team and very little direction provided by the leadership team on the direction of the company. The merger with Faiveley has only increased the chaotic working atmosphere and has driven a high rate of turnover of employees. This is not a place to work if you like structure and stability. RUN!!!
Pros
Good people to work with outside of upper management
Cons
Horrible leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural fiasco
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Brenham, TXJuly 15, 2018
I was a maintenance tech and my supervisor knew nothing about maintenance. No organization, no responsibility. The first shift chose the jobs they wanted to do and handed off the hard dirty jobs to second and the manager didn’t care. Manager is afraid to be a supervisor. Unfair treatment is the culture. Destruction of personal property by other personnel is overlooked. There’s no way I would EVER work for this company or recommend. I would try to talk someone out of working there.
Pros
Some people
Cons
Everything from top down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ball and chain
Client Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 8, 2018
From the moment I sit down the world wind of trouble tickets, phone calls, Skype calls and drive by calls keep persist until 5 O'clock. Issues can vary from application issues, computer hardware software issues, networked hardware and networking issues to training.
Pros
Cutting edge of technology
Cons
Large Business Enterprise Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated Facility and Mind Set
Shipper/Packer (Former Employee) –  Wilmerding, PAMay 22, 2018
Co workers were for the most part great. Although some of the workers there that had been there for 10+ years were very reluctant to increase outputs when asked to. Management is terrible. Too many people involved in decision making, yet nobody wants to make a decision. So afraid of making the wrong choice, that no decision is made. Management that does try to help, or improve things, is usually prevented or road blocked to the point that they give up and leave. Overall it was a decent place to work, good enough pay, the health care was great. Facility is falling apart, just enough is done to keep it operational, and no improvements are ever made. Lots of people there buy into the "its worked for xxx amount of years, it will continue to work." This applys to all parts of operations.
Pros
Benefits, Pay, co-workers
Cons
no room for growth, poor management, lack of desire to evolve
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a challenging facility and in fact has a ping pong table
Senior Systems Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  germantown MdMay 15, 2018
I developed simulators for forensic analysis of transportation black boxes. The old question of "if the black boxes survive why don't they make the vehicle like that ? they do it is called a locomotive.

I always error on the side of doing to much than not enough, and Wabtec was the place for that.

I was able to create the perfect simulators that could replicate real world environments to a tee.
Pros
Autonomy, lab casual work environment
Cons
acient culture not well versed in the 21st century
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work. Pay wasn't good
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAApril 26, 2018
My first time with a union shop. Applied for ajob that paid $12hrly. I was told I was hired,so I quit my other job. They put me on a lower paying job that I thought was temporary. the HR didn't tell me I had to bid on the job I thought I was hired for. Their recruiting tactics were nothing short of deception.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were nice
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 9, 2018
The company is too top heavy, you don't know who's your boss. People that work there are very nice. No communication between departments. Management does not follow thru on procedures,
Pros
people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful, there are much better company's out there that will appreciate your talent
Welder (Former Employee) –  Duquesne, PAMarch 4, 2018
Awful place to work, management is terrible!, mandatory overtime all summer, management does not care about employee's at all, if you don't have a title your nothing, supervision is a joke
Pros
There is none
Cons
Mandatory overtime, back stabbing and lies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t work here
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Wilmerding, PAFebruary 23, 2018
This company is extremely old school. They need to implement new technology and practices. They don’t care about their employees or their personal life. They expect you to drop your life at the drop of a hat to cater to them. They pay significantly less than other companies and offer very little vacation days. They are too controlling when it comes to the hour you start and hour you end at work. Many companies are flexible on start and stop times, not Wabtec. They also expect you to come to work in inclement conditions rather than allowing you to work from home. SMH. Lack of care about employees and their wellbeing.
Pros
None!
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress to the point of fracture
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Wytheville, VAJanuary 11, 2018
Wabtec longwood wytheville. Bad management, low pay you're treated lIke nothing. There is no work life balance, it's all work all the time. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place at all costs.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
10 minute breaks, bad management, cut throat, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company but needs to become more competitive in today's market
Purchasing Specialist/Materials Analyst (Former Employee) –  Wilmerding, PANovember 1, 2017
Old school company. Needs to update a lot of policies to keep younger employees from leaving. i.e. vacation policy - you only get two weeks to start with. After five years you get only one day added. It takes 10 years to earn three weeks of vacation.
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Vacation policy and pay needs updated
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work.
Welder (Former Employee) –  McPherson, KSOctober 27, 2017
I was hired as a welder through a staffing company and was expected to train people how to weld ( which takes years of training or experience). Basically they wanted me to be a weld leader or supervisor and get paid the same as who I was training, plus build train gates in the process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job!
Assembly (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCSeptember 26, 2017
I worked for 3 months in a department that I liked, and when it was slow they had me go into another department to help out. The people in the other department are very cutthroat, and I didn't like it, when worked picked up in my department I went back, only to be told that I was going to be with the cutthroat people from now on. Needless to say, that on that day I left Wabtec. I enjoyed the job that I was hired for, but refused to be pushed into a position that I wasn't hired for, just because that manager wanted me. I did enjoy coming to work, until I went to the other department to help out!
Pros
Some good people are there
Cons
Management never came and asked me about the problems that were in the other department
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place is a mess
Undisclosed (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 15, 2017
Do yourself a favor and stay away from this company. Not enough resources to complete jobs, poor communication. stressed out culture, etc. etc. No one gets reviews,, raises, etc. Management does not listen to employees.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Poor Management, Poor communication, lack of resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WABTEC Railroad dispatching software
Sr. Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Azle, TXJune 21, 2017
WABTEC in Azle Texas is a Railroad dispatching software company focused on the constant improvement of their software for use by all railroads nationally and internationally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCApril 12, 2017
Management did not keep up with employees
or willing to train employees in a timely manner.
Often many workers were under paid for all the time
necessary to be there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot hard work
Finish End (Former Employee) –  Barber Springs Chillicothe OhioMarch 11, 2017
Hot hard work. Boys club atmosphere. Loved it at first until I figured out that I was being used as a pawn to make men do their jobs. And I left because the GM used me as a joke. No future even though I was a hard worker, abusive atmosphere. If you are not accepted by the guy's you will be pushed out and then forced to quit.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Extremely hot mean people. Boys club environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid industry. Sour corp culture
Programs Manager (Former Employee) –  Duncan, OKMarch 8, 2017
Very disappointed and sad environment. Internally destructive decline starting apprx 28 months ago. Extremely high turnover which includes senior level people departing due to leadership (GM).
Pros
Solid experience employees with long history of success
Cons
Recent decline and toxic environment in the past few years due to GM
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician Machinist
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Elmsford, NYMarch 1, 2017
Machinist making programs using Mastercam, editing programs on control, making
Set-up for HASS CNC milling all kinds of precision pieces in conventional Machines
• Designing and making tooling and fixtures on CNC and conventional Machines
• Fabrication of precision on conventional lathes, milling and run borer machines
• Working from blueprint to fabricate parts with tight tolerances
• Experienced designing and fabrication tooling and fixtures on CNC machines,
Inspection on first parts using optical comparators, micrometers caliper, lenses, etc.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short Break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report