Wake Technical Community College Employee Reviews

Found 146 reviews matching the search See all 147 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great students and colleagues
Adjunct (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 3, 2018
I worked with some nice people and the students were wonderful. I liked the program , but there was a lot of other stuff that was difficult. Wake Tech made simple things difficult. Things like making copies or handing in monthly hours are cumbersome processes that take up time because of the many steps involved . I did it all for several terms, just to be suddenly told one day that a new contract wouldn't be offered to me. It's the nature of being a contracted employee. There is no job security.
Pros
I met some wonderful students
Cons
Constant testing and classroom interruptions disrupted the flow of teaching
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Full-Time Students
Lab Monitor, Individualized Learning Center (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCSeptember 25, 2018
This was a great job for me, I had to watch the computer lab, and while I did, I often got most of my weeks homework complete. Some say the job was boring, and at times it is, but you have to make the most of your time.
Pros
Get to work on homework, Weekends off
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn new skills with a safe environment
Student Graphic Design Project Work (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCSeptember 24, 2018
Easy to learn new skills that helped me prepare for real world problems within a safe environment and teachers that help if one needs further assistance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dental Hygiene Student (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCSeptember 14, 2018
Wake tech dental hygiene program would be a great place to work due to the benefits, and helping students achieve their goals to become dental hygienists.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wake tech
Administrative Intern, Work-Based Learning (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 31, 2018
Wake tech is an amazing place to work. Campus is beautiful, staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Staff here is always willing to take time to help anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academically poor
Professor (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 23, 2018
College is governed in a top-down fashion, no academic liberty, poor academic level, no possibility to inquiry and develop professionally.

All levels of the college as subservient to the imperatives of the management. It is governed imperially, no opinions are looked for nor desired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love what I do; working with my support staff my students
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 23, 2018
I interact with students ongoing and support staff occasionally throughout the day. I love making an impact on my students. My support staff is amazing. They go above and beyond. The culture is pretty relaxed and friendly. Hardest part of the job...the pace. Coming from a hospital Medical unit which is incredibly fast paced makes it hard to move at such a slower pace. Most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with my students and making an impact on them and getting feedback from them...they are enthusiastic about their careers after taking my class.
Pros
great support staff, great work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Associate Professor (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 19, 2018
Good place to work; high integrity within our department - always has been. High quality of leadership, respect, and positive feedback. Very much enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just went to school
Student (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 10, 2018
It wasn't a job I was in school as a student there. I didn't get paid I just was a student in school. I love going to school and I one day like to finish my education there soon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Work Life Balance
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 1, 2018
Forget about working at Wake Tech during the summer months if you have small children in daycare. Management isn't flexible during the summer months when you have to work 10 hour days. You might be late picking up your children from daycare.
Pros
None
Cons
No Work Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wake Tech
PEER LEADER (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 23, 2018
I was a volunteer for my department, but enjoyed the collaboration with professors and assisting my peers in class. It helped me become more confident in my knowledge and ability to teach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a college student I was able to help part time to help pay for books, supplies for art and classes.
Instructor's Assistant (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaMay 21, 2018
Working as the instructor's assistant was relaxing for me because this was the first job I was working with adults and not around children. Working in a quiet environment was wonderful and with respectful coworkers help motivate me to do a good job every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
office staff (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 15, 2018
Great place to work they have a great employee moral. This company works to permute those who work hard. I really enjoyed working for this company overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-campus Organization with opportunities for advancement
Campus Operations Director (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 14, 2018
We are an 8-campus community college that is ever-growing and thusly always having positions open up in which they prefer to hire internally. Great culture and environment to be a part of! There are plenty of committees and think-tanks that you can participate in that allow for professional development in all aspect of higher education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Financial Aid Assistant (Work-Study) (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 4, 2018
Great place to work. If you like helping students and have patience, then this is the place for you to work. Everyone is polite and friendly and the director rocks !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 24, 2018
I enjoyed working at Wake Technical Community college. The people i had the pleasure to work with were great if i did not understand something they would take their time and show me how to do it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wake Technical Community College - Great Place!
Full Time Student (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 24, 2018
Wake Technical Community College is a great place to work and go to school as it allows for a individual paced, collaborative environment.

I learned a great deal while there and would highly recommend this educational organization for anyone who is looking for employment and for students looking for an Associates Degree or a transfer program to a four year program.

S. Lightfoot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall
Professor (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 16, 2018
Overall a good place to work. They keep the students in mind and give you paid professional development. They do not retain people for long periods of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful job
Faculty Member (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 7, 2018
This was my first teaching job in NC and was very comfortable in a community college setting. I thought college was where I wanted to spend my teaching career and I was given a wonderful opportunity at WTCC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, career kick starter,interesting
Intern (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 26, 2018
A pretty simple and laid back atmosphere. Great exposure and accomplishment. Great to have in portfolio and on resume. great learning environment. Knowledgeable staff and employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wake Technical Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 147 reviews
579
444
319
22
13

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Wake Technical Community College Reviews by Location