Wakefern Food Corporation Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 3,732 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51K
41.1K
31K
2349
1260
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 3,237 reviews matching the search See all 3,732 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is very menial
General Helper (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, marylandJune 21, 2018
I only work 5 hours per week which is down from 10 hours per week. They did offer some training in packing groceries. Management was extremely courteous and empathetic and the work culture was okay, except that they wanted one to keep moving. I did not experience any hard things and there weren't any enjoyable things per se.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad. Not wonderful either
Cashier/Self Check Out Guide (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJJune 21, 2018
It's a job. I was a cashier and managed the self check out. It doesn't take a brain surgeon to work here. It is what you make of it. Decent pay. Awesome co-workers!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee relations
Human Resource Manager (Current Employee) –  SRSJune 21, 2018
Have more full time long term associates who will stay to decrease the turnover. Other companies I have worked for have 80% full time and 20% part time. This company is the opposite with 20% full time and 80% part time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy on sundays boring on other days
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Emerson, NJJune 19, 2018
Busy during sundays as well as time and a half on sundays. Nights can get boring unless you have the right people working with you. Long hours standing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workers, Poor Management, Rude Customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 19, 2018
I don't really have much to say about Shop Rite because I only worked there for 4 months. But overall the job was fine, the customers were very rude all the time when it came to bagging items and things. The management was once again very poor, a bunch of people standing around and not doing any work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail
Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Southington, CT 06489June 18, 2018
Fast paced stressful environment but still rewarding. Not much of a work/home balance. Was a 24/7 job. Always had to work holidays and weekends. Upper management always chasing last year's numbers which many times is a daunting task.
Pros
5% discount on Mondays and the 15th of every month
Cons
Poor benefits/incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, PAJune 17, 2018
Good place to work for your first job, friendly people very flexible working hours which ment management was able to work with school and work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always hiring
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Florida, NYJune 16, 2018
No comment on the effects of the job and customers to be able to make a decision about what you want to do with the fact that the job is to be able to make a decision about the effects of the job and customers
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interaction w/Customers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Piscataway, NJJune 14, 2018
I get to interact with most of the customers. And they love that I am there. Most of the customers appreciate that I am there, as well as I appreciate them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would definitely recommend working for Wakefern Companies!
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Township of Brick, NJJune 13, 2018
I received five 8 and a half hour shifts, 5 days a week. the half hour was for a lunch and there was two 15 minute breaks each shift. Management was easy to get in contact with and settled issues as soon as possible. I do not recall there being a hard part about the job. The easiest part of the job though was making sure each and every customer was treated with urgency and care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting point
Deli/Hot foods Worker (Former Employee) –  Thornwood, NYJune 13, 2018
got me to know the basics of working and the people are very knowledgeable. not a place to stay long-term.very relaxed with management and working. not much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managment, safe work enviorment
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Uniondale, NYJune 12, 2018
Great place to work. Safe work enviorment. I enjoyed working with this company they are very fair they offer many different shifts and it's always room to grow within this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can go else where I would.
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJJune 12, 2018
Unfortunately, there aren't many positive things to say about Shoprite. The best part of the job was meeting and talking to people you are checking out. Besides that management is unappreciative, there are no store discounts, and the healthcare is nothing to write home about either.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Working Environment
Deli-Clerk (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 12, 2018
1-Checking the work area before starting to serve the customers
2-Making sure the meat slicers, weight scales and counter tops are clean
3-Manage requests from residents, including handling lock-outs
Pros
Always greet the customers with a smile and service
Cons
Working by myself when we are short of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and be nice to your costuma
teller (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, CAJune 12, 2018
Productive, working hard, smiling with costuma, being friendly with them be clean always be happy. Enjoy working do your job nicely be ur self always smile be need and clean
Pros
Lunch time
Cons
Tea time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shop Rite
CASHIER/ CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Enfield, CT 06082June 11, 2018
Shop Rite`s managers had their favorite people and you could tell who they were because they would never get into trouble even if they did something wrong. While working there the policies on dress code was constantly changing. There was always suppose to be a manger or " front end runner " up near the cashiers to help out the cashiers when ever there was an issue with a customer, however there was never one to be found or they wouldn't show up to our register for
20-40min making the customers wait and become irritated. There was poor management all around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and hectic
Cashier/Porter (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDJune 11, 2018
Hard-work and effort for long periods of time go unnoticed and the reality of big business impacts any and all workers when they are deemed expendable for corporate reasons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great first job but not a good career job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fair Lawn, NJJune 11, 2018
It's a great first job but not a good career job. The customers in the area are diverse in looks and attitude. The aisles are easy to memorize and don't change too often.
Cons
Air Condition didn't work frequently, No discounts, escalator & elevator didn't work, the rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face paced, and unfair treatment.
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Piscataway, NJJune 10, 2018
A typical day at work is a lot stress from pushing the shopping carts, harass from the co-workers, and management, unfair treatment, no help from the shop steward or the union rep, descriminated, always being written up for the stuff the other co-workers violates while on the clock
Pros
nothing at the time.
Cons
unfair treatment, no benefits, descrimination, not a good place to work, bad management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was young
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Willingboro, NJJune 9, 2018
So at the time it was a great job, I always had time to do other things... the job also show me how the customer should always come first when work in a customer service capacity
Pros
Pretty light hearted
Cons
Standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wakefern Food Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

2.8Fairygodboss Score

20%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

10%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss