Walker Engineering Employee Reviews for Apprentice Electrician

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 74 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for.
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 25, 2019
Had a blast working for this company wish i wasn't a temp, Probably would have stay'ed with this company full-time for a long time.Would highly recommend this company. Would definitely work for them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to get experience
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 3, 2018
Learned a lot about electrical

they layoff after big jobs

most journeymen are lazy

When it was Hot it was Hot and when it was cold, it was Cold

lots of OT
Pros
Overtime if you like it
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and job
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 9, 2018
Paragraphs are the building blocks of papers. Many students define paragraphs in terms of length: a paragraph is a group of at least five sentences, a paragraph is half a page long, etc. In reality, though, the unity and coherence of ideas among sentences is what constitutes a paragraph. Ff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 13Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 23, 2018
Good company with lots of work to go around. Not a lot of overtime available. Raises are hard to come by. Good friendly people to work around. There are a lot of temporary people who work for walker
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 8, 2018
Everyone is laid back anything is always understanding when you Needed to take off and handle family situations And it’s cool birthday very brutal making sure you have everything you need to finish a project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comments
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 3, 2018
No opinion about a typical day at work, what you learned, management, workplace culture, the hardest part of the job, the most enjoyable part of the job. Amen
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for apprentice to start the trade
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 4, 2018
I started Electrical trade working for walker back in dec 2004 my first job was at Cabelas in Buda tx, then I worked for them in a few Data centers Austin, Georgetown Tx, San Antonio microsoft I learned a lot working for this company, I did lots of heavy commercial jobs with them made good money for starting in the trade, my opinion great place to work for, today I work Zachry as Electrical Qc inspector great memories from walker engineering.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family - like
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 30, 2017
Great company to work for. Walker genuinely cares for their employees and their families. I got terminated from walker and they still tried to make sure that my family and myself had all we needed during the Hurricane and the aftermath. I have never worked for anyone that has done this. Even after I was terminated. Great company. I hope to get a chance to get in their family circle again, soon.
Pros
Great company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXNovember 6, 2017
The hardest part of the job is working in a cold work environment specifically outdoors and having deadlines to complete tasks sometimes running out of material. The most enjoyable part is always learning how things are installed in different projects as an Apprentice Electrician (learning tricks of the trade).
Pros
always learning
Cons
Harsh work environments such as working outdoors in the winter, with a parking space about half a mile from your workstation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 28, 2017
Typically they split you up into the group you are going to go with to work with that day. You could be doing anything from running pipe to terminating wire. The hardest part of the job is the wire pulls and the extreme physical labor with my medical conditions (diabetes & bipolar). The easiest part of the job would probably be terminations although they can get difficult.
Pros
Benefits, Good Money
Cons
Hard on your body
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walker Electric
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 19, 2017
Had work every day atmosphere was positive pay could have been better worked in the all weather elements 8 hour shifts no overtime
management could have been better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful workplace
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 17, 2016
you just hated going to work cause you never would know how bad you would be treated that day No matter how well you did your job you would still be called out of your name and put down it was very hard to try to make a honest living
Pros
can not think of any
Cons
they just talk to you bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's the same no matter where you go, people are people
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 22, 2014
James 3:16New International Version (NIV)

16 For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice.
Pros
you might have a job one day
Cons
Texas is an at will to work state
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad company to long of drive for me up 16 hours a day
electrical apprentice 6 (Former Employee) –  okcJanuary 27, 2012
I am a 6 year apprentice hard worker responsible for installation 4sq boxs to panels,bend conduit from half inch to 4 inch,all wireing and lighting,receipts.switchs,fire alarms and security.make up panels,load line in and breakers.wire pulls from 120v to 480v .Bending conduit with hydraulic table bender manual bender triple nickel.know how use wire tugger. setting tranformers
Pros
na
Cons
drive to okc
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report

See more Walker Engineering reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walker Engineering. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 74 reviews
516
423
321
28
16

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture